Old 10-03-2006, 09:01 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 91
The Costume Resale Market

Now everyone has participated in it one time or another. In the past, a resale has meant paying the deposit and a few extra for the person's pocket. I was just reading Englishharbour's post and wondering if people will be willing to pay full value for costumes on the IP resale market. Just curious.
Old 10-03-2006, 09:44 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 134
Originally Posted by zenzele1 View Post
Now everyone has participated in it one time or another. In the past, a resale has meant paying the deposit and a few extra for the person's pocket. I was just reading Englishharbour's post and wondering if people will be willing to pay full value for costumes on the IP resale market. Just curious.

DO U WANT MINES GOING AT AH GOOD RATE JUST FOR U

I AM REGISTERED
Old 10-03-2006, 10:33 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 3,827
Originally Posted by turboex View Post
DO U WANT MINES GOING AT AH GOOD RATE JUST FOR U

I AM REGISTERED
So you're one of the lucky 200 people. Good for you.

Old 10-03-2006, 10:47 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by shandy View Post
So you're one of the lucky 200 people. Good for you.

nah i was forced into this ip thing. i not going willingly at all. best of all not spending my own money for a change

I AM REGISTERED
Old 10-03-2006, 11:04 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by turboex View Post
nah i was forced into this ip thing. i not going willingly at all. best of all not spending my own money for a change

I AM REGISTERED
Well for your sponsor's sake I hope you get that costume on time. From Taiwan

Old 10-03-2006, 11:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
luk de reel trubble yah

Credits: 132

Old 10-03-2006, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,220
I asked that question a while back and got no answer....
Old 10-03-2006, 11:14 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by shandy View Post
Well for your sponsor's sake I hope you get that costume on time. From Taiwan

well i still have my orange tribe pants and wrist band from last year. thing dont go good i in dragon next year in tribe. i just a recycled costume thats all.. that is the first thing i packing to travel with.
Old 10-03-2006, 02:13 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva View Post
I asked that question a while back and got no answer....
Well no one answering me either. lol.

Would you pay full price? Honestly, IP or any other band, I would not pay full price, I would try to negotiate. Cause if someone is out $600 better they take my $500 then get stuck with $600 debt and still don't travel to Trinidad.

Last edited by zenzele1; 10-03-2006 at 02:24 PM..
Old 10-03-2006, 02:32 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 1,220

Would you pay full price? Honestly, IP or any other band, I would not pay full price, I would try to negotiate. Cause if someone is out $600 better they take my $500 then get stuck with $600 debt and still don't travel to Trinidad.
You are completely right!
Old 10-03-2006, 02:33 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 28

My sentiments the same.
Old 10-03-2006, 03:06 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 991
From someone who has resold quite a few costumes, offering ppl less will only work if we are talking about 1 week before Carnival or something.

Based on my experience demand is usually greater than supply so yuh almost guaranteed to get your costume sold. Generally I get about 4 serious queries on every costume I have had for sale. So if yuh really want the cosutme that may not be a great move.

Heck if ppl could make a business out of buying costumes just to sell to ppl for a profit then know some of us get desperate when it comes to our mas.

Hi CC
Old 10-03-2006, 09:23 PM   #13 (permalink)

ditto.

But I wouldn't pay more than the downpayment.

Old 10-03-2006, 09:47 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinidarkie View Post
From someone who has resold quite a few costumes, offering ppl less will only work if we are talking about 1 week before Carnival or something.

Based on my experience demand is usually greater than supply so yuh almost guaranteed to get your costume sold. Generally I get about 4 serious queries on every costume I have had for sale. So if yuh really want the cosutme that may not be a great move.

Heck if ppl could make a business out of buying costumes just to sell to ppl for a profit then know some of us get desperate when it comes to our mas.

Hi CC

I would agree with this premise generally, but I think alot more folks are going to be leery about buying a resale at full price, but we shall see once Carnival Junction starts up again.

Hi Missy
Old 10-12-2006, 10:37 AM   #15 (permalink)
Temporary Suspension

Credits: 26
Having recently looked at the wanted section on carnivaljunction for costumes, I think ppl will pay full price.

some ppl want 7 Ip costumes another wants 4.... damn If i knew all this would have bought a few myself to resale to the highest bidder!!!! lol lol