Old 09-12-2008, 12:06 PM   #31 (permalink)
Reborn!!

Credits: 1,756
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
That's what would have happened if it weren't for hubby reminding me that I did encourage her to come and was therefore her host and responsible for her...I didn't like him very much at the moment but had to admit he was right. Chalk it up to lesson learned tho cause that nonsense will NEVER happen again.

How did your friend survive Carnival Monday , Tuesday and jouvert??

And what parties did you guys go to??
Old 09-12-2008, 12:35 PM   #32 (permalink)

Credits: 315
Bacchanal Diva de sameting happen to me this year in BIM, going to try to make it short. My friend good good friend like a sister born in England live in Jamaica and now America want came to BIM with me this year she and her mother. Before she book her ticket I explain everything to her nothin but soca ,soca all over de place, Barbados can be very expensive with fetein,jumpin everything give her example on much things cost. ask her if she wanted to jump she choose not to.

Ok she got to Barbados Saturday night, Cohobblopot Sunday night we went and mind u my cousin pay for all the tickets for everyone that went about $200 USD. Got home about 3am, I had to get up 5am to get ready to jump that morning, my family was going to watch and they were leavin about 8:00am. She didn't go, ok tuesday the beach, tuesday night old dub(dancehall) though she would have went she choose not to go. Wednesday plans fell through so we were in the house I ask here if she was tired she looked at me and tell that she was bored because we had nothing for her to do.

I was vex is hell, if she had got her ass up and went and watch de bands monday went out tuesday she would have been to tired on wednesday to say she bored like i was. I didn't really say much to her until that saturday. She sayin that she did the clubbin back in the day and so forth.

I don't know bout anybody else but when u on vacation and u with people you have to go with the flow. I mean my aunt and cousin paid for a lot for them to do while they were there and try to accomodate them(mainly my friend her mother was cool) and for her say something like I'm bored.

I told my cousin never again and I even ask people when I came back Bajans, Americans, people from other islands what they thought and they said she was plain ungratefull.

But I already have people that want to go next year I don't know

SORRY IF TO LONG(it still affects me a little)
Old 09-12-2008, 01:57 PM   #33 (permalink)

Credits: 2,256
Originally Posted by ~Ragga~ View Post

How did your friend survive Carnival Monday , Tuesday and jouvert??

And what parties did you guys go to??
Well she came in same day as UWI and sat that one out which I could understand cause she had all kinda drama w/ her flight and not luggage etc so we left her at the hotel and she got some sleep. Next night we went Girl Power which she enjoyed at first then she was complaining bout the crowd, mad ppl throwing water and ready to go home, Insomnia was drama but she had no choice but to wait cause I couldn't ask our driver to make 2 trips and I can't remember the other fete she went. Monday she ready to leave the road at 4, made her wait till 6..Tues I called the driver to meet her about 3 and showed her where to walk to meet him. Ash Wed she was a #################### the whole ride over to Tobago but once we got to Bago she was good and talking bout she "can't wait till next year". She didn't go the following year and I didn't even go this year but all now she calling me bout '09 and I acting like I not getting her messages

Originally Posted by kitkat75 View Post
Bacchanal Diva de sameting happen to me this year in BIM, going to try to make it short. My friend good good friend like a sister born in England live in Jamaica and now America want came to BIM with me this year she and her mother. Before she book her ticket I explain everything to her nothin but soca ,soca all over de place, Barbados can be very expensive with fetein,jumpin everything give her example on much things cost. ask her if she wanted to jump she choose not to.

Ok she got to Barbados Saturday night, Cohobblopot Sunday night we went and mind u my cousin pay for all the tickets for everyone that went about $200 USD. Got home about 3am, I had to get up 5am to get ready to jump that morning, my family was going to watch and they were leavin about 8:00am. She didn't go, ok tuesday the beach, tuesday night old dub(dancehall) though she would have went she choose not to go. Wednesday plans fell through so we were in the house I ask here if she was tired she looked at me and tell that she was bored because we had nothing for her to do.

I was vex is hell, if she had got her ass up and went and watch de bands monday went out tuesday she would have been to tired on wednesday to say she bored like i was. I didn't really say much to her until that saturday. She sayin that she did the clubbin back in the day and so forth.

I don't know bout anybody else but when u on vacation and u with people you have to go with the flow. I mean my aunt and cousin paid for a lot for them to do while they were there and try to accomodate them(mainly my friend her mother was cool) and for her say something like I'm bored.

I told my cousin never again and I even ask people when I came back Bajans, Americans, people from other islands what they thought and they said she was plain ungratefull.

If your friend not a party person she shoulda stayed her ass home and visited BIM during the off season. As for the bolded, do like me and ignore the calls and emails until its too late for them to make arrangedments.
Old 09-12-2008, 02:31 PM   #34 (permalink)

Credits: 38
I'm sure that's not the case for all non west indians...like I said I'm just traumatized cause the chick that put me thru so much stress..I woulda bet money that she'd be a great running partner for carnival, that she could hold her own and would have a time.

Whole story too long to type but suffice to say I couldn't have given this girl a better idea of what to expect..that was the first year of saucy blog too and I sent her there to read all them commandments and thing that saucy does post, sent her my spreadsheet (yes I does do a carnival spreadsheet) w/ every event I had lined up and said over and over again "you don't have to do everything that I do". Well chick end up crying outside long circular mall talking bout "I didn't know I'd feel like this, I don't like the way I feel, I wish I could get a flight home right now" and talking bout heat making her dizzy even tho she the one leave the air conditioned mall to stand up outside and cry...all because she went 2 fete back to back then couldn't go to sleep cause we had to go to the mall to find shirts to wear monday...and that was only the beginning, it went downhill from there.
You are so wright, it nice to invite them but it nicer to leave them. I have a friend who tell me she want to go next year, so I gave her the run down about the partying from the time I reach to ash wednesday she already talking about she don't know if she could make ,but keep asking me when we registering for mas, I said register, I registering I don't know about you because this is my vacation and I am not making you ruin it, I told her she can't hang. Now my hubby is american and last year he handled it better that some trinis to the point where even tell me that the following year he leaving me home.
Old 09-12-2008, 02:33 PM   #35 (permalink)

Originally Posted by kitkat75 View Post

sometimes to keep your frienship is best you leave them home and show them pictures. That's why when I go to trini for carnival I go with my friends from the US, because they know how to enjoy themselves.

Last edited by SUNNSHINE; 09-12-2008 at 02:36 PM..
Old 09-12-2008, 02:41 PM   #36 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Deidre Woodrow View Post
I would also add to always add it costs money to have fun at carnival time, your friends are not banks or ATM machines! HAVE YOUR OWN, even if it is vex money
Yes friends need to have they own, not wait until they get in front of the damn party to say they don't have any money, I was so damn vex me and my sister thought them a lesson and left them outside because they were trinis living in trini and they knew we going out, we bring them outfits and we payed for other parties for them, but they thought they were smart.
Old 09-12-2008, 03:15 PM   #37 (permalink)

Credits: 315
As for the people that want to go next year the girls are americans and like my nieces they call me auntie I use to babysit them (I'm not old 30s) but I went to parkway with them this year so they know and they into clubbin and fashion and things like that so I'm thinkin that if they do go I will let them say at a hotel that is on a party strip so they could enjoy the pool and party if they want to and stuff but these girls have interacted with W.I. like boyfriends and some of they friend are W.I .

So they might be able to handle it better than the actual islander I took this year
Old 09-12-2008, 04:46 PM   #38 (permalink)
Reborn!!

Credits: 1,756
Well she came in same day as UWI and sat that one out which I could understand cause she had all kinda drama w/ her flight and not luggage etc so we left her at the hotel and she got some sleep. Next night we went Girl Power which she enjoyed at first then she was complaining bout the crowd, mad ppl throwing water and ready to go home, Insomnia was drama but she had no choice but to wait cause I couldn't ask our driver to make 2 trips and I can't remember the other fete she went. Monday she ready to leave the road at 4, made her wait till 6..Tues I called the driver to meet her about 3 and showed her where to walk to meet him. Ash Wed she was a #################### the whole ride over to Tobago but once we got to Bago she was good and talking bout she "can't wait till next year". She didn't go the following year and I didn't even go this year but all now she calling me bout '09 and I acting like I not getting her messages

If your friend not a party person she shoulda stayed her ass home and visited BIM during the off season. As for the bolded, do like me and ignore the calls and emails until its too late for them to make arrangedments.

Damn!!..... I wish I had some one to roll with like you when i first Hit TNT carnival time last time instead of some of my trickadadian family members.

Originally Posted by SUNNSHINE View Post
Yes friends need to have they own, not wait until they get in front of the damn party to say they don't have any money, I was so damn vex me and my sister thought them a lesson and left them outside because they were trinis living in trini and they knew we going out, we bring them outfits and we payed for other parties for them, but they thought they were smart.

They always think they smart.......they always think they can fool you....especially if you are American.