Old 01-30-2007, 04:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monday, August 6th, 2007

Credits: 29
Carnival is PRICELESS

Ok.

So, I'm having my own discussion with the BF on IM and I brought up the fact I'm considering buying a ticket for Carnival with a portion of my tax return.

Tickets are close to $1000 and I can only stay Friday - Tuesday. He thinks I'm insane, but I say, Carnival is PRICELESS.

He just doesn't understand, I could stay home and do what?? with that same $1000 - that will give me the same joy and fulfillment like LIFE is GOOD! That's the feeling I get when I'm in the Caribbean. He's thinking too logical about the situation and Carnival is a spiritual thing for me...my whole being feels renewed, I'm telling you. And so what I have my tickets for Crop Over - that's way back in July/August and my spirit needs revitalizing NOW.

You would think this man ain't Trini/West Indian. *smh*

I'll pray on it.
Old 01-30-2007, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Look into my eyes - Give me your credits

Credits: 21,339
Originally Posted by ElleElle View Post
Ok.

So, I'm having my own discussion with the BF on IM and I brought up the fact I'm considering buying a ticket for Carnival with a portion of my tax return.

Tickets are close to $1000 and I can only stay Friday - Tuesday. He thinks I'm insane, but I say, Carnival is PRICELESS.

He just doesn't understand, I could stay home and do what?? with that same $1000 - that will give me the same joy and fulfillment like LIFE is GOOD! That's the feeling I get when I'm in the Caribbean. He's thinking too logical about the situation and Carnival is a spiritual thing for me...my whole being feels renewed, I'm telling you. And so what I have my tickets for Crop Over - that's way back in July/August and my spirit needs revitalizing NOW.

I'll pray on it.
is his birthday coming up?????

He prob gettin cold sweat visualizing his gift money wining on a man in POS

Hurt people hurt people... Try to break the cycle.
Look within yourself, value yourself and treat others with dignity.

Daily Affirmation: I AM WHOLE, PERFECT, STRONG, POWERFUL, LOVING, HARMONIOUS AND HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 01-30-2007, 04:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 5,409
Save yuh money...
True...carnival priceless...but do it right..make it a full week. Just go nex year...

and live vicariously through the rest of us this year...
Old 01-30-2007, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 46
Ok.

I'll pray on it.
some ppl just don't understand , u just have 2 leave them so and do what u have to do .
Old 01-30-2007, 04:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Im a SEXY B!TCH HATER

Credits: 122
i think you should stay home and go when you can stretch your vacation
leaving on Tues just kills the entire experience IMO
Old 01-30-2007, 04:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monday, August 6th, 2007

Yuh know?!!

But his birthday is in May - I don't think it's that. I don't know what it is....other than he's not real big on anything Caribbean, he don't understand fetes, de road, mas, nothing. He like Bajan music though, so dahs how he safe. LOL.

It's just so different when you have people you love supporting you. Even if it's the dumbest thing, but not in anyway harmful. It may be "wasteful" in his eyes, but it won't hurt in any way.

Last year, he bought my ticket...I guess I gettin ole. HA!!
Old 01-30-2007, 04:50 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,256
If its gonna cause arguments and problems in your relationship don't bother and do like Swerv said, plan and go next year..we'll bring back lots of pics
Old 01-30-2007, 05:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monday, August 6th, 2007

Originally Posted by PtHova View Post
i think you should stay home and go when you can stretch your vacation
leaving on Tues just kills the entire experience IMO
I think this...is what got me even listening to him. I just don't know. I just have this feeling that I'm going to kick myself when the time come and gone and I have that money sitting in the bank colleckin dust (and minute interest).

It's not enough to buy a house or get married, which are our next big goals...so I don't see the point in not going.

What 2 do, what 2 do?

Oh, and as long as I'm working where I am - there is no stretch vacation during the academic year - we can only take vacations over the summer. So, I'm trying to take advantage of that holiday, president's day on Monday.
Old 01-30-2007, 05:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 5,409
I think this...is what got me even listening to him. I just don't know. I just have this feeling that I'm going to kick myself when the time come and gone and I have that money sitting in the bank colleckin dust (and minute interest).

It's not enough to buy a house or get married, which are our next big goals...so I don't see the point in not going.

What 2 do, what 2 do?

Oh, and as long as I'm working where I am - there is no stretch vacation during the academic year - we can only take vacations over the summer. So, I'm trying to take advantage of that holiday, president's day on Monday.
Get Your priorities together babes...
You have to save up for those... that $1000+ is a good start.
Old 01-30-2007, 05:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monday, August 6th, 2007

This might help:

Can someone express their differences in the experience of Carnival having played mas vs. not playing mas.

Of course, if I'm leaving Tues. - there's no way I'm playing and last time I played, so will it be the same? I'm thinking I may be disappointed, but Monday, was in no way a disappointment by itself - so. But, from experience - how's playing vs. not playing.
Old 01-30-2007, 05:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monday, August 6th, 2007

Originally Posted by Swervin View Post
Get Your priorities together babes...
You have to save up for those... that $1000+ is a good start.
Yeah, but I'm not taking from our savings...I'm just not adding THAT to it.

Huh........men. Someone get me from leaning on staying home, PUHLEESE!!
Old 01-30-2007, 05:16 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 3,282
Carnival IS indeed priceless. But this priceless thing happens every year. You'll get another chance to do it again next year.
Everyone in this thread gave you pretty good advise. I do understand what carnival means to you though. For me those few hours on the road, especially j'ouvert, is probably the most liberating thing that i'm ever going to experience on this planet. But its not just those days on the road..its the whole atmosphere that leads up to the big days. Its something that you just can't describe.. you either feel it or you don't.
Its tough I know but sometimes you have to look toward the next carnival and bite the bullit on this one.

Last edited by dedetriniking; 01-30-2007 at 05:19 PM..
Old 01-30-2007, 05:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monday, August 6th, 2007

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
Carnival IS indeed priceless. But this priceless thing happens every year. You'll get another chance to do it again next year.
Everyone in this thread gave you pretty good advise. I do understand what carnival means to you though. For me those few hours on the road, especially j'ouvert, is probably the most liberating thing that i'm ever going to experience on this planet. But its not just those days on the road..its the whole atmosphere that leads up to the big days. Its something that you just can't describe.. you either feel it or you don't.
Its tough I know but sometimes you have to look toward the next carnival and bite the bullit on this one.
I wish you weren't so right.

Verdict is in....I'm staying home.

For now, until February 19th - anything could happen, say what say what say what, anything could happen.
Old 01-31-2007, 12:07 AM   #14 (permalink)
SoCa ADdIcT-nEeD aH fIx

Credits: 166
Originally Posted by Swervin View Post
Save yuh money...
True...carnival priceless...but do it right..make it a full week. Just go nex year...

and live vicariously through the rest of us this year...
Old 01-31-2007, 01:59 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 3,316
Can someone express their differences in the experience of Carnival having played mas vs. not playing mas.

Of course, if I'm leaving Tues. - there's no way I'm playing and last time I played, so will it be the same? I'm thinking I may be disappointed, but Monday, was in no way a disappointment by itself - so. But, from experience - how's playing vs. not playing.
Well if you could play mas teusday i would say go...since you cant get deathly ill teusday and call in sick you may as well stay home...Next year is not promised... we really should live every day to the fullest... but since you have to leave teusday save your money...i feel sad for you.....hang tuff....
I Know That Aint Fare But I Don't Phucking Care...