Old 02-12-2005, 09:43 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 267
Big Up Macfarlane

I’ll do it again next year
I will do it again, but this time it’s going to be bigger and with plenty colour.” So said designer Brian McFarlane in an interview at his mas camp at Ariapita Avenue, Woodbrook, yesterday, after his presentation The Washing ByFireByWater was declared winner of the NCC’s medium Band of the Year title for Carnival 2005.

He said the victory was an excellent achievement and despite what his band went through on Carnival Tuesday with the congestion problem, he would do it all over again because of his love for true mas.

“It was really a great achievement to win such a title after bringing out a band for the first time,” McFarlane said.

“The feeling is really great after all the hard work that was put into this presentation.

“I feel extremely proud, and despite the congestion, I will do it again.

“It is going to happen again.”

Commenting on his presentation which somewhat resembled that of Peter Minshall’s, McFarlane said in no way was he trying to copy Minshall and his theatre mas and there was no one with whom he could be compared with.

“People will always say that I tried to copy Minshall, but none of my designs were even close to what Peter created,” he said.

“But you cannot compare me to either Poison, Legacy or anyone. I have my own idea. I have presented real mas to the people.

“My theme The Washing Byfire Bywater was a true reflection of the cleansing of a man’s body and soul.

“What I presented was what true mas is supposed to be.

“Who can you compare me with?”
Old 02-12-2005, 01:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Credits: 245

I'm very happy I got the opportunity to actually see this band on the road. His costumes were very beautiful in person and was top quality. However, I also agree that his presentation reminded me of Peter Minshall. That was the very first thing I thought when I saw them on the road and the music they were playing brought back memories of the song River. But he definately deserved first place. I just felt really bad for all the people and kids in his band as well because I was burning up in my bikini. So I know they were also dying in congestion with those costumes all day.
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL
Old 02-14-2005, 12:16 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 94
I played with him, in the Washing of the Earth section.
and although me and the crew were probably some of the youngest people in the band, we had a great time. they played good music for the whole day. and when we did leave the band to walk around, we were getting so much attention because the costume was so nice.

I would do it again.
Old 02-14-2005, 12:42 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 267
Thats Good To Know Did You Get Any Pics??