Old 03-18-2007, 11:39 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 9,302
Atlanta Carnival Info

I am trying to book my hotel but I need a lil clarification on where is the best place to stay. Some people is telling me Peachtree others are telling me Buckhead. I have never been to Atlanta so I need HELPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 03-18-2007, 11:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 714
Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva View Post
I am trying to book my hotel but I need a lil clarification on where is the best place to stay. Some people is telling me Peachtree others are telling me Buckhead. I have never been to Atlanta so I need HELPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Where on Peachtree are they telling you? I live in Buckhead. It is nice but expensive.
Old 03-19-2007, 12:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Daddy Cease in deh area

Credits: 2,633
check dem two sites, they still have last year info though. I can't really tell you though cause I ain't been to ATL carnival since 2000 and I just moved here a few months ago.

http://acffonline.com/hotel.htm
http://atlantacarnival.org
http://peachcarnival.com
Old 03-19-2007, 01:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Alliance mih seh!!!!

Credits: 3,398
stay around peachtree.. i use to live down there.
Old 03-19-2007, 10:53 AM   #5 (permalink)

I checked them sites already...they don't have hotel info yet.

When I checked Marriott site there are like 5 hotels on "peachtree" road, Ave, NW, etc. LOL
Old 03-19-2007, 11:32 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 88,094
Is this carnival any good?
Old 03-19-2007, 11:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Daddy Cease in deh area

Originally Posted by Swervin View Post
Is this carnival any good?
last time I saw it in 2000, it wasn't really anythin to talk about, but they say it's gotten better
Old 03-19-2007, 11:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
mix up mut

Credits: 151
hotels in atl

I lived in Atl for seven years....................it is probably best to stay in a place that is central, which is basically anywhere inside the perimeter. The actual carnival goes throughout downtown(peachtree,etc) and goes to west end near AUC but the actual parties are usually east of Atlanta in Stone Mountain and/or Decatur. Central hotels in Atl will say NW or NE or midtown/downtown. Westin Peachtree/hyatt/hilton/omni if ya wan stay somewhere nice or holiday Inn/Rmada/comfortinn if ya looking fr more affordable options.
Old 03-19-2007, 12:23 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by cease10 View Post
last time I saw it in 2000, it wasn't really anythin to talk about, but they say it's gotten better
I don't have much confidence in US carnivals. I don't picture ATL being one of the meccas of west indian culture in the States (ie. NY or Miami). It just look like something to do for the 13 or so West Indians living in the city of Atlanta.
Old 03-19-2007, 12:47 PM   #10 (permalink)

I don't have much confidence in US carnivals. I don't picture ATL being one of the meccas of west indian culture in the States (ie. NY or Miami). It just look like something to do for the 13 or so West Indians living in the city of Atlanta.
Yeah, I heard the parade itself is nothing to write home about. But the parties are cool and the vibes of atlanta is cool. I have never been to ATL so I want to experience the city itself.
Old 03-19-2007, 03:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
mix up mut

Credits: 151
Ok Mr. Swervin, u are soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo wrong!! In my humble opinion Atlanta has a very prominent Carribean community, maybe TNT is not as represented as JA, but the communities of Stone Mountain and Decatur are main areas where West Indian communities have been established. Carnival, I cant say I would go to Atl just for that, but if you want to vibe with upwardly mobile African and Carribean American people, then its definitely worth a visit. The parties are cool, especially during carnival time.
Old 03-19-2007, 03:32 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 6,722
Originally Posted by moevirtue View Post
Ok Mr. Swervin, u are soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo wrong!! In my humble opinion Atlanta has a very prominent Carribean community, maybe TNT is not as represented as JA, but the communities of Stone Mountain and Decatur are main areas where West Indian communities have been established. Carnival, I cant say I would go to Atl just for that, but if you want to vibe with upwardly mobile African and Carribean American people, then its definitely worth a visit. The parties are cool, especially during carnival time.
They do have a lot of Caribbean ppl but they stush no arse. Everybody living in Stone Moutain don't leave they house because they think that since they leave NY and living in big house they better than ppl.

Doh talk bout all the light skinned jamaicans living in Marietta.
Old 03-19-2007, 03:43 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 24
Alt Carnival

well its like this i have been going to atl carnival for the past 5yrs with my homegirls , Atl carnival is not DC or Miami as a matter of fact far from it but the parties are nice and so is the whole vibe i think my homegirls and i would even be playing mas down there this yr because i heard this year frienzatl will be bringing a section with one of the bands my advice to u is as long as u go with a crew that knows how to have fun u will have a ball and you can always meet up with us , dont listen to what other people tell u go and find out for yourself .........ohh and stay in buckhead thats where we stay because no matter where u stay in atlanta u will have to drive anyway .
Old 03-19-2007, 04:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Daddy Cease in deh area

nah dude, like they said, ATL has a good size Caribbean population, u would be surprised. Like drivin on Memorial Drive you will find alot of Caribbean related businesses (restaurant, clubs, music, etc) and u'll find them all over. ATL Carnival is when u would see alot of Caribbean people come out.

However I can't really vouch for trinidarkie's statements bout stush new yorkers and light skinned jamaicans, cause meen kno bout dat .
Old 03-19-2007, 05:09 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinidarkie View Post
They do have a lot of Caribbean ppl but they stush no arse. Everybody living in Stone Moutain don't leave they house because they think that since they leave NY and living in big house they better than ppl.

Doh talk bout all the light skinned jamaicans living in Marietta.
I can believe that.... Dem all NY transplants that done moved on up to the east side. Big houses and ting. Kids in Jack-N-Jill, de all went to the HBCU's etc.

Dis where dem good black folk reside.

lol..