Gimme the bon bon bon vie
CARNIVAL TIPS 4 FIRST TIMERS!
Details, details...these are points, as a first timer, you should be aware of so bear with me! To veteran masqueraders: nothing much new for you (maybe one or two rules you need reminding of!). 1. Early birds register early its easier to get into the section of your choice and if booking for a large group you can ensure you're all in the same section. Registering via the net is available to both local and foreign masqueraders. (So you have no excuse). JUST DO IT! Procrastinators! Now yuh know Carnival comes around every year, ease yuhself up. When you wait too long you can't get into the section where your friends are, or the popular sections are sold out, yuh not happy. Now who fault is that? 3. Receipts Guard these with your life! Once you've registered you get a receipt with details such as, name, section, registration number etc. I cannot stress enough how important this is. Your receipt helps find your costume when you come to collect it. Keep it safe! ONLINE FOLKS... PLEASE WRITE YOUR RECEIPT NUMBER DOWN. 4. Costume collection. An ad is published in the local newspapers one week before Carnival informing masqueraders of dates and times for collection of each section. It's much better for everyone when you come on the date advertised, but if you must come on another day, please be patient if another section is being distributed. Costumes not collected are sold on Carnival Saturday. 5. Exercising this is a must, start now, youre going to need all your energy for Carnival so get going on that fitness program today! Plus, on the up side you might lose a pound or two, and thats always good, right? Otherwise yuh talking about: "I can't make". Is only Carnival Friday and you're tired, yuh back hurting, you have no energy. The action now start and you won't be around to enjoy it. No exercise = no stamina. Ah warning yuh! 6. Fete till yuh drop; go to as many pre Carnival fetes as you can and listen to the radio all the time. It helps to get you in the spirit. "What song is this?"... there is nothing worse than being in a fete or on de road and not knowing the songs. 7. Monday & Tuesday: Wear your costume AND any ID bands yuh receive. For the first timers, you are not required to wear your entire costume on Monday, but of course, if you feel the need to, go right ahead. Most carnival bands issue wrist ID's now, so wear it if they give it to you or you might just get put out the band. 8. Eat right... Just like your mother used to tell you. If yuh in an all-inclusive then yuh straight, but if not, remember to eat at home first and then stop somewhere for lunch. If you don't eat you just wont make it! 9. Sunblock! This doesn't need much expanation does it? 10. SUNBURN! I guess maybe ah sould have explained No. 9. Men please cover your head if you are a baldy... Get a matching hat, cap or bandana. That sun is intense - your head will thank you. 11. Comfortable shoes preferably sneakers or (for the more adventurous) carnival boots are a great option and very comfortable. For more information on boots check your mas camp. 12. Slippers, spike heels, thin soled shoes leave those for the beach or cocktail parties they just wont do on the road. Chipping down the road all day can be very hard on your feet and the ground tends to get very hot. 13. Accessorize - glitter, face and body paint, as well as coloured hair spray. Go all out and use them (some or all), have fun with them. It's not necessary but it is fun and it does help you get into the spirit especially when you see all the other people who have done it. SMALL REMINDERS: Stand Clear of the big trucks. For your own safety we recommend you stay away from the sides and front of the trucks. Band security will move you out of the way if they must. Get to the band on time! This is mostly for your own benefit. Most bands, contrary to our trini nature of being fashionably late, by some miracle, always manage to leave the meeting point right on time. This carnival thing does strange things to people. :p :p :p :p |