Old 09-21-2008, 01:15 PM   #16 (permalink)

I fail to understand why everyone getting all heated under the collar and ting. Furthermore why everyone is going on like Saucy got an exclusive? This isn't news, its is how the fashion and textile business is run.

What is the problem?

Are we really that pissed that Band leaders are making a profit?

Would you not want to make a profit if you too ran a business?

If we are to put them under the spotlight then we may as well put the whole god damn industry under the spotlight too. As a consumer I like to purchase goods that bring either joy or aid my life. As a masquerader I place with my money with a band that offers the same...everyone is different. Some like place their money if they think it helps their noteriety, some just like the joy it brings....whats the big deal? Lets just play mas, stop crying.
Old 09-22-2008, 06:57 PM   #17 (permalink)

Credits: 27,175
I eh tink nobody saying Bands cah make ah profit.........1 ting ah found interesting bout d people from India who responded on Saucy blog did say is that sometime dey take a loss because their long term goals will still be made because customers will return since dey doing good business (dey might b lying but it sound good tuh me).................d problem dat some of us have is dat d Bands are RAPING bazodee masqueraders wit price.......yuh kno wat in d short term dey go make a killing.......but we go see wat go happen in d long run........d way d economy going and airlines going outta business left right and center we go see how many foreign masqueraders will make it home fuh Carnival dis yeaer and years tuh come..........den wat dey go do....go tuh d locals who dey already outprice from playing mas..............d gravy go eventually run out.....dat is my prediction.
Old 09-22-2008, 07:25 PM   #18 (permalink)

Credits: 4,444
Originally Posted by Nisha7 View Post
Clearly I in the wrong business...$45 costume sells for $500, even taking into account DJs, trucks, personnel and alcohol, some of which is sponsored, the bands are cleaning up.
ALOT of which is sponsored.

People could talk about about how much it cost to produce bands but when you sponsorship from companies such as bmobile, stag, etc, times are not that hard for these mas bands at least not the big ones.
Old 09-22-2008, 07:30 PM   #19 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Smoke Me. Im Dope. View Post
I fail to understand why everyone getting all heated under the collar and ting. Furthermore why everyone is going on like Saucy got an exclusive? This isn't news, its is how the fashion and textile business is run.

What is the problem?

Are we really that pissed that Band leaders are making a profit?

Would you not want to make a profit if you too ran a business?

If we are to put them under the spotlight then we may as well put the whole god damn industry under the spotlight too. As a consumer I like to purchase goods that bring either joy or aid my life. As a masquerader I place with my money with a band that offers the same...everyone is different. Some like place their money if they think it helps their noteriety, some just like the joy it brings....whats the big deal? Lets just play mas, stop crying.
Of course bands secondary (in some cases primary) goals are to make a profit. But how much of a profit is too much? When does it stop being capitalism and start becoming GREED. And when it does become greed, many things are compromised. I think rehashing this topic again will highlight on all of the inefficiencies these bands have to answer for in many other areas.
Old 09-22-2008, 08:47 PM   #20 (permalink)

I just went back and read some of the responses on the blog.

What is even more alarming is the implication of child labour and what we as consumers are doing to support that trade in India.

I saw an expose on BBC America a couple of months ago (I believe Carnival Jumbie mentioned it in one of the posts on Saucy's blog) about child labour in India. I was gob smacked at how these children were treated. The two girls doing the interviews could barely get through the interviews without tears at the treatment of these young boys.

So I would like to know who is employed in this factory in India and know what carnival bands are doing to be socially responsbile other than participating in the Victory Charity event that was held in the summer.

Part of big business (since these bands are setting up business models that say as much) is social responsibility. So while they are raising thier prices higher than jack on the beanstalk, they really should be checking into these factories they import thier goods from.
Old 09-23-2008, 09:52 AM   #21 (permalink)
Carnival Addict!

Credits: 125
Originally Posted by trinidarkie View Post
Again unless you are living a hole for the past few years that has been happening for a while. I agree that greed is the issue. What she did not even get into is that these bands have been asking costume producers in Trinidad to make costumes for the same $35 they paying for it overseas. Thus cutting out the transportation and customs fees involved. Do the math.

My point is this. I remember posting that tribe was making costumes for $35, 3 years ago, my issue was not tribe, it was not my ability to pay $500 for it, it was to educate ppl. However some made it into an affordability issue (my point above) because I guess you can't talk about these bands and the shite they are doing without being perceived by their so-called loyalists as hating on them. others have done it before and after me and it was the same talk from the same ppl.

I just find it interesting how opinions have changed since then and not only that but it is being perceived as this great revelation.
I would like to read that post, due u have a link for it?