Peeper
Broward Carnival
Article about Broward Carnival in the Miami Herald newspaper.
Broward Caribbean Carnival organizers smooth pitfalls of past - 07/20/2008 - MiamiHerald.com BROWARD CARIBBEAN CARNIVAL Broward Caribbean Carnival organizers smooth pitfalls of past Broward Caribbean Carnival is set for Oct. 12 at the new Central Broward Regional Park in Lauderhill and this year will be a breeze, organizers say. Posted on Sun, Jul. 20, 2008 BY NATALIE P. McNEAL nmcneal@MiamiHerald.com Broward Caribbean Carnival will be back in October, and organizers promise that this year's fete will run flawlessly. Broward's major event celebrating Caribbean culture is Oct. 12 at its new home at the Central Broward Regional Park in Lauderhill. Last year, the day-long festival had trouble securing a venue because of a reputation for overwhelming previous sites, such as Broward's Markham Park, with its popular following. But this year, festival organizers worked out an agreement to use the new county park -- with provisions. ''We are trying to put some controls on it so the event will be managed and successful,'' said Bob Harbin, director of Broward's Park and Recreation division. Harbin said he and the organizers hammered out an agreement that only 20,000 tickets may be sold, and the 20,000 attendees must include the 1,500 participants in the annual parade. None of the $20 tickets will be sold at the door. Off-site parking is being worked out. The event is expected to feature performers such as soca artist Byron Lee, Burning Flames and some 20 masquerade bands. Revelers come from all over the United States and the Caribbean to celebrate the event. It features the food, sound and spirit of the Caribbean. ''This is our version of [the] Super Bowl,'' said Andy Ansola, president of the festival. After nearly two decades of Miami Caribbean carnivals, Broward decided in 2003 to break away and hold its own party, based on the growing number of Caribbean residents north of County Line Road. Those efforts were marred by trash and traffic problems at Sunrise's Markham Park. When officials asked Miramar officials for permission to hold it in Miramar Regional Park, the city said no. Fort Lauderdale finally stepped up and allowed the festival at Fort Lauderdale Stadium, just 16 days before the event. ''This year will be much smoother,'' said Rafiek Mohammed, director of the carnival. For more information, go to Broward Caribbean Carnival 2k8 - South Florida Festival - Fort Lauderdale |
who Jah bless no man cus
"20,000 attendees must include the 1,500 participants in the annual parade."
now thats a joke |
Mas Band Correctionist
"None of the $20 tickets will be sold at the door."
How in d H8LL they go pull that off? im a broward veteran since d split n i doh plan on making the change..but that soundin real stupid. most folks just show up to the park. whenever who gonna by "presale" park tickets? "thats bout dumb!" |
i see this not working out just like it did a few years ago. they tried that in some park out west and while i was lucky enough to get there early and enjoy myself plenty, my sister and couple frends werent so they end up being locked out. but i will admit that was the best year to me. but the amount a ppl that was locked outside coulda hold they own carnival. so if ayo serious about going get the ticket dem early.
Mas Band Correctionist
I hear you, it was like 2-3 years back to back i keep playing myself saying i gone past miami carnival just to check it out, but i always end up leaving and going broward for the real deal. now i just head broward straight
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ
yeah right...we'll see about that.
Peeper
When I first read the article I said to myself I guess that this will send all of us NYers back to Miami Carnival. If there is a pre-sale and no tickets are sold at the gate, we Brooklyn people will probably just go to Miami Carnival and call it a day. Most of us end up staying in Miami Beach anyway so Lauderhill is much farther away.
who Jah bless no man cus
I mean I see what the organizers are trying to do but W.I does do things on "Vibes" whether they vibes feel like going broward or miami will all depend on the day |
#10 (permalink) | ||
Mas Band Correctionist
||
Reppin' TnT
I up in Broward!! |
who Jah bless no man cus
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ
I'm really looking forward to my Miami trip this year, and Broward is my first choice as far as the carnival goes.......so I think I might have to invest in those pre-sale tickets.......So how does it work? Only florida people get access to pre-sale tix? are they selling online? I need some info people!!!
who Jah bless no man cus