Credits: 41,520
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
absofrickinlutely fabulous!!!! |
Phuck arf nuh man!!
Credits: 1,661
Big money small bikinis
Mas prices bigger, bikinis smaller By KIM BOODRAM Wednesday, October 12th 2005 You can't play mas and 'fraid your pocket! Every year the price of merry-making rises with the bikini lines-so if the costumes are getting smaller, why are the prices getting bigger? This week Express Business took a look at the Carnival industry and found out that it's not just about plumes and plastic beads anymore. Mas makers insist that the masqueraders have spoken and what the masqueraders want is total convenience on Carnival Monday and Tuesday. They want their alcohol within arm's reach. Their food must be top class, piping hot and on time. An air-tight security perimeter is expected. Bathrooms must be plentiful and clean. Next year some are taking it a step further-there are bands that offer premium fete tickets to their clients in the lead up to the big two days. The Carnival experience has evolved-and whether they like it or not, the fact is that every year thousands are willing to pay. The bands Island People and Tribe, both of which were launched last month, have already plastered "Sold Out" signs on some of their sections. Mike 'Big Mike' Antoine of Legacy told Express Business that mas makers are offering an all-round experience to their clients that goes far beyond a bundle of beads and feathers. The masquerader of 2006 will expect even more than what was offered last year and bands are going all out to oblige. "Price ranges are now based on what is being offered with the costume," Antoine said. "A costume can now come with a premium all-inclusive package of drinks and food. For instance a Legacy costume can cost around $1,200 to $1,395. The all-inclusive package though means the price could go up by a few hundred dollars to around $1,795." This year even the price of oil had its effect on Trini mas. Antoine explained that with the rise in oil prices came a rise in the price per square yard of leatherettes (faux leather), vinyls, glues and related materials. Adhesives used in the making of Carnival costumes have to be up to standard as the mas maker does not want to risk a costume falling apart during the fete. "You don't cut corners in those areas," Antoine said. "But these prices changes do not affect the package price as much as the fact that very year people demand more from the experience in terms of security, food and drink." According to Meg Cheekes of Poison, also conceded that the race is on among mas makers to provide the best experience to revellers and this is where the price changes come in. "Price changes are hardly based on costume, in fact, those changes are minimal. The price rises because every year the whole package becomes more well-rounded," Cheekes said. "With some of the all-inclusive packages, premium bars can include top-of-the-line alcohol and food. I mean, you name it and it's there. So for that reason top dollar might be asked." This year some premium Poison packages include tickets to the most sought after fetes-some of which are between $500 and $600. Cheekes said the band absorbs this to some extent. Individual packages-that is, an individual costume and access to a premium bar, bathroom facilities and a smorgasbord-can be had for $2,500.00. The lowest package begins at $1,895.00. "Raising the bar every year is really what drives the price." |

absofrickinlutely fabulous!!!!