a.k.a. Buss_Slippers
Credits: 76
Complete Trini carnival virgin
I have never been to Trini carnival. I know it's a shame. I'm a complete novice but I'm considering going next year. But it just seems so overwhelming.
If you had to create a step by step guide to playing mass in Trini (including insider tips), what would you include? Best time to book flight, best accomodations, best fetes to go to, safety tips, etc... |
that's alot of info you looking for!!!!! we could write a book in here :p right now flights are expensive the prices should come down alittle when it gets closer but then you run the risk of seats being sold out even though I prefer to book my flights thru bwee online you can find cheaper flights thru travel agents & charter companies. you need hotel accomodations? you don't have any family or friends to stay by? there are tons of guesthouses that are less expensive than the big hotels but they tend to be booked & sold out very early ![]() |
check these accommodations
http://notes.tidco.co.tt/accommodations.nsf
Guesthouse Airport View Guest House (868) 669-4186 (868) 669-5104 Alicia's House Ltd. (868) 623-2802/624-8651/625-2648/625-2619 (868) 623-8560 Carnetta's Inn (868) 622-5165/628-2732 (868) 628-7717 Coblentz Inn (868) 621-0541-4 (868) 624-7566 Laguna Mar Beach / Nature Resort (868) 669-2963 (868) 628-3737 Monique's Guesthouse (868) 628 3334/2351/5511 (868) 622 3232 Par-May-Las Inn (868) 628 2008 (868) 628 4707 Pax Guesthouse (868) 662-4084 (868)662-4232 Sundeck Suites (868) 622-9560 (868) 628-4707 Host Home Alford House Alfredo Villa Ana's Place (868) 627-2563 (868) 628-0971 Brahma bhûta Casablanca Bed and Breakfast (868) 663-3863 (868) 663-3863 Chateau Guillaume Comfort Zone Chez Jeanne C. T. Garden Inn Gibson's Self Catering House Gwen's (868) 627-8032 Hillvue Host Home (868) 632 8046 (868) 622 2557 Hopevilla Kiskidee Cottage La Belle Maison (868) 663 4413 (868) 663 4413 Le Grande Almandier (868) 670-1013, (868) 670-2294 (868) 670-1013 Lenore's Chattel House Leo's Place Mc Eachnie's Haven MK's Haven MK's Haven ML's Ginger Bread House Morgan's Bed and Breakfast Sadila House (868) 640-3659 (868) 640-1376 Sand Dollar Sapphire House Savannah Breeze Second Spring Sunshine House Tahira Boos The Greenery Thor's House Trinidad Gingerbread House Valsayn Villa Williams' Villa (868) 628 0824 (868) 622-7782 Hotel Abercromby Inn, The (868) 623 5259, (868) 627-6658 (868) 624 3858 Ambassador Hotel (868) 628-9000 (868) 628-7411 Asa Wright Nature Centre (868) 667-4655 (868) 667-4540 Cara Suites Pointe-A-Pierre 1 868 659 2271,2272,2230 1 868 659 2202 Cascadia Hotel and Conference Centre (868) 623-3511, (868) 623-3513, (868) 623-3515, (868) 623-4208/9 (868) 627-8046 Coral Cove Marina, Hotel Ltd. (868) 634-2040 (868) 634-2248 Crews Inn Hotel and Yachting Centre (868) 634--4384/5 (868) 634-4542/4175 Crowne Plaza Trinidad (868) 625-3366 (868) 625-4677 / 625-2773 Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre (868) 624-3111 (868) 624-4485 Kapok Hotel (868) 622-KPOK (5765) (868) 622-9677 Mikanne Hotel and Restaurant (868) 659 2584 (868) 659 2584 Mt. Plaisir Estate Hotel (868) 670-8381, (868) 670-2216 Cellular: (868) 680-4553 (868) 670-0057 Piarco International Hotel Limited 868-669-3030, (868) 669-4040 868-669-1739 Royal Palm Suite Hotel (868) 628-5086/9 (868) 628-6042 Last edited by amprincess; 07-29-2004 at 03:22 PM.. |
Machel's Alternative Concept & I think BrassFest the sat (1 week) before carnival Sat
Glow on Tues before carnival Bacchanal Wed & Customs Fete on Wed before carnival UWI Splash & MadHatters on Thurs before carnival Girl Power, Pier 1 Cooler fete on Fri before carnival Insomnia & Trinipossee fete on Sat before carnival Brian Lara all-inclusive & BoyScouts on Sun before carnival then j'ouvert into carnival Mon |
Dreamweaver...
Credits: 80
Click Here for general info or here for carnival tips. |
very nice site it just made me really excited! ![]() |
Dreamweaver...
Thanks ampy. It started off in 2000 as just a way for me to promote my culture (ah was getting very tired of repeating meh self to non-west indians); it's since become a major marketing tool with contracts for caribbean entertainers coming from as far Asia. I took the e-commerce down and won't put it back up until Sept./Oct (tee shirts, etc), but that's only because I'm preparing for two major marketing project for next carnival.............................you might have heard about it. It's . :p :p :p |
Credits: 3,828
Yeah LSK it's a really cool site. I just finished checking it out.
Foxxie...I'm in a bit of a caffine crash so I can't think of anything right now. But I think these guys got the jist of it. And stay tuned to CC, there's always stuff popping up in here. :)
a.k.a. Buss_Slippers
Credits: 76
amp..I usually stay by family but I asked about the accomodations for those who would want to know..thanks for the fete list, I'd better start saving up!
LSK..your website looks great so far and the site for first timers is funny but informative It's just about the planning for me. I stress myself out enough with making travel plans..lol...so the idea of the costume preparations just gets to me. Either that or something financial comes up. I just have to tell myself that I'm going and start to prepare from early on. Now that I have a friend down there to keep me company I don't have to worry about people changing their minds. But I think i'm just going to go as a spectator first and play mass the next year. :) Thanx guys |
Dreamweaver...
What???? Wha yuh mean by that? That should never be an option to consider. ![]() |
I agree foxxie you gotta play! SPECTATORS can never have as much fun as masqueraders ![]() |
Credits: 30
The best thing is playing mas, I could pass on the parties, just give me my costume and I'm in heaven...
As with most things, you just have to have a plan, we have 6 full months til February, look at the list below and estimate how much you need to save in that time and put it in action. I would say that by October you should have your airfare and costume deposit. airfare - $500 - 800 US housing - ??? US costume - $200 - 350 US parties - $100 - $400 TT, depending on the party I know how you feel, but I just take it one step at a time. I find that once the airfare it booked, especially if I pay less than I anticipated, it less worry, because now I'm sure I'm going. |

that's alot of info you looking for!!!!! we could write a book in here :p
the prices should come down alittle when it gets closer but then you run the risk of seats being sold out
even though I prefer to book my flights thru bwee online
you can find cheaper flights thru travel agents & charter companies. you need hotel accomodations? you don't have any family or friends to stay by? there are tons of guesthouses that are less expensive than the big hotels but they tend to be booked & sold out very early 
it just made me really excited!