Pork Mout
Credits: 257
Baje has done it again
Baje International - Cirque de Baje had thier media launch last week (cant remember the date)
and seemingly made attempts to rectify the problems they had last year by sending letters to those faithful past jumpers letting them know that they could come and Pre-register before the band opened to the public....... now this appeared to be a good move .......so some of my friends made their way to Baje on Saturday armed with their baje pass...since u had to be a member to get this privilege Anyhooooo they get they and it was bassa bassa......people cussing and carrying on.... WHY....apparently only 2 sections were left ....some clown suit and another section.....well as i see it yah cant have a CIRCUS without a clown....but people like dem dey liking that at all...... well my friends had CONNECTIONS so they were able to come out of that fiasco smiling....... I aint know......I talk to the Baje boyz from last year and I understand the business strategy of selling sections and ting but....I still think that they need to find a way to do it better....yes Baje will always have their people but the bad Page Ranking aint sounding good at all.....but then again they might not care since the band FULL........
Credits: 379
What kind of bachannal is that?
In barbados of all places - Baje like them importing all that trini stuff (VIP sections in the fete and the fete smaller than those in trinidad, sections sell out - and we imixers ain't see nothing yet!) to bim. I just hope that their fete prices stay reasonable - but them fetes gine be too bouji for me i real sure bout that! |
Sweeter Sauce
Credits: 71
Yuh have pics girl?
Pork Mout
![]() de site aint up yet and the only pic cisculating is the lion tamer
Sweeter Sauce
Lol ... a good idea, but not likely!
Credits: 4,442
Baje Intl is just propragating the elitist attitude that is going to make Barbados like Trinidad. And that just turn my belly.
Sweeter Sauce
Well, I don't think we have over time. I think this year is very important to show the foces that be that Barbados is not Trinidad (this not a diss to Trini) but they are two different countries with two unique festivals and it should remain so. I am not liking all this preselling of tickets, preselling (or selling out) of costumes. I love the fact that tourism looking up but Barbados does not have the tourism issues that Trinidad has had. Bajans need to take back them culture and stop acting like them have to obsorb everyone else's identity. Trinidad is not begging nothing from Bim, so why should we? Sorry for the long commentary but I don't see them having a Oba fete in Trinidad. I don't see Soca Pon De Savannah in Trinidad with 75% Bajan artists. |
Pork Mout
ok...but even if that is the case....when u sell sections in TnT u still dont know who it is that coming......the price already restricts some people.....but people always voice de opinion that they prefer to have Trinis in the band over Bajans...this might not be so but its a common perception..... Power has a large Trini conitngent but u never get the feeling that u are not wanted.....Chetwin always tries to accomodate as much as he can but look at Blue box cart...they use to be traditionally a few drunk white men....now the band expand to a big band of mostly white and hight brown peeps......but if I want to jump I could........dem dont check
But this is an emerging theme all over bim period this year it seems. How you gonna presell all bout you two ugliest sections? |
Pork Mout
but its Trini promoters that bringing them.....they Bajan promoters need to do alot more......but them just busy bringing in de J'cans ![]()
Pork Mout
money talks....and that is all de men running tings telling me.....Trini costume can sell for more ...bottomline....Bajans quarrel once de price over $300
I am just sickened at what I am hearing. I guess I will have to see when I get down there but I am not interested in a mini Trini carnival. I go to Trinidad to enjoy thier carnival and it's uniqueness and I expect the same from Barbados. A unique festival. |
Sweeter Sauce
I defo's see where you're coming from girl!
Pork Mout
yes VAT on everyting girl...even band fetes...de Vat officers dont mek sport I dont think they need to be restrictions I juts think that their needs to be some sort of coordination.... generally for Crop Over its mostly Bajan artists and I really dont mind having a mix at wet Fete and 10 to 10 etc.......but sometimes they spend so much time bigging up de other artist that they like dey fuhget the local ones......... we will see how it pans out this year....but I definitely think that Brian Lara fete is a bit much....if it was a WI cricket team do I wouldnt have minded