Old 06-02-2006, 08:27 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,041
Carnival Art

LAST NIGHT I WENT TO THE LONDON OFFICE OF THE ARTS COUNCIL TO SEE THE UNVEILING OF A PIECE THAT THE COUNCIL COMMISSIONED MY FRIEND CARL GABRIEL TO DO.

THE NAME OF THE PIECE IS "OLE MAS"
CARL'S CARNIVAL ART HAS BEEN FEATURED IN MUSEUMS AND ART GALLERYS ALL OVER LONDON.

WHEN I TALK ABOUT OUR CULTURE, OUR MAS, BEING SO MUCH MORE THAN BEADS, PLUMES AND A GOOD TIME .
THIS IS WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT. WHEN YOU PRESENT OUR CULTURE TO THE WORLD IT SHOULD BE SEEN AS MORE THAN "JUST A MAS" IT SHOULD BE SEEN AS "HIGH MAS", "HIGH ART" THAT COULD BE PUT NEXT TO A DI VINCI OR A PICASSO, AND RECOGNISED AS SUCH BY OTHER CULTURES,AND OTHER PEOPLE.THE WORLD OVER.

CARL DOES CLASSES AND WORKSHOPS ALL OVER LONDON TEACHING CHILDREN THE ART OF WIRE BENDING, INJECTING OUR CULTURE INTO THE MINDS OF CHILDREN ....CONTRIBUTING TO THE SOCIETY...DEVELOPING YOUNG TALENT.

IMPORTING A 2 PIECE DOES NOTHING.

THIS YEAR IN NOTTING HILL NUFF BANDS ARE UNDER TREAT OF GOING UNDER BECAUSE THE ARTS COUNCIL HAVE SET CRITERIA THAT THEY CANT MEET.
THE MONEY IS THERE BUT THEY ARE CREATIVLY TO SHORT TO REACH IT......allyuh ever ask yuh self why?

CARL ON THE OTHER HAND IS BEING COMMISSIONED BY THE ARTS COUNCIL OR HIS WORK HIS ART FORM.
AND HE WAS NOT ALWAYS A MAS MAN EITHER.

Old 06-02-2006, 08:34 AM   #2 (permalink)

Old 06-02-2006, 08:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Sweeter Sauce

Credits: 916
Wow ... I really do love the pieces!
Old 06-02-2006, 09:56 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 41,537
Send him over to the States please.

Great pieces! I love it.

Old 06-02-2006, 10:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Credits: 567
very nice
Old 06-02-2006, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 33
Neo,

What do you think of the other Trinidad artists who use carnival themes in their artwork.
Old 06-02-2006, 04:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
the lost one

Credits: 1,978

real real nice
Old 06-03-2006, 08:18 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socatrini2002
Neo,

What do you think of the other Trinidad artists who use carnival themes in their artwork.

ITS ALL GOOD FOR TRINIDAD ARTISTS TO USE CARNIVAL THEMES IN THEIR ART WORK, I THINK ARTISTST ARE INFLUENCED A GREAT DEAL BY THEIR ENVIRONMENT AND CULTURE AND CARNIVAL IS PART OF THAT FOR US.
BUT CARL'S WORK USES CARNIVAL ARTS ie WIRE BENDING AND WHILE THIS PIECE HAS A CARNIVAL THEME HE ALSO DOES OTHER THEMES IN HS WORK.