isle of siwo
Credits: 3,826
Antigua Carnival
i seein threads bout all other carnivals and not wadadli...
i hav heard nice tings from persons who hav experienced antigua carnival and from wat i saw on de show on BET tings nice in wadadli. so leh we hear about de vibes nuh. lola, yanktiguan, anbody ![]() Last edited by shabine; 05-31-2006 at 11:41 PM.. |
Lucy-furrr
Credits: 1,079
shabine!!!! wah yuh warh know, look we here...
CC is usually saturated with mas related threads about costumes etc. Honestly speaking, that part of Carnival does nothing for me. I have never played mas, and so I hardly ever come in this forum. Anything else you need to know though, from the shows, the music, the limes, the air, the beaches, the food, please ask away. Its Carnival season baby... I cant wait. ![]() |
Spitfire
Credits: 243
Mawnin' shabine...as yanks stated I have never played mas either so all i can say is to check
http://antiguacarnival.com/mas.htm which provides the links to all the major mas troupes in Wadadli. All I can say is that the troupes do it up wid alot of nice pre-mas parties and limes to get you amped up for the road. You have heard correctly though..Antigua Carnival wikked no fleck and is plenty betta than what BET showed. |
rhel sweet
Credits: 9,247
i like de whole vibe of Antigua carnival
it's different coz de ppl not really dat big on de costume bizniss but dey hav good music and kno how tuh hav a good time AND DEY WILE NO A$$ so if yuh plan tuh jam wit dem, make sure yuh cud take jammin ![]() ![]() being de Trini dat i am, i into de party vibe as well as de costume dem i'm not sure bout any band launches except for Passion Mas troupe and i kno dat Claudette launch her section in Passion recently i will try to get sum pics to post so while yanks and Lola dealing wit de vibe and atmosphere, i go show allyuh de beads, feathers and colours ![]() |
Credits: 34,874
![]() I'm with you I'll be playing Mas down there why not ![]() Do know with who but I will ![]() |
rhel sweet
Credits: 9,247
ah wonder if CP hav a male costume ![]() ah only see female |
isle of siwo
wah happenin on monday and tuesday. is there costume bands on both days?
which is de big fete on carnival sunday before jouvert? |
Lucy-furrr
Credits: 1,079
On the Sunday before jouvert, there is the Calypso Monarch competition which is one of the biggest of the CDC shows. There is also Lions Den, where Flames perform on their truck as opposed to the stage that night because at 4am, they headed right out onto the road. There are usually other fetes as well, I believe bands also play at the now defunct Jolly Roger parking lot. People also just lime around town in or rest up in preparation for jouvert. ![]() |
isle of siwo
oho so jouvert does actually start at 4am? |
Credits: 2,473
Well maybe nextyear for me but now i juss waitin for d music, particularly for yoo kno who(s)...now dem trickling likkle by likkle.
Spitfire
Well technically yes...buh many of the jambands still fine tuning and ting so at exactly 4am is usually the steel bands an maybe de iron bands on de road. Shabine...I hope u can withstand no sleep from Sunday til Wednesday @jahprikme:from pics I saw u post from TNT carnival u was limin' wid some man I know from Xtreme's so if dat yuh pardna then I would suggest dem. However, all the mass troupes in Dadli are fun from Dynamics (RHF Troupe), to Passions and Revellers. |
Credits: 54
What can I say, been playing mas in Anitgua since I was 3...it where I got hooked...real nice vibes....http://bmobiledynamics.com check it out
Spitfire
Dynamics adult mas band looking noiiiiiiiiiiiiiice!! I am pleasantly surprised .....i find this years costumes looking the best I've seen from them in a long while. I'm disappointed in Xtreme this year..the men's costumes are plain and stale, and the women only have three sections dat really cute and dem dun sell out. I goin' to check what Passions have goin' on right now. De bmobile chune nice ![]() |