Credits: 268
I WONDER IF MYTHTROPOLIS WOULD BE BETTER THAN LAST YEAR, WITH THEM MYTHS AND LEGENDS.
Credits: 3,827
Re: Barbarossa
The Article
Mythropolis’ brings theatre into the mas
BY DONNA PIERRE Fashion models showcase designers’ clothing. But Richard Young, director of the Mannequins Image Management model agency, believes models can do much more than strut their stuff on the ramp. He sees models as being able to create images even while they are off the catwalk. As he puts it, “They can tell a story just by the images they create.” To prove his point, Young is working closely with Keron Seebaran, a section leader of the mas band Barbarossa. “We are trying to put some theatre into the mas,” he said. ” He said the way in which this was being done was to have models from MIM depict many images simply through the use of intricate designs created with body paint and flowing fabric. There will be no beads, bikinis or sequins. Seebaran said this move was very deliberate. “We are trying to produce a more theatre-type mas where we will also be doing wire bending, decorating with rhinestones and using white Indian silk fabric.” Only earth tones will be used, Young added. A masquerader for several years with Barbarossa, Seebaran said he has no interest in following the popular use of basic Brazilian-type mas. Instead, he prefers to use all he has learnt from people like Peter Minshall, Ronald Guy James and Brian MacFarlane. “Peter has always been the visionary, Ronald the artistic one and Brian the one with structure,” he said. Masqueraders will wear bodysuits and tights and their bodies will be covered with elaborate designs in body paint. “Now this is where I really come in,” says Young. “The styling is very young, with men having plaits and women with this twist style. Very Afrocentric, but with an international flavour. Everyone can relate to it,” he said. Young said there was also a visible appreciation of the fitness craze. “Nowadays everybody is keeping fit, and I have included that into the section by selecting the good, lean bodies of both male and female,” he said. The images they portray should tell the story of “Adonis and Aphrodite” — a section in the band’s 2004 presentation Mythropolis. Young said “Adonis and Aphrodite” are names taken from an old tale, adding he built a fable around them using a local twist. Adonis, he said, was a sweet man — good-looking and with a well sculpted body, while Aphrodite was a woman with a deep dark side beneath her charming and loving self. “I see Aphrodite as being very similar to that folklore character we have, La Diablesse,” he added. He has even written the storyline for “Adonis and Aphrodite.” It goes:— “Saga boy is yuh regular Adonis, he sowing he seeds or is so he say. But he planting seeds in shallow pot with well watered earth. He feel he is ah fertility specialist with a set ah good looks confusing woman. He dabble with women of the underworld, he play he self with we eh even know who. Since the powers that be empower him to enchant and mystify dem laywomen. All in all, he is ah sweetman. But he ent realise he like a starlite, big flare but fading fast — he transient, he ent perennial. But, he meet he match, She is a woman of physical beauty She is a woman of an elemental nature She have a force that cannot be denied She is a consummate temptress. She is self-indulgent, all consuming and magnetic. She is Aphrodite or La Diablesse She is the epitome of womanliness She is heroin beloved by all.” Editor’s Note: Come Carnival 2004, Barbarossa has joined forces with Funtasia to produce Mythropolis. The band will be launched at The Anchorage, Chaguaramas, on November 9, at 6 pm, with music by Traffik, Island Vibe, King International and CIN.Credits: Styling: Richard Young Body paint: Kwesi Marcano Models: Keron Seebaran and Tesha Edwards
Focus & on Task
Credits: 245
Wow This sounds like fun too. I cant wait to see the designs and the male models then.:p
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL |
Seems like Barbarossa may have found a good mix of body consiousness and MAS.
Credits: 419
Re: The Article
They're late... |
Re: Re: The Article
But though it's nothing new it's a step away from the usual bikinis feathers and beads...ent? *postjack* Bskin your sig is cracking me up. I could almost hear Barbara walters saying that. Then make the chicken cry. LOL
Last edited by Shandy 2.0; 10-23-2003 at 11:42 AM.. |
Credits: 1,257
Re: Re: The Article
Regardless, if Minshall have done it before I respect Barbarossa for trying to do it also. Maybe this would bring a new sense of what mas should be to younger masqueraders who are not too interested in the ideas of bands like Calalloo and Masquerade where theater-like productions have been depicted for years. Nuff Love to Afong and Barbarossa in their efforts and I look forward to seeing their costumes for 2004 especially since I have been a masquerader in Barbarossa for the past 5 years. |
I'm sure Minshall wouldn't mind if Barbarossa took a "page from his book", so to speak.
I attended a lecture Minshall did at the Brooklyn Museum a few years ago and he did say something like he is giving us his knowledge so when he "goes" it won't be taken with him. So if another generation of masmen/women take a page from his book (or Bailey's etc..) so what, as long as the MAS lives on right?
Credits: 312
Hats off to Seebaran i really want to see what this section looks like before i make up my mind.. seems interesting... just give me body paint i will play mas naked! |
I will really have to go on a diet. No seconds at Thanksgiving for me no siree bob. :p This mas seems like naked mas but in a theatrical context. But I'm a die hard Poison fan. One year I'll go a different route, but not 2k4. ![]()
Credits: 312
i have started my training.... spinning classes three times a week and weights two times a week.. although i ate a piece of cake today ![]() |
I've been cheating a bit too.
But I've started my training and cutting down on carbs.
Credits: 268
AT LAST THIS IS WHAT I MEAN IT DONT TAKE MUCH TO CHANGE THE MAS GAME JUST A LITTLE IMAGINATION AND EFFORT LET SEE IF THIS PRESENTATION WILL LIVE UP TO THE HYPE.
THANKS SHANDY YOUR RADAR IS THE BOMB ![]() |
Bes' Wife Status
Credits: 63
I have been hearing that Barbarossa is supposed to be really pretty this year. Khazan has left to go to Poison, so they really will have to do alot better with their in-house sections in order to have people remain with them. They still have really good road music, but it was truly time for them to make a change in their appoach to costume design...let's hope the other bands start steping up their game too

Wow This sounds like fun too. I cant wait to see the designs and the male models then.:p