Old 10-12-2005, 01:23 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 698
Bakes Miami Recap...

Friday

Airport adventure...

Stayed up most of the night packing, cleaning, shit talking...saying goodbye to Madden 06 (fuh de weekend). Didn't sleep ah wink...wha'iz de sense when ah have tuh be up in another couple hours fuh mih 7:30 am flight? Pack de grip, decide tuh walk de 15 mins tuh de train (in ah light rain mind yuh), ketch de train fuh de 15 min ride tuh de airport...pllllllennty time tuh spare man. So on de platform waiting on de train around 6:15 am...decide tuh check de itinerary again....Flight departs at 6:28 am!!. What de mudda ass I musta read dat like five times...whey I get 7:30 from is known only tuh de holy fadda above.

Miss de plane and proceeded tuh prepare mihself to get familiar with de airport chairs. Thanks though tuh some keen powers of observation (notice one of de counter people-gyul was Trini) and timely intervention by my most excellent travel companion, got a connecting flight thru Raleigh-Durham. All told, not too bad...flew in on the stand-by and landed arung 5 pm. After some more rental car melodrama, made way to the hotel downtown Miami...not bad for my first Non-Collins Ave Miami Carnival experience.

Saturday

Wet Willies Link up...

Large up de usual contingent of imixers...plus some new folks ah meet...Dancer, JaTrini, LSK, Just Cute, Mystic Xtremist, DSexy1, Jahpikne, 2hot4u (ah tink dat was you ah meet ) PJK...uhm....I know it had more people, cyah remember. De li'l lime was nice...de one drink ah had gave mih de yawns...so I had tuh cut dat short. Made mih way out tuh Leta's on Hollywood tuh get de Socafest tix...and tuh grab ah bite. Excellent Bake and Shark...excellent Saltfish buljol.
Old 10-12-2005, 01:23 PM   #2 (permalink)

Socafest...

Where do I start...disappointing I must say. Had a good time, just wasn't on point like last time. Ninja Band was some shit. I usually big dem up because they have nuff skills and talent but dis yeah they sing some royal tu tu. They sounded like a bunch of amateurs, save fuh de lead female singer (de 'big' girl with de red hair), I real love dat girl voice. Dude on the saxophone with he "Imagine" tribute to Onika, went on fuh about 5 minutes too long. He might as well been farting into the sax because he sounded like some garbage, not that he realized it...judging by the way he went on and on and on.

Speaking of Onika tributes...can we give it a facking rest already? I loved Onika as much as the average Flames fan did. Not only was she a talented singer and songwriter, but she was a natural on the stage and a sheer joy to watch perform. It was easy to tell that she was only about to get better and better and her death was a loss that will only continue to be felt for some time. That said, let de damn woman rest in peace arready nah...is ah fete, not ah blasted wake...two blasted tributes plus ah moment of silence was ah bit too much. And I di'n even self reach until arung 2 am...God only knows what went on before then.

Xtatik...

Good set all around, but something about the vibes wasn't right. Dat Venezuelan fella must be dey weed man...fuh de life of me I cyah understand what he still doing in de band . Overall though I enjoyed de set as usual, songs I remembered: It's Carnaval, Powder Puff, Miss Good Reputation, Toro Toro, Big Truck, Cock Back and Roll, We Not Giving up (A Capella...*steups* ), Tay Lay Lay, Madda Dan Dat...Craziness. Boss set

I tired of the Powder Posse idiots and can't understand how them still getting in fete with Johnson's and Johnsons in they possession. Not only is this powder wildness stupid and tired...but it's dangerous, and not just to the asthmatics. How difficult can it be to hide a knife or other weapon inside a container of powder...if one really wanted to? Pure assness.

Red Hot Flames...

Dumb ass name...now on to the performance. Underwhelming to say the least, only made worse by the actions of the crowd. First time hearing Esther Dyer live...not fair to compare her to Onika, different voice, but I like what I heard and saw (sweet jeezus christmuss she could give Pam Anderson ah run fuh she money). The music sounded absolutely horrible, very amateurish and not what I came to expect from Burning Flames. Nice job on "Don't Stop It"...okay job on Rush, Workey and I Command You. Sounded like garbage on "All Is Yours"...despite the best efforts of Esther. Not sure what was going on with Oungku...but the signature two-note exclamation ( after each "all is yours..." can't really describe it any other way) was the wrong notes. The other signature to the song...the nine blast brass chords (ta na na na na na na na na) was simply missing. How you go play All Is Yours without de li'l imitation brass Dunno how they sounded the rest of the weekend...but on this night Red Hot Flames couldn't carry Burning Flames jock.

I expect to take some heat for this, because I'm sure there'll be nuff Burning/Red Hot Flames fans who will take offense...but fack it, who vex loss. I have never felt so uncomfortable, upset, irritated and disgusted at a fete before. What a bunch of wild jackasses. I have my own issues with the Powder Posse (see above) so spare me the jackass comparisons and claims of bias. I enjoyed my share of wildness back in the day and for the most part I just steer clear of the assness before it starts...unfortunately I had no choice but to endure de tomfukkery thru to the end because of where I was standing and because of the thickness of the crowd.

I understand the water pelting...as much as I wasn't feeling it...I understand it. What I don't understand is what would possess any right-thinking individual to pelt buckets in the crowd. Yuh not satisfied with just emptying de bucket on people head...but yuh go pelt the bucket up into the air without regards to who head it land on and buss?? And I'm not even talking about a one-time thing either. I can't even tell half de songs that play because fuh de whole set I had to keep my head on a swivel to watch for flying objects...plastic bottles, cups and buckets, sometimes filled with water, sometimes not. Just plaing ridiculous.

I couldn't tell what happen after Flames perform because I leave right after dey perform and the wildness cool down.

Last edited by Bake n Shark; 10-12-2005 at 01:48 PM..
Old 10-12-2005, 01:24 PM   #3 (permalink)

Sunday

On de Road...Paint

Large up Big and Strong, SoKalypso, Friends, Wild Meat and the other folks involved in the Paint Band. Special shout out to Ro and Rudy, Nytrini (and yuh sexy roommate...tell she ah say dat), Junkie...and the many others who helped make the experience so enjoyable. This only cements my support of Big and Strong (and SoKalypso) events, and that's a sentiment that's shared by many...you guys gained a lot of disciples after Sunday, trust me

Large up de family who jump on de road, LSK, Queen Bea (I rell luv you...if ah never tell yuh dat before , kudos to you and yuh pardna fuh making de trip all the way from TO), Dancer, DSexy1, Spyda, Wild Meat, Gee Dawg, Hotngroovy and Tiney (even though allyuh was really in pretty mas and di'n have time fuh we ), Socaboy (no surprises here...blessings on de chunery boss ) along with the other DeeJays ...too many others to remember . I even have tuh give ah special shout out to Dorenzo...I hear nuff Miamians blast dis man fuh he lack of talent etc... but on Sunday at least, yuh sounded nice ontop de 'indian' truck . I enjoyed de time jumping whenever yuh sounds overlapped. More than the good vibes (which started slow, but then de likker musse start tuh flow, cuz paint band folks sure picked up by time de end reach) I enjoyed the jump itself, nice and long. Vibes sure was nice by time de lime reach inside Bicentennial Park.

I have to give a very special shout out to the City of Miami, and the Miami Metropolitan Police Department. Last year I got the feeling that the city merely tolerated us at best, and would have sooner not deal with us. This was reflected in the attitudes of the police on the road, who did a professional job, but bordered on the ridiculous rule-enforcement bullshit I've come to expect from the NYPD. I certainly ent no fan of the po po....but this year they allowed folks to drink their beer and other assorted beverages without hassle. I personally didnt' witness any incidents (although I hear about people getting tazed fuh trying to storm), save for one.

Apparently this one freeloading idiot gyul decide tuh start fighting with this other gyul in de paint band (granted I ent making no judgement on who hit who fuss). Paint band gyul friends pull them apart and take she pass security...yet schupid knotty head gyal decide tuh chase she in de crowd tuh pick fight...right in front de police. Police run after she and grab she...she break'way and run. They ketch she and she start tuh fight them...all five ah dem...go figure. I dunno who she is, but she obviously ent too bright because dis morning I sure she waking up to charges of: Disorderly conduct, Resisting Arrests, Assault on a law enforcement officer. Nuff people on de road was running they mouth about how de police treat de "poor gyurl", but ah sure they ent see when she run after de other gyul looking fuh fight...or when she was fighting de police (which cause them tuh gang-tackle she in de first place) or when she allegedly kicked the police officer. Bad move.

At the entrance to Bicentennial park it was pure craziness, but the police, along with the security staff did a great job of weeding out the stormers...incredible that they were able to pull that off. Much, much props and respect. Nothign against the stormers and non-bandmembers...I was there up to a couple years ago, but the event needs the money that allyuh otherwise would be cheating it of, plus...some ah allyuh ent know how tuh act when allyuh see half-naked woman.
Old 10-12-2005, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)

De Li'l winer gyul...

Well boy, where to start. There was this cute li'l 3 or 4 year old girlchile jumping with she mother and other family members in de paint band, and babygurl was putting on some serious wine...when yuh talk about waist. It was real nice and enjoyable tuh see choonkaloonks doing she thing...for about the first two minute, then it got real old and real disturbing. I really have to wonder what was going on in that chile's mother head. I mean...why you'd have yuh precious li'l baby girl carrying on like ah grown jammette in de streets so is beyond me. Poor li'l thing was like a trained monkey performing on demand. Whenever she see people gathered in a crowd (which, given dat is was de parade, was every other minute)...she'd break out into she li'l routine. Some of it was age-appropriate...but the vast majority would make de Powder Crotch girls and dem shame.

I talking about popping what she momma ent even give she yet, cocking back and rolling, bubblenutting...all kinda thing. As somebody (ah think was Dancer) say, all she missing was ah pole. And to make matters even worse was the fact that once inside the park, de mudda stop she from performing (yes, that is what it eventually became) insisting that onlookers ante up and pay some money if they wanted she to dance anymore. At one point holding out a hat in front of others, at another rubbing her thumb and fingers together (allyuh know it...dat sign fuh 'money') to indicate to the li'l girl to let the people pay her first. I even saw her take some money from one woman, stick it in the li'l girl's pocket and then instructed her to dance. Pimping this poor little child...lady you should be ashamed of yourself...and then ten years from now when puberty set in yuh go wonder what went wrong, why yuh li'l daughter running de streets like she cyat scratching she, looking fuh man. God knows I ent calling nutten on that child...but this is a sad sad path her mother is leading her along.

Dai'z all fuh Sunday...I was too tired to do much else.
Old 10-12-2005, 01:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
BACK TO PEEPING FOR GOOD!

Credits: 544
yeah bakes you did meet me nice meeting you as well, and i like your recap of the events.
Old 10-12-2005, 01:26 PM   #6 (permalink)

Monday

After Carnival Cool out...

Kudos to mih bredren SizweC and family...good to see de family again. I well enjoy mihself...ah go let LSK (and Dancer fuh dat matter ) speak fuh sheself. Damn good food, damn good ole people vibes...damn good...nah, de DJ needed ah lash in he ass. He start of nice nice and I dunno, once nigga belly full dey duz start playing de ass...how you go go from playing Iwer (Water) to mixing in Jah Cure (Longing For)...not even ah slow down transition. One minute crowd jumping no ass "de people want...looonging forr, my baby to love me more, what am I longing for...." Dat nah mek it star. More time next year

Pictures soon come...I'm sure
Old 10-12-2005, 01:28 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by 2hot4u
yeah bakes you did meet me nice meeting you as well, and i like your recap of the events.
Oh...okay, good meeting you and yuh friend, I was tired and miserable by the time I get up tuh leave so pardon de spotty memory
Old 10-12-2005, 01:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
StarGyul

Hey Bakes...it was nice seeing u again
Old 10-12-2005, 01:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 874
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
Friday

Airport adventure...

Stayed up most of the night packing, cleaning, shit talking...saying goodbye to Madden 06 (fuh de weekend). Didn't sleep ah wink...wha'iz de sense when ah have tuh be up in another couple hours fuh mih 7:30 am flight? Pack de grip, decide tuh walk de 15 mins tuh de train (in ah light rain mind yuh), ketch de train fuh de 15 min ride tuh de airport...pllllllennty time tuh spare man. So on de platform waiting on de train around 6:15 am...decide tuh check de itinerary again....Flight departs at 6:28 am!!. What de mudda ass I musta read dat like five times...whey I get 7:30 from is known only tuh de holy fadda above.

Miss de plane and proceeded tuh prepare mihself to get familiar with de airport chairs. Thanks though tuh some keen powers of observation (notice one of de counter people-gyul was Trini) and timely intervention by my most excellent travel companion, got a connecting flight thru Raleigh-Durham. All told, not too bad...flew in on the stand-by and landed arung 5 pm. After some more rental car melodrama, made way to the hotel downtown Miami...not bad for my first Non-Collins Ave Miami Carnival experience.

Saturday

Wet Willies Link up...

Large up de usual contingent of imixers...plus some new folks ah meet...Dancer, JaTrini, LSK, Just Cute, Mystic Xtremist, DSexy1, Jahpikne, 2hot4u (ah tink dat was you ah meet ) PJK...uhm....I know it had more people, cyah remember. De li'l lime was nice...de one drink ah had gave mih de yawns...so I had tuh cut dat short. Made mih way out tuh Leta's on Hollywood tuh get de Socafest tix...and tuh grab ah bite. Excellent Bake and Shark...excellent Saltfish buljol.
I'm mad I missed the wet willies session!!! :
Old 10-12-2005, 01:34 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 398
HEY BAKES IT WAS NICE MEETING YOU AGAIN...BUT I'M OFF TO DC IN 72 HOURS... FOR 7 DAYS OF BLACK, EDUCATED ,HANDSOME , SEXY HU MEN
Old 10-12-2005, 01:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Pimptress

ahem i stopped reading after the 1st post when i realized there was more
Old 10-12-2005, 01:42 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 1,263
Originally Posted by bajangal1
HEY BAKES IT WAS NICE MEETING YOU AGAIN...BUT I'M OFF TO DC IN 72 HOURS... FOR 7 DAYS OF BLACK, EDUCATED ,HANDSOME , SEXY HU MEN

True???

Serious???
Old 10-12-2005, 01:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,079
Socafest...

Where do I start...disappointing I must say. Had a good time, just wasn't on point like last time. Ninja Band was some shit. I usually big dem up because they have nuff skills and talent but dis yeah they sing some royal tu tu. They sounded like a bunch of amateurs, save fuh de lead female singer (de 'big' girl with de red hair), I real love dat girl voice. Dude on the saxophone with he "Imagine" tribute to Onika, went on fuh about 5 minutes too long. He might as well been farting into the sax because he sounded like some garbage, not that he realized it...judging by the way he went on and on and on.

Speaking of Onika tributes...can we give it a facking rest already? I loved Onika as much as the average Flames fan did. Not only was she a talented singer and songwriter, but she was a natural on the stage and a sheer joy to watch perform. It was easy to tell that she was only about to get better and better and her death was a loss that will only continue to be felt for some time. That said, let de damn woman rest in peace arready nah...is ah fete, not ah blasted wake...two blasted tributes plus ah moment of silence was ah bit too much. And I di'n even self reach until arung 2 am...God only knows what went on before then.

Xtatik...

Good set all around, but something about the vibes wasn't right. Dat Venezuelan fella must be dey weed man...fuh de life of me I cyah understand what he still doing in de band . Overall though I enjoyed de set as usual, songs I remembered: It's Carnaval, Powder Puff, Miss Good Reputation, Toro Toro, Big Truck, Cock Back and Roll, We Not Giving up (A Capella...*steups* ), Tay Lay Lay, Madda Dan Dat...Craziness. Boss set

I tired of the Powder Posse idiots and can't understand how them still getting in fete with Johnson's and Johnsons in they possession. Not only is this powder wildness stupid and tired...but it's dangerous, and not just to the asthmatics. How difficult can it be to hide a knife or other weapon inside a container of powder...if one really wanted to? Pure assness.

Red Hot Flames...

Dumb ass name...now on to the performance. Underwhelming to say the least, only made worse by the actions of the crowd. First time hearing Claudette Peters live...not fair to compare her to Onika, different voice, but I like what I heard and saw (sweet jeezus christmuss she could give Pam Anderson ah run fuh she money). The music sounded absolutely horrible, very amateurish and not what I came to expect from Burning Flames. Nice job on "Don't Stop It"...okay job on Rush, Workey and I Command You. Sounded like garbage on "All Is Yours"...despite the best efforts of Claudette. Not sure what was going on with Oungku...but the signature two-note exclamation ( after each "all is yours..." can't really describe it any other way) was the wrong notes. The other signature to the song...the nine blast brass chords (ta na na na na na na na na) was simply missing. How you go play All Is Yours without de li'l imitation brass Dunno how they sounded the rest of the weekend...but on this night Red Hot Flames couldn't carry Burning Flames jock.

I expect to take some heat for this, because I'm sure there'll be nuff Burning/Red Hot Flames fans who will take offense...but fack it, who vex loss. I have never felt so uncomfortable, upset, irritated and disgusted at a fete before. What a bunch of wild jackasses. I have my own issues with the Powder Posse (see above) so spare me the jackass comparisons and claims of bias. I enjoyed my share of wildness back in the day and for the most part I just steer clear of the assness before it starts...unfortunately I had no choice but to endure de tomfukkery thru to the end because of where I was standing and because of the thickness of the crowd.

I understand the water pelting...as much as I wasn't feeling it...I understand it. What I don't understand is what would possess any right-thinking individual to pelt buckets in the crowd. Yuh not satisfied with just emptying de bucket on people head...but yuh go pelt the bucket up into the air without regards to who head it land on and buss?? And I'm not even talking about a one-time thing either. I can't even tell half de songs that play because fuh de whole set I had to keep my head on a swivel to watch for flying objects...plastic bottles, cups and buckets, sometimes filled with water, sometimes not. Just plaing ridiculous.

I couldn't tell what happen after Flames perform because I leave right after dey perform and the wildness cool down.
I doh know what heat you expect? your opinion is yours. First though, heat fuh Claudette, maybe. I never seen her perform wid Flames, so I doubt she did there either. Is Esther Dyer yuh talkin?

and Antiguans are wild. thats it. thas how they behave when Flames play riddim. When I doh feel fuh it, I move. If the crowd too wild, I move. I believe it was a wise Flames who once sang... "if yuh cant tek di jam step aside"

as I told jatrini, she lucky they aint do like back in the Warehouse days when they used to have the huge garbage bins filled with water. We Like It.... We Like it Wet!
Old 10-12-2005, 01:44 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 1,713
gee, all that hard work and long typing bakes did to share his experience. how nice.

salty

*think i'll have this thread marked for deletion 4 spite lol*
Old 10-12-2005, 01:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Spitfire

Credits: 243
Socafest...

Red Hot Flames...

Dumb ass name...now on to the performance. Underwhelming to say the least, only made worse by the actions of the crowd. First time hearing Claudette Peters live...not fair to compare her to Onika, different voice, but I like what I heard and saw (sweet jeezus christmuss she could give Pam Anderson ah run fuh she money). The music sounded absolutely horrible, very amateurish and not what I came to expect from Burning Flames. Nice job on "Don't Stop It"...okay job on Rush, Workey and I Command You. Sounded like garbage on "All Is Yours"...despite the best efforts of Claudette. How you go play All Is Yours without de li'l imitation brass Dunno how they sounded the rest of the weekend...but on this night Red Hot Flames couldn't carry Burning Flames jock.
Claudette??? whappen tuh Ester Dyer...huh? Nah...fram the description..you can't mean Claudette

....: dun de playce...meh say fi dun de playce:

Garrats guh do whaeva Oungku say..an eef he call fuh dem fih dun de place...dem guh dun um....
Sarry yuh geh trapped in de danger zone