Old 02-09-2005, 06:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
saucywow

Carnival Aftermath

Well I am up and alive from my two days of madness with Poison.

Let me tell you, that band was MASSIVE and the last section was Graces, I sorry for them.

I walked the whole band on Monday, from back to front looking for my section (which was #5).

They did the two band thing, but what they did was put a banner in the middle of the band, Kwan Yin was leading that half.

The lead sections were :

Sonia Mack

Chantico frontline and backline

Aphrodite

Tongolele

Aiisha (my section)

Venus

Scherazade

Aurora

I cyar remember past that.

I think they had 52 sections by average 300 people, you do the math!

The biggest surprise was that route change on Tuesday. They went straight for the savannah. We met them at the hospital around 10 o clock and did not cross stage till 3:00. After that is was down woodbrook, jump with them until they turn by Roxy and we left, by that time it was about 6:00. On Monday we did the normal route, went to all the judging points and downtown. Had a blast, crossed stage at about 6:00, I have to say Monday is the BEST day to play mas yes! And alot of people wore their costume, it was nice to see.

Arissa Hill was in my section and that girl real enjoy herself, say she was playing Tuesday too, but I did not see her. LOL like she was too tired. I must give props to Natania Mack, her first year bringing a section and it was great.

The costumes looked fab, we had excellent music on both days, good food, including sno cone and boil corn on Tuesday, and plenty premium drinks Alize, Hypnotic and Johnny Walker was flowing like water and no controls on how much drinks yuh could take, like I heard happened in Tribe (I hear they threaten to ban people for giving drinks to non masqueraders). The best part was our cool zone, people from all other sections storm our truck for dat yes..LOL..

Anyways I didn't see Tribe, saw some stragglers on both days and I must say the costumes did not look all that great, except for the blue one that was last year's costume.

Oh yeah, and I find that when they put pics on the website of sections, they should take pics of costumes in daylight, because some of those costumes looked better on the road and some looked crappy but I am not saying which ones
Old 02-09-2005, 10:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Kaiser Ball Gyul

Credits: 415
i agree

Oh yeah, and I find that when they put pics on the website of sections, they should take pics of costumes in daylight, because some of those costumes looked better on the road and some looked crappy but I am not saying which ones

from the pics...that iv'e seen. machupichu...looked the best.
the green thong one...
Old 02-09-2005, 10:12 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 41,532
That daylight makes a huge difference. I remember I went CRAZY over Jungle Fever...until I saw the daylight pics.

Old 02-09-2005, 10:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
saucywow

Machu pichu looked good, but there were some girls in the car park when we arrived on Tuesday playing in that section and they were complaining about the headpiece. I also liked Cheyenne and Achean Oddessy how they looked in real.

Poison had some real surprises too, Aurora looked real nice but I didn't like it on the website at all, Damita Jo and Chantico looked nice too. Scherazade (sp) did not look nice and two girls I met said the headpiece was giving them pressure in the wind, Tongolele as well dissapointed me .

Islandevents takes the WOW award, the costumes were hot, they looked amazing, even though I saw some costumes looking a bit different from on the website.
Old 02-09-2005, 10:25 AM   #5 (permalink)

Yeah Moulin Rouge really stood out to me when I saw the costumes on the road. I was like wow it really does look good.

Oh yeah Tribe won in downtown port-of-spain so far. Waiting for more results.
Old 02-09-2005, 10:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Kaiser Ball Gyul

Credits: 415
really

Scherazade (sp) did not look nice and two girls I met said the headpiece was giving them pressure in the wind, Tongolele as well dissapointed me .

i fine dey looking good...especially in this pic.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/1xtra/events/tr...y/2.shtml#jump
Old 02-09-2005, 11:05 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 6,724
Well now for my account. I played in Islandevents and had a BALL. I loved both my Monday and Tuesday costumes. Last year I had some problems with the size of the section but I have no complaints this year about the band.

To reiterate why I have always loved IE, their service cannot be beaten. From the security to the ppl on the PeePee truck everyone was friendly and mannerly. Douglas Gordon walking through the band asking ppl that he saw standing if everything was ok is what I call service. Michelle Khan handling your costume personally when she realised that you were waiting in the mas camp too long is what I call service. As you can tell by now I am very anal when it comes to good service.

Lots of ppl didn't like the costumes on the website but they were hot. IE will definitely be seeing me again next year.

Saw Poison, liked Titania the most. Was disappointed with Tongolele which was the section I wanted to play in. I am sure everyone in every section in every band enjoyed themselves so big up to Trini Carnival. Will always be the best in the world
Old 02-09-2005, 11:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
saucywow

it look good there, but it looks different in person
Old 02-09-2005, 11:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
saucywow

Well my friend who played with Tribe now telling me they cross the stage at 9:00 PM The last section crossed at 10:00!!!! Poison cut in front of Tribe and had them at a stop then they rerouted to St. Clair and crossed the stage in the night. Well yes!
Old 02-09-2005, 11:31 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 41,532
Originally Posted by saucywow
Well my friend who played with Tribe now telling me they cross the stage at 9:00 PM The last section crossed at 10:00!!!! Poison cut in front of Tribe and had them at a stop then they rerouted to St. Clair and crossed the stage in the night. Well yes!

Old 02-09-2005, 02:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Im a SEXY B!TCH HATER

Credits: 1,155
is Arissa Hill the black girl from Real World Las Vegas?
Old 02-09-2005, 02:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
saucywow

yup, that is Arissa Hill.
Old 02-09-2005, 02:25 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by PtHova
is Arissa Hill the black girl from Real World Las Vegas?
Yeah that's her.

boar
Old 02-09-2005, 05:28 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 2,713
that is purpose work.....
Old 02-10-2005, 01:46 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 1,054
Anyways I didn't see Tribe, saw some stragglers on both days and I must say the costumes did not look all that great, except for the blue one that was last year's costume.
tribe looked absolutely fantastic crossing the stage on tuesday. the colours were absolutely beautiful and masqueraders had so much energy. i was impressed.

peace,

ajax