Old 11-24-2002, 01:47 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,240
Exclamation Barbarossa Sections!!!

The sections are now available for viewing on their website: www.barbarossaintl.com

Personally, I think this year I may have to make the switch over to Poison cause Barbarossa is not cutting it! The color schemes are a mess and all the head pieces are ugly! 'Khazan' better come real strong cause that is the section I am really waiting for! But, I will let allyuh judge for your self....

Last edited by Trini Prinzez; 11-24-2002 at 03:06 PM..
Old 11-24-2002, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 361
I have mixed feelings about Barbarossa's costumes, concepts this year. I think it is a great idea, and that many of the costumes seem more like traditional mas. Actually I find some of it looks more like traditional Monday mas than pretty mas...

At the same time I would not personally wear any of those costumes.

Maybe Khazan will be nicer...it usually is. I played with Barbarossa once. It was not a terrible experience (other than the fact that we had to wait behind Poison to cross the stage )
Old 11-24-2002, 08:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
D'Only1

okay, I have seen enough, please no more
Old 11-25-2002, 01:12 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,240
Originally posted by Ilandfntsy
I have mixed feelings about Barbarossa's costumes, concepts this year. I think it is a great idea, and that many of the costumes seem more like traditional mas. Actually I find some of it looks more like traditional Monday mas than pretty mas...

At the same time I would not personally wear any of those costumes.
I was just saying that same thing to my mother. I love that they are going back to traditional mas with the sailor hats and the sailor/fireman pants. But, oh gosh allyuh coulda make the mas prettier than that. I am feeling the idea of the pum pum shorts though ( Personally, I wouldn't wear it) cause some females really need to cover up some things on Carnival Tuesday and leave it to the imagination!!
Old 11-25-2002, 02:13 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 25
That is nice that they trying to get that old time mas feeling but they not looking good doing it. at least 3 of them look the same they could have come better than that. Khazan even if it nice it can't help them this year. this year they makeing it real easy for me to pick who I want to play with. Poison all the way just to decide on a section now.
Old 11-25-2002, 10:09 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 312
I completely disagree.. I like the band.. it finally looks like MAS!!!
Old 11-25-2002, 10:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Former IMIX POSTER Child

Credits: 230
is it me or are these similar?

dan-dan

saga-ting

tailaylay
http://www.barbarossaintl.com/costum.../tailaylay.jpg
Old 11-25-2002, 10:18 AM   #8 (permalink)

In my professional opinion they are similar... :p
Old 11-25-2002, 10:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Former IMIX POSTER Child

my opinion

plenty colors, and it does look like traditional mas. i can see my aunt in the bell bottom ones, she like dem ting. the sections with the bells are good for those who do not like to show their legs. if i absolutely had to pick one i think it would be vie ke vie

although the headpiece is a bit much. i really don't know, i am having mixed feelings about these costumes. i can't take the hat-like headpieces. to be honest, i think i can see a band full of saga-things...other than the bright colors, it looks like something someone would wear to a fete, minus the vest (ie, hip-huggers and a bustier and hat), allyuh doh find?
Old 11-25-2002, 10:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Bes' Wife Status

Credits: 63
Believe it or not I think they could win again...the colors will look good!!!! It's different to the million bra & panty sections that every other band has to offer. I think the pum pum shorts will actually look better than thongs....remember leaving more to the imaganiation is always more desireable. I am waiting for Khazan before making a final decision between Poison & Barbarossa.
Old 11-25-2002, 10:35 AM   #11 (permalink)

I was thinking the same thing Oil.. this is a wining band.
Old 11-25-2002, 10:53 AM   #12 (permalink)
Bes' Wife Status

Credits: 63
Trinibaje....

Glad to see that someone else understands. In the years gone by when Bands like Minshall won over and over, it was not because they followed what everyone else was doing, they choose to go against the grain and "try something diffrent". Winning does matter to the people that spend all their time, up night after night producing these costumes. "We" the general mas playing population may not be truly caught up on winning, but do you think a bandleader is happy the day after Carnival simply to say "Well yes, de band was total maddness, but every body wail & get on bad"....NOT.

If never viewed all the other bands website, and yuh line them all up on Carnival day, you truly can't tell a blasted Poison from a Harts from a Legends (all is beads, feathers, & bath suits)!!!!! So I really am not hating on it cause I would be lying to say I don't play that kind of mas myself, but I really appreciate seeing something diffrent!

P.S.-montREALady...you mentioned that the hipster sections look like something you would wear to a fete....doesn't the bathing suit mas every other band is dropping (minus the beads & feathers looks like something to wear to Maracas on Ash wednesday...LOL
Old 11-25-2002, 06:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
benchwarmer_2

Yes it's different, but I think I want to wear something that complements me, color wise and style wise.
Old 11-25-2002, 06:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Former IMIX POSTER Child

Originally posted by OilInDeCoil
P.S.-montREALady...you mentioned that the hipster sections look like something you would wear to a fete....doesn't the bathing suit mas every other band is dropping (minus the beads & feathers looks like something to wear to Maracas on Ash wednesday...LOL
yes! but just to let you know, i didn't mean the hipster comment in a negative way, i actually meant that many would feel comfortable in it because it's more like what we wear in our normal lives.
Old 11-25-2002, 07:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 52
I appreciate that they are trying to do the old time mas however they needed to be consistent. To me it would be inconsistent to see half the band wearing what looks like costume and the other half in the bathing suit look. I am not downplaying what they are trying to do but it would be nice to see this entire band on de savannah stage costumes. Yes, they too do have a chance of winning with their concept. I'm just not feeling the sections in the bikinis.