Old 04-21-2006, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
~Q~
Enjoyin de lime

Credits: 2,015
Question Costume Prices

How much is too much for you to play mas in Trinidad?

I know it's now about the mas 'experience' and we've come to expect the all-inclusive drinks, food, top-notch security, goodie bags, etc. as enhancing our carnival.

Those things are all getting more expensive and I understand that prices do go up for the end-users. But are we going to think twice for some bands when the prices are increased in 2K7 by more than 50%?

Old 04-21-2006, 10:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA

Credits: 6,589
I think the prices are way too high already, thats why I never played with a big mas band when I went in 2003. I ended up playing with a small mas band last minute for $25 CDN. I didn't have a huge headpeice, and my costume might not have been as fancy as poisons or tribes but I still crossed the stage and experienced mas in Trinidad. So I always think twice before considering playing mas
Old 04-21-2006, 10:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
work hard play harder!

Credits: 562
nothin is too much because there is nothin like it on earth!
Old 04-21-2006, 10:12 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 27,298
I don't think $250 to $350 that it is to much for 2 days of dancing in the streets half dressed and all u can drink

I think the party prices are out of control
that is were i am goin to be more selective next year.

"Give me the wine wine of of your life life make sure its right cause its carnival time time"

Old 04-21-2006, 11:38 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 36,063
I paid close to $600 this year and I will pay it again in a heartbeat once it is a section I love. However, I think my level is $1000.
Old 04-22-2006, 12:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ms.Allison

Credits: 1,045
i paid $600 this year..

never woulda thought my cheap ass woulda pay so much for a costume...so i really dont know if i have a limit

GOT ICE 2013, THE ULTIMATE COOLER FETE OF THE SUMMER

Pulse 48 Outdoor Complex
Saturday,June 29th

Fantastic FOG Friday with Machel Montano

Pulse 48
Friday,July 12th
Old 04-22-2006, 09:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
The Original Diva

Credits: 12,488
Sorry but my limit is $600 i not paying more at least i hope so
Old 04-22-2006, 09:26 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 27,298
all u frontline divas $600
not me and frontline
its very pretty but i can get on the way i want to with all that extra stuff attached

I to miserable to have all that extra stuff

"Give me the wine wine of of your life life make sure its right cause its carnival time time"

Old 04-22-2006, 10:17 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 36,063
Originally Posted by pebblesjt
not me and frontline
its very pretty but i can get on the way i want to with all that extra stuff attached

I used to think so too, but this year I played in Frontline and I really enjoyed it. I was kinda forced to wear my whole costume all day, because my friend had my regular waist band(that didn't have feathers attached to it) in his backpocket and he left to fly back Carnival Tuesday right before IP crossed the stage. So my waistband went with him
Old 04-22-2006, 10:19 AM   #10 (permalink)

I MUST HAVE FRONTLINE!!!!
I don't set out to play frontline, but those are just the costumes that grab meh and throw meh on deh ground and make meh wear them...and I'd have it no other way
Old 04-22-2006, 10:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Key

Credits: 3,101
Originally Posted by pebblesjt
not me and frontline

Well, not me and frontline again. My backpack (as gorgeous as it was) was too damn big for that hot sun. $600 is what I paid but I'll pay it again (minus the backpack) because there is no other feeling in the world like Carnival! Did you get the feeling?
Old 04-23-2006, 09:09 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ms.Allison

Credits: 1,045
Originally Posted by Queen of Sanity
Well, not me and frontline again. My backpack (as gorgeous as it was) was too damn big for that hot sun. $600 is what I paid but I'll pay it again (minus the backpack) because there is no other feeling in the world like Carnival! Did you get the feeling?
what band/section did u play with???

with ip..i thought the backline costumes were just as nice as the frontlines..

Last edited by TriniMami; 04-23-2006 at 09:14 AM..
Old 04-23-2006, 12:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Key

Originally Posted by TriniMami

Tribe's Angel Fish. Don't get me wrong I loved it but I would rather be able to move about the band more freely. Too many people were bumping into the pack, the fins getting tangled up, all kinda interuptions.
Old 04-23-2006, 12:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Key

Originally Posted by TriniMami

that purple hippo is hilarious btw...LOL
Old 04-23-2006, 02:59 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 1,958
Agree

I agree the prices ae getting prohibitive. Espscially the fetes. You're average local cannot afford such prices, hence the RBTT loans etc.