Old 08-14-2006, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Credits: 708
Article on mas...From Baby Dolls to Bikinis and Beads

In light of the talk of old mas as represented in Tribe mas...I felt compelled to post this...Any feedback would be great!

The TO people may have seen this already in caribbean Living some months back.

Whether it is in the design of the ever-present characters like the dragon and the Moko Jumbie or of a frontline section in the biggest band on the road, the artistry and craftsmanship of mas-making gives credence and texture to the tapestry that is Trinidad and Tobago's Carnival. In recent years, the fantasy band with beads, bikinis, and sequins has become more popular than the traditional band packed with historical references. Much of the history that was once found in the masquerade presentations of days gone is near extinct.

The bands of yesteryear highlighted deeply historical visions of the past through their concepts and costumes. Costumes designed by Harold Salendah, Wayne Berkeley, George Bailey, Bobby Ammons, Peter Minshall and countless other revered masmakers, depicted the conquests of Attila the Hun, Greek and Roman warriors, the glory of the people of Guinea, of the Amerindian tribes of the Caribbean, and a plethora of other scenes. Irwin McWilliams' 1978 Band of The Year winner "Know Yuh Country," featured a 3,500-member foray into Trinidad and Tobago's landscape. Citizens reveled in costumes like "Arima Dial," "Caroni Bird Sanctuary," "Chaconia Gold Awards," and "Pointe-a-Pierre Oil," with each section representing different aspects of Trinbagonian life.

Hubert Roberts, a Trinidadian born band leader with Borokeetes USA in Brooklyn, New York said, "In long time mas there were bands with more than one character, there were story lines- you could walk through a band and see decoration, wire bending, and other things that you would never see in today's mas."

Though often maligned because of its differences in design from old time mas, today's carnival presentations put forward very imaginative scenarios. The references made to history in old mas show themselves in today's productions. But instead of being confined only to the past, through visions of oceanic explosions or trips through enchanted forests proffered by bands like Island People, Poison, Tribe, and Hart's, new masmakers go into uncharted territories with their concepts and sometimes their materials.

As master wirebender and pioneer in Trinidad mas-making Lewiscito "Cito" Velasquez said, "The only thing that remains the same is change. Carnival is always changing, and even I changed it in my day, adding my own thing to the pretty mas." While the pretty mas designs of today's fantasy band are different from older constructions of masquerade, the levels of creativity are no where near disparate. Even with these new fangled designs the carnival tradition of escape and taking on new identities is still maintained; the spirit of expression is the thread that connects the old to the new.
All this stuff makes me wanna see if I can get in touch with the Tribe designers and get their take on.
Old 08-14-2006, 11:32 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 2,255
Nice article. You know for all that the traditionalists are talking about the historical inaccuracies of Tribe's presentation and how they can't educate anyone, have you noticed that since they launched this theme everyone looking up facts and info on the history of mas? It prompted me to buy Chalkdust's book on Amazon today (thanks to the Imixer that recommended it). So all in all, Tribe teaching us something one way or the other
Old 08-14-2006, 11:40 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 1,221
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva
Nice article. You know for all that the traditionalists are talking about the historical inaccuracies of Tribe's presentation and how they can't educate anyone, have you noticed that since they launched this theme everyone looking up facts and info on the history of mas? It prompted me to buy Chalkdust's book on Amazon today (thanks to the Imixer that recommended it). So all in all, Tribe teaching us something one way or the other
So are so right, for the last few days I have been putting in some serious research work. I actually learned the difference between Jab Jab and Jab Molassie. Even if they provide some inaccuracies at least they set forth that opportunity for people to educate themselves.
Old 08-14-2006, 11:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Thanks, I wrote and had it published awhile back. It was this and another one on Mas around the world...hell maybe I'll post that one too since both of the carnivals I focused on in the piece are coming up...

Back to the article itself...I dig what you're saying...their mas may not depict EVERY singular aspect of the traditional characters they chose to use in their presentation- the fact that they did it all shows that our culture is not dead. The questions being raised show that the zest to learn about it eh dead either.
Old 08-14-2006, 11:59 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 3,827
I have that book. Looks like the time for me to re-read it.

Old 08-15-2006, 12:03 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by SeReNDiPiTy
Thanks, I wrote and had it published awhile back. It was this and another one on Mas around the world...hell maybe I'll post that one too since both of the carnivals I focused on in the piece are coming up...

Back to the article itself...I dig what you're saying...their mas may not depict EVERY singular aspect of the traditional characters they chose to use in their presentation- the fact that they did it all shows that our culture is not dead. The questions being raised show that the zest to learn about it eh dead either.
I agree. The fact that they approached this and did it is good enough for me. And the fact that people (including me) are googling Jab Molassie and Jab jab is education enough for me. You can't expect Tribe or any band to take us by the hand and shove knowledge into our heads. We have to take that upon ourselves as well and just play our mas. Lose ourselves in it for a bit.

It at least raised awareness that the old time traditional mas is not dead. Correct or not, they even brought an extinct character back (the baby doll).

Old 08-15-2006, 12:04 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 15,270
Presenting inaccuracies and forcing people to go find the right answer ain't exactly teaching...but okay
Old 08-15-2006, 12:05 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
Presenting inaccuracies and forcing people to go find the right answer ain't exactly teaching...but okay
well, you know not all of us have Doctorates in Masology like some people so some of us bringout a pink bat and others run to google.

Old 08-15-2006, 12:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Originally Posted by shandy
well, you know not all of us have Doctorates in Masology like some people so some of us bringout a pink bat and others run to google.

Masology...
Old 08-15-2006, 12:14 AM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by SeReNDiPiTy
Masology...
Hey, it might as well be a major.

Old 08-15-2006, 12:18 AM   #11 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Originally Posted by shandy
Hey, it might as well be a major.

True
Old 08-15-2006, 12:31 AM   #12 (permalink)
UPaNddownLiKeAbAlL

Credits: 29
Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva
So are so right, for the last few days I have been putting in some serious research work. I actually learned the difference between Jab Jab and Jab Molassie. Even if they provide some inaccuracies at least they set forth that opportunity for people to educate themselves.
alot of people doh know de difference, i myself not 2 long ago eh know.
Old 08-15-2006, 04:52 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 3,729
for those who need some info on ole time mas...........

http://www.visittnt.com/ToDo/events/...e/default.html

http://www.nalis.gov.tt/carnival/carnival.htm

Last edited by SweetControversy; 08-15-2006 at 04:56 AM..
Old 08-15-2006, 05:35 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 267
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark

this is what i was thinking.....waht would of happend if no one pointed out the misinterpretations would anyone care to double check?
Old 08-15-2006, 10:55 AM   #15 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 52
Originally Posted by NEO ONE
this is what i was thinking.....waht would of happend if no one pointed out the misinterpretations would anyone care to double check?
Bingo!

I really wonder how many people outside of Imix will actually take the time to look into the history of the mas being portrayed. While I think Tribe is attempting a noble feat, most of the people playing mas these days don't really care about the concepts and history behind the mas. Remember that our carnival is basically a global affair and I really don't think the masquerader coming in from Australia will take the time to learn about their costume or any other costume coming out of Trinidad. People in Trinidad don't even care, far less for foreigners!

I still commend Tribe in their efforts with the historical presentation.