Which Carnival is the best ?
Not an easy answer. But for the world wide lover of soca and the well traveled person who have attended numerous carnivals around the world, I pose these questions : Given that all carnivals are more or less good, what attributes would you say represent the best in each of these categories : Please, if you only attend your carnival annually, then you are not in a position to answer . Best attended : I would pick Rio first by the numerous countries that are represented there, then T&T second. Best pageantry ,colors, music, :Tie : Rio, the array of colors, music is unbelievable, same for T&T, second Barbados. Best parade route/fun on the road : Jamaica first, never stuck in people traffic, you really get to play mas all the way, scenic, going from suburbs to town . Tie between Barbados and Grenada for second . Best Fetes : T&T first, then Barbados second Best show of Unity/Flags : NYC Labor Day Parade first, nothing like standing on Bedford Ave and Eastern Pkwy and see the Haitians posse coming 10,000 strong waving their flags like they or off to war ! Miami carnival second. Best Support of Carnival by Gov’t : All Islands, worst Toronto, NYC, Miami. Best All Around….too too loaded… In agreement with any of these or how do you see it ? Last edited by Threeflags; 04-15-2005 at 08:07 PM.. |
Credits: 3,827
Credits: 312
yuh know.... fair assesment doh.. but watch de people who ain't been no whey outside dem own island come test hand me some of dat popcorn |
Credits: 1,689
of the ones Ive been to I say TNt
I havent been to antiga and Rio I wont go to rio so I cant say Antiga is on my whish list But For me TNT |
Ms.Allison
Credits: 32
yuh know everyone gine choose dey own island
Well, some people will continue lying to themselves, but I am looking for true soca lovers who can agree or disagree on the pros or cons. Is it asking too much to tell the truth on what you saw or felt? |
Credits: 392
There is no right answer to this question. You have these categories: Best Attended Best pageantry ,colors, music Best parade route/fun on the road Best Fetes Best show of Unity/Flags Best Support of Carnival by Gov’t : Best All Around But what about the people? They're the ones who make up Carnival. But what about the music? In an earlier post, Brazil was compared to Trinidad, Like someone said I wouldn't trade Soca for Samba for anything; my preference. I think you're looking for true carnival lovers, not true soca lovers..there are tons of people who go for the lime itself, its a spectacle, some don't really care who this monarch or that monarch or what costumes this camp designing. Pros or Cons? You seem to have highlighted differences and observations in your opinion. |
Duh...... no kidding, I put up the post so of course its my opinion, the point is if you have nothing to offer its cool.. If you read it over it stated : soca lovers and the well traveled person who have attended numerous carnivals By the way, what was the point of your post ? Last edited by Threeflags; 04-16-2005 at 12:04 PM.. |
I will just assume that you have never left the Island of T&T. |
when you asssume thing ya have the tendency of making yourself look like an @ss he answer is tnt like i said talk done |
Credits: 10,459
Credits: 362
Hmmm...
I have to weigh this in my mind and get back to this post... Outside of the US...I've been to: Trinidad Grenada Barbados St Lucia Canada When I have a minute I will detail what I enjoy most about each... |
Credits: 362
Because I wont debate some of your other choices but putting Vincy Mas second to Rio is laughable... |
Credits: 392
Did you read the first line in my reply? There is no right answer to the question. Well, some people will continue lying to themselves, but I am looking for true soca lovers who can agree or disagree on the pros or cons. Is it asking too much to tell the truth on what you saw or felt Where do you get this notion that people will continue to lie to themselves? Who are you to bash these people and their opinions when you are asking them to give their opinions. Anyone can disagree with your "pros or cons" dumb.ass |