Old 05-15-2008, 01:05 PM   #1 (permalink)

You know you're West Indian if

> >
> > * you've never seen your parents kiss or do anything
> > remotely romantic! (esp your GrandParents)
> >
> > * You have something that represents your country
> hanging
> > from your rearview mirror
> >
> > * YOU KNOW WHAT IT IS LIKE TO BE 'SENT FOR THE BELT'
> >
> > * When you get licks, its to a riddim example: ..
> didnt...
> > (insert lick)... i....(insert lick)... ...tell.....(insert
> > lick)...you.......(insert lick)... not......(insert
> lick)...to......
> > (insert lick)...do....(insert lick)...that!...(insert X amount
> of
> > licks)
> >
> > * When you go to someone's house late in the evening you
>
> > tell the host 'Good Night'
> >
> > * YOU WALK WITH YOUR OWN PEPPER SAUCE!!
> >
> > * When you were little and you got licks and start to
> cry
> > your Mum would ask, ' Yuh want something to cry fah?'
> >
> > * SORREL IS A CHRISTMAS DRINK, NOT EGGNOG
> >
> > * WHEN YOU REACH HOME YOU CHANGE INTO HOUSE CLOTHES
> >
> > * you bring home left over food from any function and
> any
> > party
> >
> > * WHEN YOU GET 98 OUT OF 100 ON A TEST.. YUH PARENTS ASK
> YOU
> > 'WHAT DE RASS HAPPEN TO THE OTHER 2 MARKS??'
> >
> > * Someone in your family is a mechanic
> >
> > * You show disapproval by sucking your teeth
> >
> > * You have a thyme (or mint) bush growing somewhere in
> your
> > yard.
> >
> > * 'SOON COME' IS A FIGURE OF SPEECH
> >
> > * You hate to throw away empty containers as they might
> come
> > in handy for pepper sauce or 'green seasonings'.
> >
> > * You call stupid people ningcome poop, dotish,
> tootoombey,
> > or chupidee or MudduhAss
> >
> > * You tried hiding from licks
> >
> > * you know that blue soap makes white clothes whiter.
> >
> > * You say words like Heg (instead of Egg); Hingland
> (instead
> > of
> > England).
> >
> > * you have at least one relative living in Canada or the US
> >
> > * You know the difference between Wine, Whine and WINE!!!
> >
> > * You can call your fellow country man by an ethnic name
>
> > fondly and it would be okay. eg: darkie, reds, dougs, chinee-
> man,
> > creole, red-man, white-boy
> >
> > * you can indetify someone as coollie in an instant
> >
> > * you can Insert blank here... 'Who don't hear ________
> > feel!!'
> >
> > * You have been Beaten with an extention cord, a
> nintendo
> > or tv cable, hanger or your mom's house slippers or the POT
> SPOON
> > and when it break you get beat for
> > breaking it
> >
> > * THERE IS ALWAYS VASELINE IN THE HOUSE
> >
> > * everybody is always expecting something when u go back
> to
> > the west indies.
> >
> > * everybody is expecting something when u come back from
> the
> > west indies.
> >
> > BE PROUD
Old 05-15-2008, 04:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Having A Time

I get this the other day and thought it was to funny because EVERY single one applies to me, (except that Hingland and Hegg once since I am no Jamaican).....I PROUD TOO
Old 05-15-2008, 08:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA

this is too funny
all except the "hegg" and thyme tree in the yard apply to me
Old 05-16-2008, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
100 % Haitian-0 % Yankee

Location: Brooklyn.Flatbush –Kings county Borough (home to the largest Islanders,west-Indian, Caribbean community living aboard from home)
> > * you have at least one relative living in Canada or the US

everybody is always expecting something when u go back
to
> > the west indies

everybody is expecting something when u come back from
> the
> > west indies.

Those i mention above are so true, my Family from Montre'al always coming down To Nyc to visit.

Every time i go to Haiti, my Freinds always want me to bring back some Rum, Magones,SugarCane, or Some Gold -(Braclet, Earnings, or etc)

I tell sure i'll bring them some magones as long customs, don't confisdate from me.

This thread so True !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lmao......................lol

Thanks again see you phony people next year !!!!!!! ,2k9.

(R.I.P Grandpa-your memories will always be here with me !!!!).

I'm Chillin in New Orleans with Beyonce' and Lil Wayne Drinking some Hand-Grenade (Liquor Drink), near The Bayou.
Old 05-16-2008, 05:58 PM   #5 (permalink)

That getting a 98 and asking y u aint get a 100 is soooo true.. Steupsss

I never understood that..lol.
Old 05-16-2008, 06:49 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
That getting a 98 and asking y u aint get a 100 is soooo true.. Steupsss

I never understood that..lol.
Me neither .
Old 05-19-2008, 10:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Sweet like sugarcane

I just recently saw these on a facebook group- definitely accurate for the most part.

(Those names for stupid people are not really used in J.A.)
Old 05-20-2008, 04:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Aziza Akousa

mad funny....all are true for me except the Hegg and Hingland one!! ...am very PROUD to be a WEST INDIAN