Old 05-31-2006, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Credits: 434
Arrow Costume Prices! Are they out of control?

Now I know that carnival is a whole lot more than just a costume and some music... it's all about the amenities - free drinks, free food, cooling areas, rest stops, and all the rest... But how much should all this really cost? And are things getting a bit out of control?

So let's start the survey (guestimates are okay)...

Your costume price last year vs. your costume price this year... Was there a big difference?

Plus you know things are always going up, so how much more will you pay to play next year? $100, $200...

And just how much is really too damn much??? PartyC, we already know you're an individual... no comment from you on this one...lol

Old 05-31-2006, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Whining Criminal

Credits: 926
Originally Posted by LSK
Now I know that carnival is a whole lot more than just a costume and some music... it's all about the amenities - free drinks, free food, cooling areas, rest stops, and all the rest... But how much should all this really cost? And are things getting a bit out of control?

So let's start the survey (guestimates are okay)...

Your costume price last year vs. your costume price this year... Was there a big difference?

Plus you know things are always going up, so how much more will you pay to play next year? $100, $200...

And just how much is really too damn much??? PartyC, we already know you're an individual... no comment from you on this one...lol

last year was the most I ever paid for a costume, I dont think i will ever do it again (but then again i can never say never)
but $600US for a costume......mudda wuk.
Old 05-31-2006, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 308
the short answer..

yes
Old 05-31-2006, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 34,847
I think us men get overcharged .

but I don't mind spending $300 because I plan to drink my moneys worth chippin down di road
Old 05-31-2006, 02:18 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 4,373
Between last year and this year was a HUGE difference. But I don't think i would ever spend the same amount as this year.
Old 05-31-2006, 02:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Original Diva

Credits: 2,863
i not paying no ridiculous price to play mas.
Old 05-31-2006, 02:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 308
Originally Posted by Jahpikne
I think us men get overcharged .

but I don't mind spending $300 because I plan to drink my moneys worth chippin down di road

the prices we have to pay is a piss take to be blunt..

any wonder so few of us play mas, $300 for a pair of shorts?
Old 05-31-2006, 02:31 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 34,847
Originally Posted by CYPRIANNI
the prices we have to pay is a piss take to be blunt..

any wonder so few of us play mas, $300 for a pair of shorts?
I know right the prices scares a lot of us but I just think of it as

$1 per/ half naked women I'll be surrounded by
Old 05-31-2006, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 695
Might makes right and greed creates need...as long as we continue to trip up ourselves in our haste to sell out some of these mas bands, the more money they'll feel justified in charging.

Watch...the day of the $1000 dollar mas costume coming just now.
Old 05-31-2006, 03:21 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 233
well ever year mas costume for me seem to go up at least $100us.. one year i payed $185us for a rossi shorts that still had the rossi print on it an fricken $15tt shorts.. but last year in tribe my costume was close to $300.. but i still payed every year. each year i say is the last and when the time comes around i give in.. band leaderd will continue to ask and get the high price.. some people pay for security to keep the "untouchables" out. others pay to be in the in crowd. i play because i love mas and for now can afford it.. but it is crazy the price of costumes and i thing $300.00 for men and $500.00 for women is a good cap amount..
Old 05-31-2006, 03:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Pork Mout

Credits: 3,610
I must admit the prices of TnT were a bit scary (US $300-500) compare to (US$75-$150) in Bim ....however I was willing to pay for the experience....

I am sure that they were other bands that are not so expensive.....so I guess u pay for what u want....cause in the end the prices will only go as high as persons are willing to pay
Old 05-31-2006, 04:00 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 9,284
Between last year and this year my costume was about a $300 difference....will I do it again, yeah if it is a costume I am in love with.
Old 05-31-2006, 04:50 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 19,758

It's all in where u want to be i guess...I coulda play in a band for $125TT this year with meh aunt and them...instead ah paid $398US Dat and all was murda...I may be back wit de bedsheet possee come next year
Old 05-31-2006, 05:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Credits: 434
Originally Posted by 1trini-gyal
It's all in where u want to be i guess...I coulda play in a band for $125TT this year with meh aunt and them...instead ah paid $398US Dat and all was murda...I may be back wit de bedsheet possee come next year
Dem still around?
Old 05-31-2006, 05:38 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 19,758

Originally Posted by LSK
Dem still around?
Gyul like yuh ent know...dey may be looking to make a big comeback next year...and dem doh discriminate nah...dey doh watch face only pace