Atlanta Carnival 2003
Can anyone give me any info on Atlanta Carnival events? I'm thinking of going and I need to know what spots to checkout (ie. parties), and what hotel I should stay in while i'm out there....Thanx
Credits: 265
THANK YOU :)
Hellooo
Credits: 138
i will be there, i go every year... its not as big as dc carnival but its my warm up jump..........
SoCa ADdIcT-nEeD aH fIx
Credits: 166
I've never been......I've heard it's a good warm up to DC but I've seen pics......Didn't really see much of a Carnival......but I would love to go just to check it out one Memorial weekend...
Hellooo
De Hungry Man
Credits: 48
Atlanta's Carnival is not too good. Make sure you check out Brooklyn, DC, Boston and Long Island. I have been to the ATL Carnival a few times and to bands sit in one place for an hour and there are not even that many. They end the parade in a park where lots of homeless people live.
Member Since 1998
Credits: 42
Credits: 265
nanananana ![]() |
Snake Oil Gyal!!!
Credits: 23
I have never been to Atlanta Carnival but the soca fetes in ATL is in one word--STALE!!!I have yet to go to a fete and REALLY REALLY enjoy myself...I guess because I am so accustomed to Brooklyn fetes being on point that I would expect the same from ATL fetes...especially if TRINIS is supposed to throwing it...The majority of de supposed Big fetes does just be a lime to me...Just my opinion...I dont want to discourage anyone from going to ATL carnival...Too much good fete will be going on in NY that weekend...
Member Since 1998
Credits: 42
Listen, Atlanta is NOT NY, although I see alot of NYer's down here. Can someone say "Cost of living!". Anyway, the mass of caribbean people that are in NY are not here in atlanta. So, what do you expect. Besides, what fetes have you been here to like that?
I came down here from Brooklyn/L.I. and yes it is different. I, too, was very bored. NY was the same way once. Brooklyn carnival started off in Harlem, then moved to Bklyn. And now it is very big. Well, Atlanta is in that beginning stage. Afterall, it's the south. We making waves down here. Bless |
Hellooo
Credits: 311
Oh by the way Tony i need to hail you up on something |
Snake Oil Gyal!!!
Credits: 23
I have been too many many fetes in ATL, starting from the well advertised, but low attendance of Soca City, numerous fetes in the Panyard, which are OK for the most part and countless parties at the Bookstore... I think one of the problems are Trinis dont support each other in ATL...With Soca City, the party was promoted well but Wayne Wonder was performing next door...I know of plenty Trinis who supported that show rather than Soca City... |