Old 12-01-2006, 04:36 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,113
carnival Gurus Pt. II

where did we get the "standard" and why is it called so

and yes Fadda Neo... BD ... and Brian im interested in your knowledge if yous have de ansa
Old 12-01-2006, 04:46 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 697
I ent no guru, but this is easy...

The "Standard" is a military import that signified your allegiance. So different armies, and different battallions within armies etc. each had their own standard, or flag with a special color, symbol etc. One person had the honor of carrying that flag...the Standard Bearer...who was usually unarmed (I believe...hard to carry ah big ass flag and shoot yuh musket at de same time) since his was a role meant more to boost morale among the troops than anything else. For the enemy, taking out the standard bearer of your opponent was a psychological advantage used to undermine morale.

Among naval fleets there was a similar concept...one ship had the honor of carrying the flags of the fleet...the Flagship. Hence today the terms Flagship and Standard Bearer are used synonymously for excellence, honor, quality etc. The representation of an ideal/product, they are associated with the 'best'.

For carnival purposes...the standard is a simple compliment to the costume, another opportunity for the designer to show his/her artistic flair...as well as to reinforce the whole notion of an entire troop or band of individuals united by a common concept/color.

Last edited by Bake n Shark; 12-01-2006 at 04:55 PM..
Old 12-01-2006, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)

very nicely done
Old 12-01-2006, 04:55 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by DeSocaPrincess View Post
very nicely done

Old 12-01-2006, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post

oh jus tek de blasted compliment. sheesh!
Old 12-01-2006, 05:22 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by DeSocaPrincess View Post
oh jus tek de blasted compliment. sheesh!

Old 12-01-2006, 09:15 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,711
well i'm no xpert but,

The "Standard" is a military import that signified your allegiance. So different armies, and different battallions within armies etc. each had their own standard, or flag with a special color, symbol etc. One person had the honor of carrying that flag...the Standard Bearer...who was usually unarmed (I believe...hard to carry ah big ass flag and shoot yuh musket at de same time) since his was a role meant more to boost morale among the troops than anything else. For the enemy, taking out the standard bearer of your opponent was a psychological advantage used to undermine morale.

Among naval fleets there was a similar concept...one ship had the honor of carrying the flags of the fleet...the Flagship. Hence today the terms Flagship and Standard Bearer are used synonymously for excellence, honor, quality etc. The representation of an ideal/product, they are associated with the 'best'.

For carnival purposes...the standard is a simple compliment to the costume, another opportunity for the designer to show his/her artistic flair...as well as to reinforce the whole notion of an entire troop or band of individuals united by a common concept/color.

salty
Old 12-01-2006, 10:29 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 56,867
Originally Posted by lordsalt View Post
well i'm no xpert but,

salty
steupse!

*pelts bottle at Salt for making me go back and reread Bakes post cause I thought I was imagining things
They love it; they living in a fool's paradise."
-Brother Valentino
Old 12-02-2006, 06:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
30 Never looked this good

Credits: 17,433
Originally Posted by lordsalt View Post
well i'm no xpert but,

salty
Dead!
Old 12-03-2006, 04:08 AM   #10 (permalink)

BD yuh jus realise Salty dose play deh arse

and @ Salty yuh know yuhs meh #1