Old 10-28-2009, 01:20 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 56,842
Antilia Carnival in NYC

So since this is the third year for this event, i'm sure some imixer or peeper has been already. Can't find a review anywhere so please come and tell me how it was last year or year before. Details please.

In case anyone doesn't know the event I'm talking about its this one (taken from the FB page):

Sometimes, things just makes sense!

Like when you're faced with the opportunity to attend an event which features:
- a top shelf open bar
- mouth-watering Caribbean cuisine
- 360 penthouse views of the New York skyline
- exotic models in hand-made carnival costumes; and
- an ALL STAR cast.

...but other times, it just takes a little New York wind chill to help us remember just how much we love Caribbean HEAT.

On Thursday November 5th 2009, Antilia brings the warmth and energy of the Caribbean to the extravagant Tribeca Penthouse.

ANTILIA CARNIVAL 2009 features a fashion show and costume presentation by several of the top rival CARNIVAL BANDS in Trinidad & Tobago. Never before Antilia Carnival, have these bands been presented on the same stage!

The premier showcase for Trinidad Carnival in the US, the event allows Americans, Caribbean-Americans and the media to experience a taste of Carnival first-hand, from the exotic costumes and pulsating music to the celebration of freedom, unity and revelry that underscores Trinidad Carnival, right here in New York City.

"Antilia Carnival 2009" will be hosted by the most renowned Male Supermodel in the world, Jamaican-American | T Y S O N B E C K F O R D | alongside former Miss Universe (1998) Trinidadian | W E N D Y F I T Z W I L L I A M |

=================
SPECIAL LIVE PERFORMANCE
=================

In true "Rock the Runway" style, the event will also feature a never-before-seen intimate live performance by | M A C H E L M O N T A N O |

| M A C H E L M O N T A N O | is known as the "international King of Soca" and is considered by many to be the Caribbean's TOP entertainer, having recently sold out Radio City Music Hall this year, and Madison Square Garden two years in a row since 2007

Tickets begin at $65 and are now on sale via antilia.com, or through committee members.

DRESS TO KILL (for the paparazzi!)

**Next week Antilia also announces the first ever VIP travel packages to Trinidad Carnival in Feb 2010, including EVERYTHING you can think of... and a little bit more.

Limited availability, now accepting inquiries.

===
===

On behalf of Antilia, we thank you for your continued support and look forward to delivering an unforgettable experience at ANTILIA CARNIVAL 2009.
They love it; they living in a fool's paradise."
-Brother Valentino
Old 10-28-2009, 01:58 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 14,908
this is a step or 2 above my social class. i go pass unless yuh could train meh to drink with meh pinky finger in d air
Old 10-28-2009, 02:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Miss Innocent

Credits: 24,923
seems like a fun event to attend... I may give it a try....
Old 10-28-2009, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Picong View Post
this is a step or 2 above my social class. i go pass unless yuh could train meh to drink with meh pinky finger in d air
Nobody invite yuh I ask for reviews. Stay yuh tail in the bush.
-Brother Valentino
Old 10-28-2009, 03:06 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by GoldnHoney View Post
seems like a fun event to attend... I may give it a try....
I went ahead and ordered tix just in case they sell out but still not 100% sold. I really wanna hear from someone who went already.
-Brother Valentino
Old 10-28-2009, 03:08 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 14,908
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Nobody invite yuh I ask for reviews. Stay yuh tail in the bush.
wow.......remember dem words in 3 months
Old 10-28-2009, 03:10 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Picong View Post
wow.......remember dem words in 3 months

-Brother Valentino
Old 10-28-2009, 09:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,227
typical Manhattan party- other than the HD performance of "hits" the newest tune these selectors might play is Bomani- Wet
Old 10-29-2009, 09:27 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 4,351
i went the first year when they had the IP costumes featured. It was very crammed but the after party was very nice. Trini Jungle juice has a review from last year. I don't know how much you could trust their review because they rarely give a fete a negative review.
Old 10-29-2009, 01:37 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Chun Li View Post
i went the first year when they had the IP costumes featured. It was very crammed but the after party was very nice. Trini Jungle juice has a review from last year. I don't know how much you could trust their review because they rarely give a fete a negative review.
True but I wanted some kinda description so thanx much.
-Brother Valentino
Old 10-30-2009, 01:45 AM   #11 (permalink)
Miss Innocent

Credits: 24,923
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
I went ahead and ordered tix just in case they sell out but still not 100% sold. I really wanna hear from someone who went already.
kool...
Old 10-30-2009, 02:49 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 6,713
Went to the first carnival launch as well as a Machel's album launch the year before. Both events were really nice. The album launch was a bit more fun but as I am getting older I prefer more intimate settings, so that may be the reason. Overall, no complaints in both cases, music was good, bar was good. The riddim section in the first carnival launch was boss.
Old 10-30-2009, 11:34 AM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinidarkie View Post
Went to the first carnival launch as well as a Machel's album launch the year before. Both events were really nice. The album launch was a bit more fun but as I am getting older I prefer more intimate settings, so that may be the reason. Overall, no complaints in both cases, music was good, bar was good. The riddim section in the first carnival launch was boss.
Thanks. Between TJJ and your reviews I'll take the chance and come out my hole Thursday night.
-Brother Valentino
Old 10-30-2009, 07:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
100 % Haitian-0 % Yankee

Location: Brooklyn.Flatbush –Kings county Borough (home to the largest Islanders,west-Indian, Caribbean community living aboard from home)state of statue of liberty
Credits: 5,786
[QUOTE=BacchanalDiva;3346926]So since this is the third year for this event, i'm sure some imixer or peeper has been already. Can't find a review anywhere so please come and tell me how it was last year or year before. Details please. In case anyone doesn't know the event I'm talking about its this one (taken from the FB page): Sometimes, things just makes sense! Like when you're faced with the opportunity to attend an event which features: - a top shelf open bar - mouth-watering Caribbean cuisine - 360 penthouse views of the New York skyline - exotic models in hand-made carnival costumes; and - an ALL STAR cast. ...but other times, it just takes a little New York wind chill to help us remember just how much we love Caribbean HEAT. On Thursday November 5th 2009, Antilia brings the warmth and energy of the Caribbean to the extravagant Tribeca Penthouse. ANTILIA CARNIVAL 2009 features a fashion show and costume presentation by several of the top rival CARNIVAL BANDS in Trinidad & interesting !!!!!

(R.I.P Grandpa-your memories will always be here with me !!!!).

I'm Chillin in New Orleans,Louisiana with Beyonce' and Lil Wayne and lil' Fizz (b2k),Fleur-de-lis (imix creole,homegirl) .Drinking some Hand-Grenade (Liquor Drink), near The Bayou.
Old 10-30-2009, 11:40 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 9,039
I'm still on the fence about this but i might end up going. Don't really care to much for the performance just looking to hear good music and experience an all inclusive event in N.Y. besides a boat ride.