Old 08-22-2005, 05:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Miss Good Reputation..

Credits: 41
For Carnival Virgins..

Okay...for some of us more experienced mas players...these things are jus understood...but i thought I d give some info to people who are new to the things. Please feel free to add.

DO NOT buy your sneakers the day before you're about to play mas....It doesnt matter if their cute and match your costume perfectly. YOur tail will be in pain.

DO NOT oversaturate your body with oil for the glitter to stick. the OIl will also attract the heat from the sun and you will bake like there is no tomorrow.

DO NOT ignore offers of food. Any rumhead knows that your stomach must be coated to absorb the alcohol being put into it.
Old 08-22-2005, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
F.G.I de cupcake criminal

Location: if yuh want 2 lock meh up ill be by de kiss cake truck!
Credits: 44
Originally Posted by tallest
Okay...for some of us more experienced mas players...these things are jus understood...but i thought I d give some info to people who are new to the things. Please feel free to add.

DO NOT buy your sneakers the day before you're about to play mas....It doesnt matter if their cute and match your costume perfectly. YOur tail will be in pain.

DO NOT oversaturate your body with oil for the glitter to stick. the OIl will also attract the heat from the sun and you will bake like there is no tomorrow.

DO NOT ignore offers of food. Any rumhead knows that your stomach must be coated to absorb the alcohol being put into it.
that is the TRUTH!
Old 08-22-2005, 05:16 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 3,828
true things there Tallest.

Also never stick on a good suncreen, I don't care how dark you are that near-equatorial Trinidad sun will bake ya!

Actually, use your sunscreen to make the glitter stick...worked for me.

Old 08-22-2005, 05:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Spangled-Spangled Coco

Credits: 34
**DO NOT buy your sneakers the day before you're about to play mas....It doesnt matter if their cute and match your costume perfectly. YOur tail will be in pain.

I was one of those individuals last year, I had was to leave the band in St. James, catch a taxi down de road to Cascade, I had the driver wait for me- who then took me back to meet the band! I paid $60.00 TTD, but I belive it was worth it...
Old 08-22-2005, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
picture tekker

Credits: 27

lol, i'm sure you remember my first Carnival in Miami where i bought those cute Payless sneakers oh lawdo....a peer laughing everbody deh pon when dem start bun me
Old 08-22-2005, 05:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
picture tekker

yea the last ting u want is to be throwing up on di road or pass out from too much alcohol....u bascially just need a buzz on not be falling down drunk... steups and den everybody else carnival ruin cause they gotta be taking care of your drunk ass
Old 08-22-2005, 05:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Miss Good Reputation..

oh... PLEASE teach yourself to pee in places other than a toilet. YOU cannot HOLD IT FOR THE WHOLE PARADE ROUTE!!!
Old 08-22-2005, 05:26 PM   #8 (permalink)

oh... PLEASE teach yourself to pee in places other than a toilet. YOU cannot HOLD IT FOR THE WHOLE PARADE ROUTE!!!

Old 08-22-2005, 05:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Miss Good Reputation..

Originally Posted by di_paparazzi
lol, i'm sure you remember my first Carnival in Miami where i bought those cute Payless sneakers oh lawdo....a peer laughing everbody deh pon when dem start bun me

yes i remeber you takign the shoes off and wearing them around your neck.....!!!! lmfao
Old 08-22-2005, 05:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Miss Good Reputation..

Originally Posted by shandy

Shandy..they need to hand out an instruction booklet.....

PLEASE....prepare for people to push you and move you...this is not communion....its CARNIVAL!!!! move or be moved
Old 08-22-2005, 05:36 PM   #11 (permalink)

Shandy..they need to hand out an instruction booklet.....

PLEASE....prepare for people to push you and move you...this is not communion....its CARNIVAL!!!! move or be moved
ENT!

Old 08-22-2005, 05:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Miss Good Reputation..

My last contribution before i leave for the day..

The alcohol is provided to numb your sensibilities....DRINK IT. It is a large crowd of sweaty bodies jumping in the sun. THINGS WILL SMELL!! the more you drink...the less it will bother you...

carry on
Old 08-22-2005, 05:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
picture tekker

My last contribution before i leave for the day..

The alcohol is provided to numb your sensibilities....DRINK IT. It is a large crowd of sweaty bodies jumping in the sun. THINGS WILL SMELL!! the more you drink...the less it will bother you...

carry on
Old 08-22-2005, 05:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
picture tekker

and please remember to walk wid a sponge or sumting for your face cause us paparazzi aint discriminating when it come to tekking pics so if u sweaty dats how di pic going come out. so dont get vex when your picture appear on IMIX and u not lookin cute.
Old 08-22-2005, 06:11 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 256
Apply the sunblock 30 mins prior to going out in the sun.

Buy shoes 1 size larger as your foot will expand due to heat(which is why runners buy their shoes larger).

Avoid getting your shoes soaked due to jumping in the "showers." You can get blisters this way if you aren't careful.