Credits: 281
Did anyone see Saucy blog, you die hard masqueradors need to know how much those pretty costumes really cost!
Credits: 6,724
It take nuff years for her to get to this point....she is about 3-4 years too late. What I find really interesting is that when it was raised on many occasions before she has been one at the forefront talking about "well if yuh have a problem and can't afford it, there are plenty other bands for you".
Why the long post now? |
Going home soon...
Credits: 5,424
Clearly I in the wrong business...$45 costume sells for $500, even taking into account DJs, trucks, personnel and alcohol, some of which is sponsored, the bands are cleaning up.
Credits: 281
My point is this. I remember posting that tribe was making costumes for $35, 3 years ago, my issue was not tribe, it was not my ability to pay $500 for it, it was to educate ppl. However some made it into an affordability issue (my point above) because I guess you can't talk about these bands and the shite they are doing without being perceived by their so-called loyalists as hating on them. others have done it before and after me and it was the same talk from the same ppl. I just find it interesting how opinions have changed since then and not only that but it is being perceived as this great revelation. Last edited by trinidarkie; 09-18-2008 at 02:19 PM.. |
Credits: 15,497
I believe as we get older and certain aspects of Carnival gets out of our system things will change........this change will only apply to the rational thinking individuals of course........I have no problem spending money to enjoy certain experiences that ife hsave to offer.....but as time has passed and I have ",matured" I have been able to cut off certain vices that I have. The housing market bubble buss.......so will this eventually.
Cover Girl
Credits: 3,210
This past summer I often found myself laughing at several imix members having heart attacts and babies for the same prototypes that you don't even have to go as far as India and China to purchase because several are being designed right up here in NY for under $50. I saw several prototypes from several very popular bands in Trinidad long before they launched in Trinidad. So I did not have to hack anybody website or buy a plane ticket because I got a sneek peek right in NYC for FREE!![]() Last edited by Pebbles362436; 09-18-2008 at 06:28 PM.. |
![]() Long time I ent get a post in my honor and I think right now the post for Xtasy had more hits that mine so I need to take back my crown. |
Cover Girl
Credits: 3,210
I got your back mama because I going down to Trinidad to laugh at them trying to make style and profile in dey Super inclusive $44.99 costumes.LMAO![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Credits: 5,630
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة
Credits: 1,960
well juss like a lil birdie tell me some of these mas bands up here get they costumes made in the garment district by them chinese and them.....my 2 cousins went to the garment district to buy a few things to spruce up their costumes and one of them took their bra to make sure the colors of the items they bought would work with the costume....well when my cousin showed the woman the bra, the woman say the name of the band and ting so.....hmmmmmm
Credits: 9,307
An Ivy of Class
Credits: 576
Maybe this is the case with non-Trini bands who are not charging anyway close to $500US for a costume. Even with the all-inclusive aspects like djs, food, etc., I really can't see a costume package costing more than $250 in Trini, especially with the economies of scale at work. I think a reasonable profit is fine, but some of these bands going overboard.
TD gyul, doh study it, the tumbleweeds will blow through this thread because no one will want to touch this. Sunnshine, I like your reference to the banking crisis. I suspect that the bands can't carry on like this for very long. This financial crisis is far from over and as it continues to affect the US and global economies, people will start rethinking their Trinidad expenditures, if they reach Trinidad at all. |
Credits: 9,307
For example, over the summer while working on my production I went to a place that outsource costumes for Tribe, D'Krewe & Harts to name a few. They said on average a Trini costume costs them $190 US (bra, belt, neckpiece, armband & leg band) to produce (materials & labor). That is not including headpiece which may cost $30-60. Add in accessories per costume, cause that is a new trend, but that is bought wholesale so I average $20 per costume. So we are looking at about $240 to $270 for just the body of a costume. Yes, a profit is made and some of the frontline costumes are a joke...but I personally don't see it as a disrespect to masqueraders as some are trying to make it seem. Even with this economy there are numerous things that are WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYyy over priced to the consumer.
What irks me is that these bands like to go around talking shite bout Versace cloth and Swarovksi diamonds when they know is a bag of arse and people lapping it up. The lies and talk about inflation and whatever else they like to use really not necessary. I have known I am paying ridiculously inflated prices for years and every year I still pay it. I do not fool myself into thinking service is making up for anything because there is no service that is worth 400US to me at least not the type you receive in Trinidad. However I have placed a value on Trinidad carnival (of which playing mas is a big part) and I will continue to pay a price that I believe delivers that value until it gets to the point that I no longer get whatever value I perceive..then it will go on a shelf. Last edited by trinidarkie; 09-20-2008 at 08:06 PM.. |

This past summer I often found myself laughing at several imix members having heart attacts and babies for the same prototypes that you don't even have to go as far as India and China to purchase because several are being designed right up here in NY for under $50. I saw several prototypes from several very popular bands in Trinidad long before they launched in Trinidad. So I did not have to hack anybody website or buy a plane ticket because I got a sneek peek right in NYC for FREE!
I got your back mama because I going down to Trinidad to laugh at them trying to make style and profile in dey Super inclusive $44.99 costumes.LMAO