carnival worldwide
ok im working on a photography carnival exhibit and i would appreciate it if everyone could respond to the following questions, because i need alot of detail for my photos because they are in black n white. any feedback is useful, so dont hold back lol
1) where r u from? 2) what does carnival mean to you? 3) how do you define carnival. 4)how would you compare carnivals outside of the US to carnivals in the carribbean 5)what do you think about the cost of playing mass 6)how has carnval changed 7)what song would you choose that best defines what carnival is 8)which carnival is the best lol and WHY? 9)how does identity play a role in it's traditions (sorry for making this long) |
Credits: 1,259
Damn girl, this is an essay...LOL Ok, these are the first answers that are coming to mind.
1) where r u from? Trinidad and Tobago 2) what does carnival mean to you? Carnival is more than my culture, it is a part of me. I am a Carnival Baby (born in Nov.) and I grew up in Carnival. My parents have played King and Queen of the band numerous times and my dad have produced mas for many years in Trinidad, NY (He won 1st place king of the band and 1st place for small band that year) and Canada. So I was born into mas and lived in mas. 3) how do you define carnival. Freedom and Beauty 4)how would you compare carnivals outside of the US to carnivals in the carribbean--I believe all Carnivals serve its purpose and I appreciate all of them because they help spread the culture. Yet, I don't think it can compare to the pure essence that a caribbean carnival...US usually have water-down versions due to alot of rules and regulations. 5)what do you think about the cost of playing mass The prices are getting up there and outrageous to some, yet, I believe that a price tag can't be put on Carnival. 6)how has carnval changed Carnival is expanding therefore taking on many new features. Yet that allows it to grow and see other sides of the world. 7)what song would you choose that best defines what carnival is Flap Party--Super Blue 8)which carnival is the best lol and WHY? Trinidad of course that is the Mother of all Carnivals. 9)how does identity play a role in it's traditions..please rephrase that questions. |
Dreamweaver...
Credits: 80
Also, please let us know how us answering these questions will help with your photo exhibit.... I am actually curious, cause it's not like the pics are of any of us.... or are they? ![]() Are you just going to attach random quotes? ![]() |
Credits: 27,180
Credits: 1,184
ok
So i am comparing and contrasting notting hill carnival in the uk to labor day festival and carnival in trinidad. to rephrase my last question, How has carnival become diverse(meaning the people who play mass, costume designers etc..) and what impact has it made on carnival traditions. this question is optional lol |
Dreamweaver...
Credits: 80
Nice. Sounds like a cool project. |
2) - 10% cultural, 90% wild partying 3) - Beautiful people, non-stop (overnight of course) partying. 4) - A whole lot better (then again, I've only been to NYC Labor Day, which I didn't find all that good!). 5) - Don't particularly care for playing mass unless it's in a that takes place outside of N.America. Pretty cheap here in T.O. (100 CDN 1-Day). If it's outside of N. America then I'll say I've heard mass prices in TT have grown exponentially since I was there. Bahia's pretty cheap managed to pay 10 U.S. to join a band for 1 night. 6) - It hasn't all that much to me, I've learned its better to go to the ones outside of N.America vs. these one-day ripoffs (Crappibana-Labor Day!) in N.America (heard Miami's is good though!) 7) - Ohhh that's a tough one, I'll say "MariaCaprihina" (Carlinhos Brown) & "Get Something & Wave" (Can't recall singer) 8) - Salvador Brazil, where else in the world has 6 days and 6 of 24/7 street mas? Nowhere else can party on this scale. 3 million plus revellers partying uninhibited in front of magnificent beaches. 9) - Unsure how to answer this one (sorry!) |
Credits: 52
i think someone should do a report on this my carnival is better than yours thing i always seeing on here people dont realise different carnivals offer different things i dont come from trinidad but i do feel its the most accessable and most diverse carnival of the caribbean and world for that!!!
"Trinidad the mother of ALL carnivals". "Dem Brazilians only know how to sit in de stands at dey carnival not like us Trinis". It's not that they don't realize, it's that they don't WANT to realize other places carnivals as being anything great. Someone here made a thread titled: "Who's interested in VincyMas: The greatest in the carribbean" and you should see how the Trini's rushed into that thread to talk down on that particular carnival. A lot of them making these statements only go on hearsay rather than actual travel experiences. Then again this is Imix so I guess I'm rather used to this sort of closemindedness already. |
thanks im tryin lol
STEADY WUK
Credits: 31
This is indeed an interesting thread and kudos to you in your efforts with your project, sorry if I went a little off topic and "hijacked" your thread.
I'd like to know are you merely directing your efforts limited towards solely the 3 carnivals you mentioned: Labor Day, TT, Notting Hill? Never been to Notting Hill, only Labor Day & TT. |