Old 12-03-2003, 11:37 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 41,525
About these male costumes

I see alot of legitimate... no, VERY LEGITIMATE gripes from our fellow male mas players in regards to these costumes. So I need enlightening on something. Why is it so difficult to design male costumes that are not plain, ugly or queer looking? from Poison I only see a handful that are worth considering, my faves are Golden Cockfight, Jungle Fever (the shorts option), Waikiki (the long pants sailor option) and Discomania. The rest of them look like they belong in the Gay Pride parade or back to the drawing board.

Old 12-03-2003, 11:51 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 1,076
I don't understand how come they do not ask men their opinions before going public with a design....

I'll be very scared if they did and those men approved them
Old 12-03-2003, 11:59 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 41,525
Originally posted by trinisunshine
I don't understand how come they do not ask men their opinions before going public with a design....

I'll be very scared if they did and those men approved them
I was wondering about that too. There's no way if I was a man I would approve of 80% of these "things" they call costumes. As a woman I wouldn't want to see my man in a getup like Moulin Rouge or Atlantis.

Old 12-03-2003, 12:26 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,076
Yeah..I wouldn't really approve a lot of them either..They are a bit feminine fuh me...
Originally posted by shandy
I was wondering about that too. There's no way if I was a man I would approve of 80% of these "things" they call costumes. As a woman I wouldn't want to see my man in a getup like Moulin Rouge or Atlantis.
Old 12-03-2003, 01:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 576
Honestly,

Most men don't really care what they are wearing for carnival. The most important thing is having plenty drinks and as much nice woman to whine on. So I think the designers know this and don't put alot of thought or time into designing their costumes. Come carnival day, the only thing these men will be wearing anyway is their pants and maybe the piece around their legs!

I've had male friends that have told me they don't care what they are wearing as long as it have plenty nice women in their section. You imix guys are the first I've heard complain about the male costumes (not saying this is bad). But everyone knows "CARNIVAL IS WOMAN" with de men on de sidelines
Old 12-03-2003, 01:50 PM   #6 (permalink)

i'm a man and i care :) and i know plenty others that do too..

i'm not too fussed what the costume looks like... i would just like a nice simple design...that doesnt look GAY!!

we are on the road for plenty hours and i have got to feel comfortable with what i'm wearing..

take a look at Atlantis Mens - it just isnt right!! even if i knew there was gonna be 500 women and just me - i wouldnt wear that costume!.. hmm..well then again...

for me the best mens costume is Happy Hour.. but the colors arent that great

so it looks liek it will be Jungle Fever (with shorts) or Enchante for me
Old 12-03-2003, 02:21 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 31
SOLID GOLD ACTUALLY HAS A NICE MALE COSTUME..
Old 12-03-2003, 02:30 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 3,026
Originally posted by londonBwoy
i'm a man and i care :) and i know plenty others that do too..

i'm not too fussed what the costume looks like... i would just like a nice simple design...that doesnt look GAY!!

we are on the road for plenty hours and i have got to feel comfortable with what i'm wearing..

take a look at Atlantis Mens - it just isnt right!! even if i knew there was gonna be 500 women and just me - i wouldnt wear that costume!.. hmm..well then again...

for me the best mens costume is Happy Hour.. but the colors arent that great

so it looks liek it will be Jungle Fever (with shorts) or Enchante for me
You would wear that bright orange thing?

I agree Happy Hour male costume is not half bad.
Old 12-03-2003, 02:49 PM   #9 (permalink)

it goes to show how bad the costumes are this year - but i would wear the orange thing - but without the hat ...it could work

anyway, its all irrelevant as it looks like its jungle fever for me
Old 12-03-2003, 04:02 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 1,038
Originally posted by classyivy1
Honestly,

Most men don't really care what they are wearing for carnival. The most important thing is having plenty drinks and as much nice woman to whine on. So I think the designers know this and don't put alot of thought or time into designing their costumes. Come carnival day, the only thing these men will be wearing anyway is their pants and maybe the piece around their legs!

I've had male friends that have told me they don't care what they are wearing as long as it have plenty nice women in their section. You imix guys are the first I've heard complain about the male costumes (not saying this is bad). But everyone knows "CARNIVAL IS WOMAN" with de men on de sidelines
WHAT MEN DONT CARE? THOSE MEN ARE'NT REAL MEN THERE IS NO HETRO MAN ON THE PLANET WHO WANTS TO LOOK GAY, YES WE ALL LIKE DRINKS AND SWEET SWEEEEET WOMEN ,BUT OTHER MEN WILL BE LOOKIN, AND A HOT RED BLOODED MAN WILL DEAD OF SHAME,SHAME I SAID TO BE CAUGHT LOOKIN LIKE AH BATTY BOUY IN FROUNT OF HIS FRIENDS AND FELLOW MEN.

MEN DON'T CARE WHAT THEY WEARING STUEEEEEEEEPS PLEEEEEEZE IF ANY MAN WILL PAY MONEY TO LOOK GAY HE GAY.
Old 12-03-2003, 04:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 576

I have tuh laugh at you Neo....

What makes a costume look gay? Maybe if yuh walking around in ah piece of underwear fine!

To me the male costumes are just ridiculous looking. It all depends on how YOU look in your costume. Believe me, carnival day you will see how many man will be walking around in those same ridiculous costumes looking good, STRAIGHT (and fine ) as ever!

I am still of the belief that men don't care about carnival costumes (you guys are the first I've ever heard complaining). Believe me, my peeps are Carnival veterans playing for years and every year they say the same thing "I don't care what section or band I'm in as long as I have drinks and surrounded by women". Cuz anyway, the costume NEVER stays on a man! Women are different. We want pretty, and we want sexy and we want to take our costumes back home with us. Are you planning on adding your costume to your archive :0
Old 12-03-2003, 04:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Bes' Wife Status

Credits: 421
Originally posted by classyivy1
Honestly,

I actually talked my hubby in to playing mas (for the first time in his entire life), and he is the pickiest man on the globe, however his concerns were the same as those expressed by many of the i-mix fellas...NOTHING GIRLY. Truth of the matter is designers don't really dwell on the male design. The bulk of the people playing ARE female, so I guess they might need to start putting a little more into the male designs. Note however that the male costumes are usually considerably less in price than the female costume (even "all-inclusive"), so I guess the more elaborate it becomes is the more $$ you might be looking at.

I must say I do find something slightly odd about the fellas that "OVERDRAMATIZE" the importance of "design" of their costume , truth of the matter is you'll look just like the rest of the men in your section, wid a woman wining on yuh:p

Last edited by OilInDeCoil; 12-03-2003 at 04:59 PM..
Old 12-03-2003, 04:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Bes' Wife Status

Credits: 421
Originally posted by udyal@aol.com
SOLID GOLD ACTUALLY HAS A NICE MALE COSTUME..

It's actually wee bit better than alot of the others in truth
Old 12-03-2003, 04:59 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 27
Originally posted by londonBwoy
it goes to show how bad the costumes are this year - but i would wear the orange thing - but without the hat ...it could work

anyway, its all irrelevant as it looks like its jungle fever for me

yes boy. I agree.....play in JF......we go have a time.
Old 12-03-2003, 05:00 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 1,038