Old 08-01-2004, 06:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Former IMIX POSTER Child

Credits: 231
Caribana Was Great!

It was raining hard at 6am, but by the time I woke up around 9ish, it had stopped...matter of fact, I got a tan playing mas! We had a time! Destra played with us and she said it was the best time she ever had on the road! She had a ball! Her younger sis played with us as well, winah gyul jr I had no voice by the end of the day, and when I got home, all I had time to do was take a shower and get ready for Hatters, yuh talk bout pace!? In a couple hours it's Markham Fairgrounds and Sandys...
Old 08-01-2004, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mrs. Cimo 2

Credits: 146
Giiiirl! you ain' lying atallll!!! This has been the best Caribana I have ever experienced, I really can't believe I had SO MUCH FUN without playing mas...I been going hard since Friday and I tell you I had a blast wukkin up on the truck, the road only saw me when I hopped from truck to truck! I tell you when I got home my back was out of commision and I had to pause in the middle of each flight of stairs my legs were so tired, but I too jus had time to shower and leave for the next fete..I went to Shangri-La and lets just say SIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIICK!!! That is the most powder I have ever been victim to, jumping up with the brooklyn powder posse is a serious ting!! I inhaled so much powder I felt like a blasted crack addict!
I jus got the energy to shower and get ready for Markham fairgrounds, see you there!
Old 08-02-2004, 12:15 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 479
Allyuh juss hush!! WIT ME HERE IN NYC, LISTENIN TO BIM, AND GRENADA SOON COME... I Don't know if I comin or goin!! AND YOU SAY IT'S REAL' PACE MONTY!!
Old 08-02-2004, 12:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
OnE eYe MoNsTeR InC.

Credits: 43
Oh Ca-na-da!!!!!

AH can lie caribana was nice. It's a shame I have to travel all the way back to NY to go to work cause my body need rest. Big up's to Jamal Magloire of the NBA's New Orleans Hornets who had a wicked float. (Toronto by birth trini by blood) We chip all the way down lakeshore with D'Regulars big shout to them too. Big up to Maximus Dan who did his thing on de truck. Flexed at shangri-LI Seem like NYC was in that place I really felt at home away from home. The islands today was ok. Like to tell all yuh more but no time to waste have to figure out which last lap I will attend tonight b4 the long trip back to NY!!
Old 08-02-2004, 06:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Quiet one

Credits: 126
I agree with you Bea this was the best caribana, You should have been on the ground with us you would've had more fun. I don't even know what to say i had mad fun on the road.

Markham fair grounds was MADNESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. Oh Ghosh i had so much fun, POWDA, WATA HOSE, RICE lol it was damn good. I really enjoyed myself.

MTL Lady you looked really nice last night
Old 08-02-2004, 08:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mrs. Cimo 2

Credits: 146
Oh lawd after last night's las lap I cyaaaaaaaaah wait for Caribana next year, I really enjoyed myself this rounds I mean I really really really enjoyed myself and I'm especially happy b/c I got the asylum, traffik AND maximus on video!!! I can't wait to sit down and watch them performances...I am in my glee:)

Next up New York, Miami and TRINIDAAAAAD!!!

safe trip to all the New Yorkers and the Montrealites drive/fly/swim/ride/ safely everyone!
Old 08-03-2004, 01:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
~*D1 & ONLY*~

Credits: 23
ah had a real good time !

[B]dis was my first time to caribana, and boy did i have a good time .....the parade was nice .....d fetesan them too ...esp. mad hatters . i was gone ....forget about it .....definitely will make it next year again afta trini carnival. and now .. ah start planning for miami ....... and ah got labour day down packed :p [/b]
Old 08-03-2004, 01:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
~Q~
Enjoyin de lime

Credits: 39
Well, I had a ball. The sun came out right before we crossed the stage on Saturday and we played our mas.
Las Lap @ MFG was so much fun!
I ended up at the Imij & Co. show last night and they have really improved in the past couple of years. They put on a great show.
Old 08-03-2004, 11:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Original Diva

Credits: 234
Caribana was extremly wonderful i had a great time and this was my first.I can't wait for next year.Glow was awesome Destra did a good job and Imij was amazing the lakeshore was off the hook.Shangri la was onnnnnnnn and las lap was the same sorry to say but i think caribana better than labour day :p
Old 08-04-2004, 08:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
suz

Caribana was great with the exception of the Wet Fete - That promoter needs to be shut down. Advertised the show as starting at 1pm - we arrived at 5:30 pm, and not one artist had performed yet. He had Bunji, Traffik, Denise, Invasion,..... all standing around for at least 3 hours and seemed to be haggling money with them b/c he didn't have the crowd he expected. Bunji finally left - When we left at 10pm, not one artist had performed.

It is promoters like this that end up giving the musicians a bad name, because people don't realize that the artists aren't being paid.

If you put on a show, you have to be prepared to make money or lose money - not fair to the fans or the artists that they are the ones to take the hit.
Old 08-04-2004, 06:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Former IMIX POSTER Child

Originally Posted by likleancute
I agree with you Bea this was the best caribana, You should have been on the ground with us you would've had more fun. I don't even know what to say i had mad fun on the road.

Markham fair grounds was MADNESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. Oh Ghosh i had so much fun, POWDA, WATA HOSE, RICE lol it was damn good. I really enjoyed myself.

MTL Lady you looked really nice last night
You saw me?! Where de hell yuh was?!
Old 08-04-2004, 06:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Former IMIX POSTER Child

Originally Posted by ~Q~
Well, I had a ball. The sun came out right before we crossed the stage on Saturday and we played our mas.
Las Lap @ MFG was so much fun!
I ended up at the Imij & Co. show last night and they have really improved in the past couple of years. They put on a great show.
Hear nah, after Xtatik, Imij is IT in my opinion.
Old 08-04-2004, 06:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Former IMIX POSTER Child

Originally Posted by suz
Caribana was great with the exception of the Wet Fete - That promoter needs to be shut down. Advertised the show as starting at 1pm - we arrived at 5:30 pm, and not one artist had performed yet. He had Bunji, Traffik, Denise, Invasion,..... all standing around for at least 3 hours and seemed to be haggling money with them b/c he didn't have the crowd he expected. Bunji finally left - When we left at 10pm, not one artist had performed.

It is promoters like this that end up giving the musicians a bad name, because people don't realize that the artists aren't being paid.

If you put on a show, you have to be prepared to make money or lose money - not fair to the fans or the artists that they are the ones to take the hit.
Was that at Lamport? Bunji and Asylum mashed up Markham Fairgrounds Sunday night, that band improved a lot.
Old 08-04-2004, 06:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Former IMIX POSTER Child

Originally Posted by EmpressSocadahlin
Allyuh juss hush!! WIT ME HERE IN NYC, LISTENIN TO BIM, AND GRENADA SOON COME... I Don't know if I comin or goin!! AND YOU SAY IT'S REAL' PACE MONTY!!
Why de azz I thought you was in BIM geyyin on??! Yuh talk bout pace, I wanted to sleep at Hatters on Saturday! LOL!
Old 08-04-2004, 06:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Quiet one

Credits: 126
Originally Posted by montREALady
You saw me?! Where de hell yuh was?!

LOL i was standing by the door roght by the stage left. ah tink yuh had some liqs or corn soup in yuh hand. I was making fun of the Indian couple dat was wining on each other outside and u laughed lol. Don't know if u remember that.