Credits: 1,035
All Hail Montano And Mac Farlane The Kings OF THE ROAD
Clean sweep for MacFarlane
![]() IT was jubilation time yesterday evening for bandleader Brian MacFarlane and members of his team as they celebrated their win—Band of the Year in the National Carnival Commission’s Parade of the Bands competition—with champagne at their mas camp, Rosalino Street, Woodbrook. Throngs of supporters who flocked the mas camp were entertained by the Malick Tassa Drummers and the Laventille Rhythm Section. MacFarlane’s yet-to-be-dismantled king Raj Kumar Boyie adorned the street outside of the building, a spectacle to those who gathered and who passed by. In photo, MacFarlane is hoisted by excited members of his camp Brian Smith, left, and Darryl Joseph as they revel in their win. Photo: Anthony Harris By Shaliza Hassanali ALTHOUGH his costume Raj Kumar Boyie was disqualified from the semifinal of the 2007 Kings of Carnival competition, bandleader Brian MacFarlane still managed to capture the large Band of the Year title yesterday in the National Carnival Commission (NCC) Parade of the Bands competition. MacFarlane’s presentation, India—The Story of Boyie, took the large band category in both the George Bailey and Lil Hart titles. MacFarlane also emerged victorious in the large band category in downtown Port-of-Spain competition, which he won last year. With his first Band of the Year title in the bag, MacFarlane said he planned to showcase his India—The Story of Boyie in Paris, in 2009, for the world to see. Last year, MacFarlane placed second in the George Bailey, Harold Saldenha and Lil Hart awards large band category. Vice chairman of NCC Felix Celestine said the first prize for the Band of the Year award would be significantly increased this year. This information will be announced in due course,” Felix said. Last year’s Band of the Year winner Trini Revellers took home $100,000. The announcement of the official Carnival results was made yesterday by Theodore Villaroel, chief judge of the NCC’s adjudication committee in the presence of Minister of Culture Joan Yuille-Williams and NCC’s chairman Keston Nancoo in Port-of-Spain. I am overwhelmed and thrilled…I still can’t believe it,” said MacFarlane, during a brief telephone interview. My entire body is still numb. The news has not sunken in as yet.” Basking in the glory of his success, the bandleader heaped praises on his masqueraders for bringing his costumes to life with their thrilling performances on the streets. He also thanked his mas camp crew for working around the clock. Without them I could not have done it…It was a team effort,” he said. MacFarlane said he was put in a difficult position after he was forced to relocate from his old mas camp at Ariapita Ave to Rosalino Street, Woodbrook, in January. After moving in to our new location, we had only six weeks to put the costumes together,” he said. While we were building our costumes, walls were being erected in the mas camp…Everything was haywire. But we still managed to emerge victorious even though the odds were against us.” MacFarlane said his victory showed that people wanted to see real mas on the streets. Within the next few months, MacFarlane said, he planned to visit Paris, to put on a stage production with India—The Story of Boyie, expected to come off in 2009. He said the band would have to be reduced to make the once-in-a-lifetime trip. It would showcase our culture and talent…This is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity,” he said. Asked what were his plans for next year, MacFarlane said he was toying with an idea that dealt with Earth and its natural environment. ©2005-2006 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited Machel, Kernel do it again Jumbie rules the road ![]() Road March champ Largest Road March margin in history, says Tuco president Repeat win for Machel Montano and Kernel Roberts Road March a divine victory, says Montano BY CORDIELLE STREET THE dynamic soca duo of Machel Montano and Kernel Roberts has done it again, taking yet another Road March title with an historic thrashing of their opponents. With the widest margin in the history of the Road March campaign, according to Trinbago Unified Calypsonians Organisation (Tuco) president Michael Leggerton, Montano and Roberts with the runaway hit Jumbie have proven once and for all they have what it takes to dominate the Carnival competition. Jumbie earned an overall 388 plays while Shurwayne Winchester’s Open The Gate came in a distant second with 34 plays, only one play above third placed Patrice Roberts with Sugar Boy, who shared fourth place with Montano with Light it Up. The slower paced Cold Sweat by Edwin “Crazy” Ayoung rounded off fifth place with 17 plays. Last year, another collaboration, Band of the Year, sung by Montano and former Road March queen Roberts but penned by Kernel, son of the late Lord Kitchener, was played 334 times compared to Winchester’s second place Ah Can’t Wait at 98. Montano, contacted yesterday, jokingly referred to the win as a “cut arse.” We intended to retain the title, but beyond that we just wanted to make the best songs we possibly could,” he said in a phone interview. Jumbie is very revolutionary as a song, and it showed in the response of the country.” Montano said it was one of Roberts’ dreams to repeat as Road March winner. I think Road March comes in a divine moment…You have to be worthy to receive it, and anybody can be worthy to receive, but you have to put yourself in the right place. We are not really writing these songs with a formula. Kernel had the inspiration for it and he had the melody and he came to me with it,” said Montano, who credited other members of the HD family including soca artiste Zan for their input on the hit. However, the song, which was released three weeks before Carnival Monday, had to be altered when it became apparent there would be no Queen’s Park Savannah, Port-of-Spain, stage. “We did catch ourselves changing some of the lyrics from the songs, especially Light It Up, and there was a change in Jumbie because the first line of the song was we were ‘storming the stage,’” said Montano. Having played mas for the past seven years, Montano did have issues with this year’s Parade of the Bands’ route, which encompassed the outskirts of the Savannah. You still had to wait on Charlotte Street to cross the judging point right in front of the still erected Grand Stand, and in general being on the road there was just not enough room to party.” Celebrating his 25th anniversary in the music industry, Montano, who called 2007 Carnival his “smoothest,” has a sold-out Madison Square Garden, New York City, show on March 23. ©2005-2006 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited |
Credits: 6,717
Congrats to them both.
Enjoyin de lime
Credits: 249
I'm glad for them. MacFarlane's presentation was fantastic and the best by far. I saw Trini Revellers first and the costumes portrayed the French Revolution nicely. But when MacFarlane got to the Savannah for their presentation...WOW! Truly a wonderful sight.
As for Jumbie, no contest. They could have proclaimed it as the Road March by Carnival Monday afternoon. ~out ah body, back to yourself now~![]() |
Cover Girl
Credits: 3,203
Yeah I have been saying Mac Farlane is in a league of his own. I'm glad he is going to get to showcase his talent in Paris. It's almost an insult after you see his work and presentation. Then what others call a presentation.lol ![]() NCC need to award him at least $500,000 for making Trinidad carnival look that good.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered. Last edited by Pebbles362436; 02-22-2007 at 12:20 PM.. |
Enjoyin de lime
Credits: 249
You know how hard it is to hide in Port Of Spain?!? Steups...everywhere I turn is only Imixers. Seriously, though...this dial up thing is ridiculous so I will remain scarce until I find high-speed. |
Cover Girl
Credits: 3,203
I'm going to have to take better notes from STRYKA. I hope yuh went Girl power and Trini Posse to represent to the fullest again babe. Those dial up computers in Trinidad suck. I was like hello I'm on vacation here. We'll if you see Cyp tell him I said to treat you to Royal Castle.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered. |
So I Hear Machel Won Roadmarch
It Is Now Safe To Say That Trinidad Carnival Was A Disaster/disappointment???

~out ah body, back to yourself now~

I'm going to have to take better notes from STRYKA. I hope yuh went Girl power and Trini Posse to represent to the fullest again babe. Those dial up computers in Trinidad suck. I was like hello I'm on vacation here.
We'll if you see Cyp tell him I said to treat you to Royal Castle.