Old 11-23-2005, 10:55 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 268
Container of feathers returns to China,

Container of feathers returns to China, says Rahael
Cordielle Street Container of feathers returns to China, says Rahael
Cordielle Street
Wednesday, November 23rd 2005

In a continued move to protect citizens from the deadly bird flu virus, a container of feathers intended for decoration of Carnival costumes will be returned to China, Minister of Health John Rahael has said.

"That container is going to be shipped out of Trinidad and Tobago," he said yesterday at the opening of the Port of Spain General Hospital's eye clinic.

The shipment of feathers imported by the Jimmy Aboud store in Port of Spain was not reported to have been infected with the bird flu virus.

Bird flu also referred to as Avian Influenza, is a contagious and fatal viral disease.

It affects the respiratory, digestive and nervous systems of birds, and can occur in most, if not all, species of birds, both domestic and wild. The disease has killed more than 60 people in Asia and in almost every case, the virus appears to have been transmitted to humans through contact with birds.

"We have to be extremely cautious, extremely careful, extremely vigilant in respect to any product that is related to poultry that is coming from those countries," explained Rahael. Trinidad and Tobago has banned the transshipment of pet birds and all nonessential non-food poultry products since the outbreak has reached places like Europe.

Rahael, who was also acting as Minister of Agriculture, said the Ministry will be publishing a list of bird-related products that will not be allowed into the country including a list of countries from which shipments will be refused.

"We would like to advise all the importers of any products related to the poultry industry of all countries in Asia and certainly other countries in the world to ensure that they do not import anything until this matter has been dealt with," he said.

The United States is one of the countries from which products like feathers will not be allowed said Rahael who stressed that feathers from the US can originate from places like China.

"We were quite satisfied there was no danger but the authorities themselves need to be satisfied and we accept their ruling," said Gregory Aboud, manager of Jimmy Aboud. He advised other businesses in the future to contact the authorities before attempting to import goods into the country.

The cost of the shipment to be returned to China will be absorbed by Jimmy Aboud.

"We don't want to create the impression that a feather is worth more than a life," said Aboud.

Medication to treat the bird flu virus ordered by the Ministry of Health has arrived in Trinidad and Tobago confirmed Rahael.

"We hope to God we will never have to use it," said the Minister.

OOORRR GORRMMMM
Old 11-23-2005, 10:58 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 3,828
Oh dear.

Old 11-23-2005, 12:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
always willin and wantin

Credits: 122
does it mean that all those costumes that portrays feathers on those Carnival Band Websites may be bare for Carnival 2K6?

Last edited by trinnubian; 11-24-2005 at 07:54 AM..
Old 11-23-2005, 01:29 PM   #4 (permalink)

ooh no I'm sure they could find feathers elsewhere....they better hurry up before their masqueraders start to panic
Old 11-23-2005, 01:31 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 46
ooh no I'm sure they could find feathers elsewhere....they better hurry up before their masqueraders start to panic
for real
Old 11-23-2005, 01:32 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by kill Bill
for real

and yuh know it doh take much....some ah dem probably viewing CC right now

Hello there.....
Old 11-23-2005, 01:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
always willin and wantin

Credits: 122
and yuh know it doh take much....some ah dem probably viewing CC right now

Hello there.....

girl yur backside extra happy
Old 11-23-2005, 02:03 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinnubian
girl yur backside extra happy

I'm just saying, our comments about bands in CC has influenced some band owners etc.....sooooooooooo ...if they smart they will listen
Old 11-23-2005, 02:21 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 28
Exclamation

I think this was the right decision. Yes it would hurt the carnival sector but as a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago that love our carnival season I think the health of our people is much more important. We have to start looking at the bigger picture. Do u want to have an out break and save one carnival season or do u prefer to play it safe and have many more carnival in the future.
Old 11-23-2005, 02:27 PM   #10 (permalink)

righto
Old 11-23-2005, 03:56 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 92
Feathers=bird flu
Old 11-23-2005, 06:50 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 3,051

so is how much birds does die fuh de sake of carnival ? And here I thought it was all synthetic
Old 11-23-2005, 06:56 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 476
I rather have a featherless costume than some bird flu!!!!!
Old 11-23-2005, 07:22 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 3,828
Originally Posted by islandbeauty
I think this was the right decision. Yes it would hurt the carnival sector but as a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago that love our carnival season I think the health of our people is much more important. We have to start looking at the bigger picture. Do u want to have an out break and save one carnival season or do u prefer to play it safe and have many more carnival in the future.
AMEN to that.

Old 11-28-2005, 12:12 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 3,051

Originally Posted by 1trini-gyal
so is how much birds does die fuh de sake of carnival ? And here I thought it was all synthetic

Okay...so anybody could answer? Is really real feathers dey using? How much birds dying in de name of Trinidad Carnival? I am confused by this thing here