Old 01-15-2004, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 41,538
Cool "A band for the President" - Baje's Sailors

A band fit for the President

Maxine Richards (left) and Vindra Sooklal (centre) of Peer Pressure Too, pose with masqueraders from their “Retro Sailors” all-inclusive section.

Photo: Andre Alexander

By Peter Ray Blood

It is possibly the safest section to play mas in this Carnival. “Retro Sailors,” designed and produced by Maxine Richards, Vindra Sooklal and Peer Pressure Too for Poison’s Retromania, is also the section in which President George Maxwell Richards and his wife, Dr Jean Ramjohn-Richards, are playing mas.

Maxine, of course, is the President’s daughter, so, with the other dignitaries playing in this section as well, one can expect “Retro Sailors” to also have a heavy presence of cops and military personnel.

Between going to work every day, and trying to keep up with Carnival fetes, Maxine and Vindra burn the midnight oil making costumes at their Park Street camp in Port-of-Spain.

“Since launching the section at Battimamzelle Restaurant in December, we’ve had a steady flow of people registering to play with us. Our section is complimentary to Poison’s Retromania theme, as we are presenting traditional fancy sailor mas with a modern, sexy flair,” Maxine said recently.

“Our costumes, like the real mccoy, are heavily worked with rhinestones, braiding, feathers and swansdown.

“We are also intent on holding on to our masqueraders, so we are leaving no stone unturned to make sure they have a memorable and enjoyable time with us on Carnival Monday and Tuesday. We are offering breakfast, lunch and snacks throughout both days, and of course, premium liquor,” she added.

“About safety, for obvious reasons, in addition to Poison’s regular security, our section will have additional security personnel, guaranteeing the comfort of each and every masquerader in ‘Retro Sailors’.”

Vindra interjected, adding that all costumes are being custom-made “to suit the individual requirements of every masquerader.”

“Some have chosen to wear their shorts very short, with the side of legs revealed, while others prefer to have legs covered,” she said. The section also has skirted costumes.

Maxine said the section will have an advanced “exclusive” section as well, with a more elaborate costume, going at the price of $2,800.

She added: “For the muscle men, we also have a special costume in store for them as well.”

Old 01-15-2004, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 301
cute
Old 01-16-2004, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,727
yes so allyuh please conduct allyuh self in the appropriate fashion when yuh see meh section.. don't embarass me
Old 01-17-2004, 12:47 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally posted by Trinibaje
yes so allyuh please conduct allyuh self in the appropriate fashion when yuh see meh section.. don't embarass me
bwahahahahahahahahaha
Old 01-19-2004, 01:20 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 41,538
Originally posted by Trinibaje
I will practice meh curtsy.

Old 01-19-2004, 01:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 309
u tink i could sneek pass security teef a wine wid de president daughter and sneek back out de section wid out nobody noticing?
Old 01-19-2004, 02:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Solidarity

Originally posted by CYPRIANNI
u tink i could sneek pass security teef a wine wid de president daughter and sneek back out de section wid out nobody noticing?
lol...man i swear i was thinkin along de same lines. except i was thinkin bout wukkin up wid his wife and i eh really care if i get ketch!
Old 01-19-2004, 03:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,213
Originally posted by Solidarity
lol...man i swear i was thinkin along de same lines. except i was thinkin bout wukkin up wid his wife and i eh really care if i get ketch!
I always knew you were a groupie:p
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.
Old 01-19-2004, 10:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Solidarity

Originally posted by Pebbles362436
I always knew you were a groupie:p
How i goh be a groupie when i doh even know wha she look like...does she even sing soca...can she wine. Find out from de president and run de info. i'll let yuh know if i am groupie aftah dat!
Old 01-20-2004, 05:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 309

lol....i'm gonna run some battle plans wid my jungle fever crew see if some kinda diversionary tactic can be put into place so de wine can max chance of success

How i goh be a groupie when i doh even know wha she look like...does she even sing soca...can she wine. Find out from de president and run de info. i'll let yuh know if i am groupie aftah dat!
you don't know what she look like LOL while i run de diversion ask de president to point his wife out...i know he won't mind as he need de votes
Old 01-20-2004, 11:06 AM   #11 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,213

Blah blah blah... yuh could try and pretend and be in groupie denial all yuh want.

Yup, I just know that Solidarity is definately a Groupie....plain and simple! LOL

"Pebbles362436 adjectives....yup, you are definitely a TrAP"
:p
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.