Old 01-16-2006, 06:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Whatever Lola wants...

Credits: 465
Changing money...

Should I?
Where should I? (Bank, AAA)
When should I? (Here or There)
How much (All or just some)
ATM's?
Help!
Old 01-16-2006, 07:05 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 9,307
Originally Posted by GoldenBrown
Should I?
ATM's?
Help!
I usually change money in the airport first thing, nothing much but just enough to get around for a day or two. Long enough for me to reach a bank. Just make sure you catch a bank before it closes Carnival Friday, cause then you will ketch yuh ass til Ash Wed. unless you can find a Blue Machine that is not boarded up.
Old 01-16-2006, 07:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ms.Allison

Credits: 247
yeah i usually change it in the airport...not all of it though
Old 01-16-2006, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Credits: 1,318
sooooo what happens if you change money, but need more after Carnival Friday? Are you just completely out of luck if you don't find one of those "blue" machines someone just referred to. What about just using Traveler's Checks. Is that ok? I'm concerned about having a large amount of cash on me or just laying around. I trust my friend and her family, but I need to watch my back. Also, is Western Union open while everything else shuts down?
Old 01-16-2006, 10:25 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 697
Safest bet is using the ATM to withdraw cash from your CC easy conversion and getting it as u need. just dont loose the card
Old 01-17-2006, 02:27 AM   #6 (permalink)

Strongly recommend that you handle your finances no differently than you would here. There are ample "SAFE" ATM and business which accept your debit and credit cards to meet you need. Please be careful during the season!!
Old 01-17-2006, 11:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Dragon Lizard

Credits: 192
Should I?
ATM's?
Help!
I have used ATM's in Trinidad and they are safe and secure. If you don't want to go that route, then change some of your money at the airport and when you get a chance you can go to the bank.
Old 01-17-2006, 12:33 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 56
There is a store on Frederick street called 'Mode Alive'.. They normally give you $6.20 = $1 US...
Old 01-17-2006, 02:00 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 31
The ATM is definitely the way to go. It's just too risky to carry around a lot of cash. The next best thing is travellers cheques, but you will be limited by banking hours. But whatever you decide to carry, keep it safe and secure, because when money gone, fete done!
Old 01-17-2006, 02:05 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 602
Should I?
ATM's?
Help!
I always bring cash and travellers cheques. Also a credit card for emergencies. Just have some place safe to store your money when you go out though. Carrying around a ton of cash is never safe.
Old 01-17-2006, 02:06 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 6,725
Originally Posted by Caribsun
sooooo what happens if you change money, but need more after Carnival Friday? Are you just completely out of luck if you don't find one of those "blue" machines someone just referred to. What about just using Traveler's Checks. Is that ok? I'm concerned about having a large amount of cash on me or just laying around. I trust my friend and her family, but I need to watch my back. Also, is Western Union open while everything else shuts down?
The banks are boarded up but there is always an entrance to access the ATMs.

Also some of the merchants in Trinidad take Linx only and not VISA so plan accordingly.
Old 01-17-2006, 02:08 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 6,725
Also many times the US banks may charge $3-4 for an international transaction.

Take it from me this adds up to a whole lot.
Old 01-17-2006, 02:17 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 602
Originally Posted by trinidarkie
Also many times the US banks may charge $3-4 for an international transaction.

Take it from me this adds up to a whole lot.
That is why I just bring cash and travellers cheques. Avoids all those damn fees. A friend of mine paid $10 on one transaction.