Old 03-02-2009, 03:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Reppin' TnT

Credits: 4,757
Arrow Band/section reviews

We are reminicising on yet another Carnival, what are the positive and negative experiences you came across this year with the band you played in?

Share your sentiments on Carnival 2009....
Old 03-02-2009, 03:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Reppin' TnT

Credits: 4,757
My reviews: TRIBE/African Love Bird Section

Pros
-Was literally in and out in 30 minutes @ costume collection. There was 3 of us to pick up
-Costume stayed in tact from beginning to end
-Vibes was nice on the road
-Enough male eye candy
-Kudos to Spangled Continga who stayed with there section banner most of the time
-Lunch was on point

Cons
-too many music trucks on the road (IMO) or they could have been spread out more
-masqueraders should have been condiserate enough to stay in there sections @ judging points. Granted TRIBE does not compete but this is time to showcase the band to evewryone
-Band needs to decrease in size for 2010

Last edited by Bizzie Chic; 03-02-2009 at 03:49 PM..
Old 03-02-2009, 04:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
She

Credits: 742
My reviews: Island People/Paradisus

Positive
-Costume pickup was quick and easy
-Costume stayed in tact from beginning to end and I brought it back with me w/ no problems
-Absolutely LOVED Monday mas (preferred than tuesday)
-Loved that I was able to locate the band. Coordinates were precise.
-Loved the drinks...lol (who doesnt)

Negative
-Our section dj sucked. had to jump w/ another truck to enjoy myself
-Lunch couldve been better than a chicken leg and buttered roll
-Not enough STRAIGHT MEN to wine on!
-Needed to stay on route. Too many twist and turn.
Old 03-02-2009, 04:42 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 14,070
Originally Posted by buss up shot View Post
My reviews: Island People/Paradisus

Positive
-Costume pickup was quick and easy
-Costume stayed in tact from beginning to end and I brought it back with me w/ no problems
-Absolutely LOVED Monday mas (preferred than tuesday)
-Loved that I was able to locate the band. Coordinates were precise.
-Loved the drinks...lol (who doesnt)

Negative
-Our section dj sucked. had to jump w/ another truck to enjoy myself
-Lunch couldve been better than a chicken leg and buttered roll
-Not enough STRAIGHT MEN to wine on!
-Needed to stay on route. Too many twist and turn.
Old 03-02-2009, 05:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
She

Originally Posted by YardiePrincess View Post
lol you laugh...that was a serious ting. I wish I got the memo for Tuesday mas. Monday I did not see that problem atall.
Old 03-02-2009, 05:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,265
lol you laugh...that was a serious ting. I wish I got the memo for Tuesday mas. Monday I did not see that problem atall.
Well remember Tuesday is "pretty" mas. lol
Old 03-02-2009, 06:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
She

LOL...Youre so right!
Old 03-03-2009, 06:18 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 10,439
my reviews: Island people/paradisus

positive
-costume pickup was quick and easy
-costume stayed in tact from beginning to end and i brought it back with me w/ no problems
-absolutely loved monday mas (preferred than tuesday)
-loved that i was able to locate the band. Coordinates were precise.
-loved the drinks...lol (who doesnt)

negative
-our section dj sucked. Had to jump w/ another truck to enjoy myself
-lunch couldve been better than a chicken leg and buttered roll
-not enough straight men to wine on!
-needed to stay on route. Too many twist and turn.
smh
Old 03-03-2009, 12:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
30 Never looked this good

Credits: 17,434
Originally Posted by Canalero View Post
smh
I saw you at Breakfast Fete Sunday morning...ah ent want tuh seem like ah donkey saying, "I on IMIX, HI!"
Old 03-03-2009, 01:06 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 15,484
IP sucked..........Carnival.......I does carry my food wit me so I was good.....IP did absolutely nuttin special as a mas band.......NUTTIN
Old 03-03-2009, 06:27 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 16,339
Originally Posted by Bizzie Chic View Post
My reviews: TRIBE/African Love Bird Section

Pros
-Was literally in and out in 30 minutes @ costume collection. There was 3 of us to pick up
-Costume stayed in tact from beginning to end
-Vibes was nice on the road
-Enough male eye candy
-Kudos to Spangled Continga who stayed with there section banner most of the time
-Lunch was on point

Cons
-too many music trucks on the road (IMO) or they could have been spread out more
-masqueraders should have been condiserate enough to stay in there sections @ judging points. Granted TRIBE does not compete but this is time to showcase the band to evewryone-Band needs to decrease in size for 2010
my biggest problem there was the fact that the standards dictating where our sections were, were not clearly separated thus causing confusion.
Old 03-03-2009, 10:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Champion!

Credits: 4,324
Originally Posted by triniprincess76 View Post
I saw you at Breakfast Fete Sunday morning...ah ent want tuh seem like ah donkey saying, "I on IMIX, HI!"

Old 03-04-2009, 06:47 AM   #13 (permalink)
Saucy Wow #2

Credits: 3,654
This was my first year with them and IP was a real disappointment. Thanks to my friends and the alcohol I had a bawl on the road anyways.

Pros
1) Loved my Rays of Light costume (minus the cheap headpiece that didn't fit properly and ended up on the side of the road)

2) I find the drinks service and food service were good. I never had to wait to get anything. What I got was a different story..LOL

Cons
1) Food was crap. Not to mention we had no rest stop on both days so we had to literally walk and eat.

2) Drinks truck ran out of henessy, coconut water (which they refused to give you unless it was as a chaser) and water (which they started giving people hot after a while).

3) Security was non existent.

4) Music was real toots (Island People like Ants!! wtf)

5) Costume collection was a mess - We waited 3 hours in line to pay off for a costume that took 5 mins to collect.

6) Real shitty goody bag. All I got was a cup. bmobile bag and a pack of pepper cheese.

7) Not to mention we had to run down the trucks on both days....esp tuesday after we cross the savannah "stage"

8) The wee wee trucks were stink and ran out of water on Tuesday. No wipes, feminine products, nothing.

I feel I have the worst luck with bands. Last year was evolution now this. dwarf:
Old 03-04-2009, 12:53 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 5,627
Did u go collect your costume on your specified day? I just asking because most of the people who complaining about costuem collection drama ever are those who went carnival friday to sunday to collect.

People need to go into IP knowing dey doh ever stop for lunch really. It sucks...but they doh have a set "we stopping here for lunch" rule like the other bands.

I think a lot of people in all bands talking bout that security thing... like dem security just looking fro free music/drinks/wine.
Old 03-04-2009, 01:22 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 16,339
i went for my costume on saturday and it took me about an hour to collect it. there was a crowd yes, but they were moving and the workers were efficient so it was in and out. waiting for my crew to get there's took about another 30 minutes and we were all set to go.