Old 10-03-2006, 02:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Credits: 80
Lightbulb Dante's Inferno! (UPDATED!)

Costume Pictures Inside!

Old 10-03-2006, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Livin' life in High Def..

Credits: 28

Darn! Here I was thinking that we were about to engage in some intellectual conversation regarding the literary piece entitled Dante's Inferno

Old 10-03-2006, 07:10 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,256
STEUPSE!! I come running in here cause I'm DYING to see what they did w/ this theme.

BTW, I heard it before but I can't remember...who did this theme back in the day and does anyone have any pics?
Old 10-03-2006, 09:58 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 4,444
If I am thinking of the proper book, the only sections I can envision are heaven and hell. But I would definitely be interested to see how well, mas bands present this theme.
Old 10-03-2006, 10:20 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by XtasyReds View Post
If I am thinking of the proper book, the only sections I can envision are heaven and hell. But I would definitely be interested to see how well, mas bands present this theme.
Nah, remember all the historical and mythological figures that were seen sufferring in the different parts of hell and then the boatman and the wolf or whatever it was that guided him. Were tons of colorful characters I can't even remember cause its been a LONG time lol
Old 10-03-2006, 11:11 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 4,444
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Nah, remember all the historical and mythological figures that were seen sufferring in the different parts of hell and then the boatman and the wolf or whatever it was that guided him. Were tons of colorful characters I can't even remember cause its been a LONG time lol
Okay, okay. I was thinking of the larger collection of cantos by Dante, The Divine Comedy of which the Inferno was one of the books. It would be good if they could portray the nine layers or circles of hell and then have the last of the sections be paradise (Heaven). A character that would be good to see would be the popes he comes across in hell. But people would get vex.
Old 10-06-2006, 09:30 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by XtasyReds View Post
Okay, okay. I was thinking of the larger collection of cantos by Dante, The Divine Comedy of which the Inferno was one of the books. It would be good if they could portray the nine layers or circles of hell and then have the last of the sections be paradise (Heaven). A character that would be good to see would be the popes he comes across in hell. But people would get vex.
If this were mcfarlane I could see him taking that approach and doing it real justice...shyt for that I'd go back to the book and refresh my memory so as not to miss any meanings. lol@ the pope, you want to see ppl in an uproar.

So none of the mas jumbies know who did this theme before? I'm shocked. First person w/ the right answer ( and pics) gets a free costume w/ either IP or Tribe..their choice
Old 10-07-2006, 10:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Beau Belle

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
If this were mcfarlane I could see him taking that approach and doing it real justice...shyt for that I'd go back to the book and refresh my memory so as not to miss any meanings. lol@ the pope, you want to see ppl in an uproar.

So none of the mas jumbies know who did this theme before? I'm shocked. First person w/ the right answer ( and pics) gets a free costume w/ either IP or Tribe..their choice
Just saw this...I can remember that in 1976 Stephen and Elsie Lee Heung produced "Paradise Lost" which was a chapter of Dante's Inferno. It was designed by the master himself - Peter Minshall.

Hope dat right...How I do?

Old 10-07-2006, 11:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Originally Posted by tinywiny226 View Post
Just saw this...I can remember that in 1976 Stephen and Elsie Lee Heung produced "Paradise Lost" which was a chapter of Dante's Inferno. It was designed by the master himself - Peter Minshall.

Hope dat right...How I do?
Yep, you're right....Stephen Lee Heung did do Paradise Lost back in the 70's, but Paradise Lost isn't a chapter of Dante's Inferno though. Paradise Lost (and Paradise Regained) were both written by Milton.

You get 1/2 points.

Old 10-08-2006, 01:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Beau Belle

Originally Posted by LSK View Post
Yep, you're right....Stephen Lee Heung did do Paradise Lost back in the 70's, but Paradise Lost isn't a chapter of Dante's Inferno though. Paradise Lost (and Paradise Regained) were both written by Milton.

You get 1/2 points.

Darn it...at least I tried...do I get 1/2 costume too?
Old 10-17-2006, 01:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Update!

Well, Dawad just emailed me to say sorry for the delay, but the pics are coming... they just had a small setback that they're dealing with, but we'll soon get to see the costumes from south’s We People 2007 presentation of Dante's Divine Comedy: Inferno, Purgatorio and Paradiso.

I know it's not Minshal, but I really want to see what they do with this theme.

Old 01-19-2007, 11:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

A preview of Sando mas......

Dante's Inferno!

River of Blood

Flatterers....Plutus....Malebranche

Rebellion Of Angels

Guides of Nessus

Lust

Cerberus, Destroyer of Gluttons

Old 01-20-2007, 12:41 PM   #13 (permalink)

They did well! I like. I do think they failed to take full advantage of the impact that Guides of Nessus and Cerberus could have made but hey.
Old 01-20-2007, 01:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

There are one or two sections not yet displayed, but so far some are quite nice.
Old 01-22-2007, 10:08 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 268
Hard Act !

IF YOU HAVE EVER READ OR TRIED TO READ THE EPIC THE DIVINE COMEDY OR OR SAW ART WORK OF DANTES HELL YOU WILL KNOW IT IS A HARD THEME TO DEPICT WITH SUCCESS IN MODERN MAS.

NOT THAT IT CANT BE DONE.

WHAT MADE MINSHALLS PRADISE LOST A CLASSIC IS THAT MINSHALL USED T&T CULTURE TO DEPICT HELL, BATS, IMPS etc FROM OUR OWN LOCAL FOLKLAW AND MYTHOLOGY BROUGHT A HELL WE COULD IDENTIFY WITH.(better the hell you know than the hell you dont know)

THE PROBLEM THAT DESIGNERS HAVE TODAY IS THE GLAMOUR IN MAS, WHAT DESIGENERS AND MASQUERADERS NEED TO UNDERSTAND IS NOT ALL MAS IS PRETTY MAS, HELL IS NOT A PRETTY PLACE (not that ive been there mind you.) SOMETIMES FOR A DEPICTION OF HELL TO LOOK EFFECTIVE IT MUST BE HELLISH AT SOME POINT, IF ITS TOO PRETTY ITS JUST NOT HELL.

I THINK HELL GOT LOST IN THIS DEPICTION ITS MORE OF A DIVINE COMEDY