Old 10-14-2005, 09:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,230
Am I measuring correctly?

My cousin had to take a guess at my measurements and she put down 34" for my waist/hips.

Now, a bit lower than my belly button where most of my clothes fit, i am about 34". But if you measure straight around my butt, it's around 37".

So am i good or is that a problem? Or does it depend on how the costume is made or put on?

(i'm all worried, ah just want meh costume to fit)
Old 10-14-2005, 10:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
CC JUNKIE

Credits: 149
Originally Posted by currygyal
My cousin had to take a guess at my measurements and she put down 34" for my waist/hips.

Now, a bit lower than my belly button where most of my clothes fit, i am about 34". But if you measure straight around my butt, it's around 37".

So am i good or is that a problem? Or does it depend on how the costume is made or put on?

I sew for other people and when I measure hips I measure 10" down from the natural waist.. or the fullest part of the hip. It kind of depends on what your costume looks like. If you have a whole bottom or a skirt it might be a little snug. If it's a panty don't sweat it.
Old 10-14-2005, 10:08 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 56,867

The waist measurement you want to use is the circumfrence of whereever you want the waist band of the costume to sit. That's all personal preference. Like I don't wear anything but dress slacks on my waist because my figure is most flattered with the waist hanging somewhat low. For this reason I buy my jeans a lil bigger. My actual waist measurement is 30" but I dropped the tape measure down and registered for I think a 34 (if I remember correctly). For HIPS you do want the measure going around that part of your butt that sticks out the most so you did that correctly.

If you say you did a lil under your navel then you should be good and remember that most costumes have a lil room to play with / adjust anyway.
They love it; they living in a fool's paradise."
-Brother Valentino
Old 10-14-2005, 10:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Whatever Lola wants...

Credits: 464
I gave them my pelvis measurement, below my belly buitton but above my butt (35) and my hips around my butt (38). I want to wear my waistband where my jeans fit, not on my waist or my butt and that's what Tiffany at IP told me to do so you should be fine....or just lose an inch or two before Feb to be on the safe side!
Old 10-14-2005, 10:12 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by herbaltees
I sew for other people and when I measure hips I measure 10" down from the natural waist.. or the fullest part of the hip. It kind of depends on what your costume looks like. If you have a whole bottom or a skirt it might be a little snug. If it's a panty don't sweat it.
Really now? You going T&T C2K6? You playing w/ IP? Most importantly....you gonna be at IP mas camp Carnival Tuesday morning?
-Brother Valentino
Old 10-14-2005, 10:14 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by GoldenBrown
I gave them my pelvis measurement, below my belly buitton but above my butt (35) and my hips around my butt (38). I want to wear my waistband where my jeans fit, not on my waist or my butt and that's what Tiffany at IP told me to do so you should be fine....or just lose an inch or two before Feb to be on the safe side!
Why does that sound like a GYN exam?
-Brother Valentino
Old 10-14-2005, 10:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Whatever Lola wants...

Credits: 464
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva
Why does that sound like a GYN exam?
you nasty!
Old 10-14-2005, 10:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Don't Watch Me, Watch TV

Credits: 203

I have to turn in my measurements to Tiffany today also. I put on a little size and I am expecting to lose about 5 pounds before carnival. Should I give them my current measurements now and then they will make the necessary corrections if I lose weight?
am-i-measuring-correctly-guar_b_vert_lg5.jpg  
Old 10-14-2005, 10:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
CC JUNKIE

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva
Really now? You going T&T C2K6? You playing w/ IP? Most importantly....you gonna be at IP mas camp Carnival Tuesday morning?
Sorry, I'm a Tribe gal.
Old 10-14-2005, 11:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,230
Originally Posted by herbaltees

This is it...
Old 10-14-2005, 11:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
CC JUNKIE

This is it...
Nice bottom piece.

I wouldn't worry too much about the hips size then. Where did you measure the waist?
Old 10-14-2005, 01:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ms.Allison

Credits: 247

hmmmm we seem to be the same size i also measure 34" for my waist... around my butt is 37"

im also worried that my costume may fit too big or too small