Old 04-19-2005, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)

Question calling all Bajans

if u had an option to stay at the following hotels (in Christ Church) for cropover which would u choose?
Southern Palms Beach Club
South Beach Resort & Vacation Club or
Amaryllis Beach Resort

Old 04-19-2005, 04:07 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 100
Originally Posted by amprincess
if u had an option to stay at the following hotels (in Christ Church) for cropover which would u choose?
Amaryllis Beach Resort

I PERSONALLY would try to find somewhere to stay in St Michael.. christ church is not close to any of the major events for crop over time...
Old 04-19-2005, 04:08 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by babsilous
I PERSONALLY would try to find somewhere to stay in St Michael.. christ church is not close to any of the major events for crop over time...
and plenty people told us to stay in Christ Church for cropover now I'm confused
Old 04-19-2005, 04:13 PM   #4 (permalink)

and plenty people told us to stay in Christ Church for cropover now I'm confused
Well Christ Church has the tourist spots like afterdark, ship inn, etc..
But crop over events are all in St Michael... either on Spring Garden, the stadium or the gymnasium. If you are gonna have a reliable ride then Ch Ch is aiight... if not, you will have to take a cab home every night
Old 04-19-2005, 04:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
De Hungry Man

Credits: 1,166
St Michael does not have that many hotels. Most of the hotels in Bim are in Christ Church or St. James. Let's face it Barbados is not so big and the ZR vans run up and down the coast from either location. If you stay in St. James there is bus service and vans running up and donw Highway 1. If you stay along the south coast in Ch.Ch. there is ZR11(van service) as well as buses.
I usually stay with family but once stayed at Southern Palms. This is a nice hotel near St. Lawrence Gap and Dover Beach. Also check into guest houses. One time my Aunt went back home and rented I nice house in Fitts Village St. James for a reasonable price. Barbados has almost as many guest houses as it does hotels.
You can reach the Barbados tourist board:
Barbados Tourism Authority
800 Second Avenue, New York, NY 10017
Phone: 1-888-BARBADOS Fax: 212-573-9850

www.barbados.org

Last edited by NYC2BGI; 04-19-2005 at 04:57 PM..
Old 04-19-2005, 04:56 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by NYC2BGI
St Michael does not have that many hotels. Most of the hotels in Bim are in Christ Church or St. James. Let's face it Barbados is not so big and the ZR vans run up and down the coast from either location. If you stay in St. James there is bus service and vans running up and donw Highway 1. If you stay along the south coast in Ch.Ch. there is ZR11(van service) as well as buses.
I usually stay with family but once stayed at Southern Palms. This is a nice hotel near St. Lawrence Gap and Dover Beach. Also check into guest houses. One time my Aunt went back home and rented I nice house in Fitts Village St. James for a reasonable price. Barbados has almost as many guest houses as it does hotels.
thank you but we looking for the package to include airfare also which we found with the hotels.
Old 04-19-2005, 04:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
De Hungry Man

Credits: 1,166
thank you but we looking for the package to include airfare also which we found with the hotels.
I am sorry I edited the above post after you responded. Try the
Barbados Tourism Authority
800 Second Avenue, New York, NY 10017
Phone: 1-888-BARBADOS Fax: 212-573-9850

www.barbados.org
Old 04-19-2005, 05:00 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 30
Amaryllis Beach Resort

well we stayin at the rostrevor apartments in st. lawrence gap and they told me is near pretty much everything but i don't like the conflicting locations allyuh giving, i gettin confused too.
Old 04-19-2005, 05:14 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by gtboywonda
well we stayin at the rostrevor apartments in st. lawrence gap and they told me is near pretty much everything but i don't like the conflicting locations allyuh giving, i gettin confused too.
as NYC said, barbados is small.... me personally, i would choose st. michael, its not like christ church is that far from most of the events, but if ur a female travelling alone or with another female, it may be safer to stay closer to the events.. but NYC is right, at the end of the day, there is always a bus or taxi to bring ya home, its not like its St Lucy (like where i stannin)
Old 04-19-2005, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 30
as NYC said, barbados is small.... me personally, i would choose st. michael, its not like christ church is that far from most of the events, but if ur a female travelling alone or with another female, it may be safer to stay closer to the events.. but NYC is right, at the end of the day, there is always a bus or taxi to bring ya home, its not like its St Lucy (like where i stannin)

ok cool . is meh and meh pahdnas so we good. another question, do u think it is important to get a A/C in your room or is ok wit the ceilin fan? Noe my hotel is on the ocean front.
Old 04-19-2005, 05:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
winin' criminal

Credits: 2,507
I usually stay in a hotel or guesthouse in St Lawrence Gap. I just like being near all the restaurants/bars down there. I usually ride to all the events with my cousin so he's my transportation but the vans and buses are easy to catch from down there.

@gt - I like having a room with A/C because the cold helps keep the mosquitos away. But that ocean breeze real nice so I usually only use it at night.
Old 04-19-2005, 07:35 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 604
I would only recommend room with AC. I think July/Aug is rainy season in Bim and the AC keeps the mugginess away.
Old 04-20-2005, 06:23 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 5,901
Amarylis is a very nice hotel - is that the one that used to be Asta? Or is it the one next door to Kentucky? Either way, i'd stay there...

I can't wait!!!
Old 04-20-2005, 08:47 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 16,219
Well Christ Church has the tourist spots like afterdark, ship inn, etc..
But crop over events are all in St Michael... either on Spring Garden, the stadium or the gymnasium. If you are gonna have a reliable ride then Ch Ch is aiight... if not, you will have to take a cab home every night

Woman, now you know the hotels in St. Michael are not up to parr at all. And you could spit from St. Michael to CC. It ain't that far.
Old 04-20-2005, 08:48 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 16,219
Amaryllis Beach Resort

Any of the above hotels but Amaryllis is nice.