Old 08-20-2005, 02:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
can u handle me?

Location: where is the greatest CARNIVAL?..well then yuh find meh!
Credits: 124
Thumbs down Band Leader in Trinidad being sued.....

In mas circles and fabric stores across Trinidad and in some cases in camps abroad the newest 'topic' of discussion is now the mystery band leader who is being sued in Trinidad for non-payment of bills ranging from non-payment to dj's and staff to non-payment to fabric stores, and mas suppliers.

This mas leader it is alleged has walked away with whatever monies given by sponsors and the paying masqueraders without looking back to pay the people who supported the band during the 2005 season.

One writ soon to be filed, claims with alleged credit notes in support which were signed by the band leader/s that they-the bandleader/s are owing Samaroo's over TTD$189, 000 accumulated debt between Sept 2004 - March 2005.

In another alleged claim the outfit is owing Jimmy Aboud somewhere in the vicinity of over TTD$50, 000.

The same persons recenty received a hefty payment in USD$ from a St. Lucia based band for providing them with costumes, however still fail o pay their minor bills and staff claiming that the St. Lucia based band has yet to pay them for their work.

This journalist wonders if this is probably the reason that we have not heard about any band launching or band from these folks for 2006.

It stands to reason that if you are still owing all your carnival material suppliers that great amount, they will not be supplying you on credit in the near future....and your sponsors may beinclined to pull out.

stay tune to SaucyT on island mix for more info...

IMIX CC folks...stop trying to guess who it is..all yuh too bad....
but gossip on the street is that they are approaching all and any contacts in New York, Miami, London and other islands to be contracted to do sections in their respective Carnival bands. They were recently turned down by 3 bands in Barbados, 2 in NY and 2 in London.
Old 08-20-2005, 03:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Credits: 245

Wow that is horrible.
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL
Old 08-20-2005, 03:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
can u handle me?

Originally Posted by Pebbles362436

Wow that is horrible.

yuh know..it making it harder for them companies to have faith in and help out the young designers/band leaders/section leaders coming up, who will be honest and pay back or make proper arrangements to pay back but just don't have the $$$$$$$ upfront to make it all happen...and will rely on credit notes.....

and in addition..this year mas prices will be a little higher than years gone by as the government has not made any real effort to offset the duty/tax/vat on certain items and not to mention that oil prices and world market prices will have a great effect on all materials, music trucks, alcohol etc....
Old 08-20-2005, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Credits: 245
Exclamation

Originally Posted by saucytrini
yuh know..it making it harder for them companies to have faith in and help out the young designers/band leaders/section leaders coming up, who will be honest and pay back or make proper arrangements to pay back but just don't have the $$$$$$$ upfront to make it all happen...and will rely on credit notes.....

and in addition..this year mas prices will be a little higher than years gone by as the government has not made any real effort to offset the duty/tax/vat on certain items and not to mention that oil prices and world market prices will have a great effect on all materials, music trucks, alcohol etc....
That's the very sad part because one rotten apple will spoil it for the entire bunch. Sponsors are known to pull out or have any kind of affliation with these types of groups during carnival with a quickness.
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 08-20-2005 at 07:29 PM..
Old 08-22-2005, 02:08 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 267
WHAT BAND IS DAT ?? .....MUS BE GENISIS.......DEM HAD TO BUSS LAST YEAR DID THEY NOT SEND SOME STUFF TO ST LUCIA??
Old 08-22-2005, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 41
Originally Posted by NEO ONE
WHAT BAND IS DAT ?? .....MUS BE GENISIS.......DEM HAD TO BUSS LAST YEAR DID THEY NOT SEND SOME STUFF TO ST LUCIA??
that wouldn't suprise me at all at all
Old 08-22-2005, 02:13 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 991
It could possibly be IE too.
Old 08-22-2005, 02:18 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 267
Originally Posted by trinidarkie
It could possibly be IE too.
DID THEY GO ST LUCIA?
NAAHH IT MUST BE THE MUSCLE MUTT CREW
NEXT STEP.....
THEN......
Old 08-22-2005, 02:25 PM   #9 (permalink)

DID THEY GO ST LUCIA?
NAAHH IT MUST BE THE MUSCLE MUTT CREW
NEXT STEP.....
THEN......
Muscle mutt crew........
Old 08-22-2005, 02:32 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 3,827
LMFAO @ "Muscle Mutt Crew"

But I'm guessing I.E., isn't Muscle Chicken Mutts bringing a band again for 2k6?

Old 08-22-2005, 02:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
can u handle me?

Originally Posted by shandy
LMFAO @ "Muscle Mutt Crew"
But I'm guessing I.E., isn't Muscle Chicken Mutts bringing a band again for 2k6?

i not saying who. or what band...all yuh figure it out.......

i hear the band seel some costumes to Grenada as well....
Old 08-22-2005, 02:41 PM   #12 (permalink)

i not saying who. or what band...all yuh figure it out.......

i hear the band seel some costumes to Grenada as well....
Can't remember IE doing all that so I am changing my vote...I am now with Neo, it sounds like the Muscle Mutts.
Old 08-22-2005, 02:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
ONE DEEEEEPPP hole

Credits: 29
In mas circles and fabric stores across Trinidad and in some cases in camps abroad the newest 'topic' of discussion is now the mystery band leader who is being sued in Trinidad for non-payment of bills ranging from non-payment to dj's and staff to non-payment to fabric stores, and mas suppliers.

This mas leader it is alleged has walked away with whatever monies given by sponsors and the paying masqueraders without looking back to pay the people who supported the band during the 2005 season.

One writ soon to be filed, claims with alleged credit notes in support which were signed by the band leader/s that they-the bandleader/s are owing Samaroo's over TTD$189, 000 accumulated debt between Sept 2004 - March 2005.

In another alleged claim the outfit is owing Jimmy Aboud somewhere in the vicinity of over TTD$50, 000.

The same persons recenty received a hefty payment in USD$ from a St. Lucia based band for providing them with costumes, however still fail o pay their minor bills and staff claiming that the St. Lucia based band has yet to pay them for their work.

This journalist wonders if this is probably the reason that we have not heard about any band launching or band from these folks for 2006.

It stands to reason that if you are still owing all your carnival material suppliers that great amount, they will not be supplying you on credit in the near future....and your sponsors may beinclined to pull out.

but gossip on the street is that they are approaching all and any contacts in New York, Miami, London and other islands to be contracted to do sections in their respective Carnival bands. They were recently turned down by 3 bands in Barbados, 2 in NY and 2 in London
Fuh some strange reason I feel it is yuh favourite tall red muscle man and he chicken chest wife and dey crew
Old 08-22-2005, 02:44 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinidarkie
Can't remember IE doing all that so I am changing my vote...I am now with Neo, it sounds like the Muscle Mutts.
True true...I agree, it's not I.E. then.

So I guess the consensus is the Muscle Mutt Crew.

Old 08-22-2005, 02:48 PM   #15 (permalink)

but gossip on the street is that they are approaching all and any contacts in New York, Miami, London and other islands to be contracted to do sections in their respective Carnival bands. They were recently turned down by 3 bands in Barbados, 2 in NY and 2 in London.
I know you didn't think for one second we weren't going to try and guess now did ya!