Old 10-26-2003, 08:14 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 41
This Is The Complete "trini Alphabet" Enjoy!!

>"A"
>
>Ah -Substitute for "I"
>
>Allyuh -All of you people. A group
>
>Ax (Ask). -To ask a question
>
>Aye-yah-yie -An expression of anticipation or pain, etc.
>
>"B"
>
>Bacchanal -Scandal, heavy quarreling, big party, confusion
>
>Back chat -Insolent response, especially from a child to an adult
>
>Bad eye(cut-eye) -A look of anger, especially when looking from the
>
>corner of the eye
>
>Ba-John -A bully or a really tough customer
>
>Bamsee -The rear end, what you sit on
>
>Bam-se Lambe -Rather attractive bamsee
>
>Bol'face -A pushy person, unreasonably demanding
>
>Broughtupsy -Showing that a person was properly brought up, decorum
>
>Buh wait nah -But wait a minute, now hold on/it
>
>"C"
>
>Callaloo -A thick soup made from dasheen leaves, ochroes, coconut
>
>milk, seasoned to taste, invariably includes crab
>
>Calypso -A musical and lyrical comment on any subject, usually
>
>composed for, but not limited to, the Carnival season
>
>Calypsonian One who sings calypsoes
>
>Cheups(Steups) -A noise made by sucking your teeth
>
>Chinkee -Very tiny portions of anything
>
>Chupid -Stupid
>
>Chupidee -A foolish person
>
>Coki-eye -Cross-eyed
>
>Commesse -Confusion associoated with arguments, gossip and slander
>
>Cuff -Hitting someone or something with a clenched fist
>
>Cyah -Can't
>
>"D"
>
>Da is you? -Is that you?
>
>Dan-dan -Any sharp looking outfit
>
>Dat good for yuh -Serves you right
>
>Dat -That
>
>Doh -Don't
>
>Dotish -Silly, stupid, foolish and dumb
>
>Dougla -Mixture of East Indians and African parentage
>
>Drevait(dree-vay) -Wayward person who likes to "knock about"
>
>"E"
>
>Eh -What did you say?
>
>Eh-eh -No, no way, oh no
>
>Eh-heh -Oh really? I understand. Yes
>
>En'less -Plenty, endless
>
>Ent? -Is that not so? That's true, isn't it?
>
>"F"
>
>Fall out -To stop speaking with someone or to terminate a friendship
>
>Faddah -Father
>
>Fed up -The state of being bored
>
>Fete -A party, loud music, lots to eat and drink, dancing to wee
>
>hours of the morning
>
>Flim -Film
>
>Founkie(foong-key) -Foul-smelling, stink odour
>
>Fuh true/troot? -Yes that is true. Is that really so?
>
>"G"
>
>Goin'orf -Someone who appears to be going out of their mind, acting
>
>strangely
>
>Gun talk -Fighting words, to threaten verbally
>
>Gyul - Girl
"H"

Harden -Disobedient

Hototo(hotoetoe) -A very large amount of anything

"I"

I eh payin' tax fuh mih mout' -I could say anything I want

In ting -To be involved in current activity

Is so? -Is that so?

"J"

Jeez-an-ages -Used for any reason where an outburst is Appropriate

Jook -To stab at anything

Jumbie -Spirit, ghost
>
>Jus'now -In a little while

Jus'so? -Just like that?

Jus'so -Out of the blue, totally unexpected

"K"

Ketch -Catch

Klim -Any brand of powdered milk

"L"

Lef dat -Leave that

Leh -Let, let's
Leh go -Let go

Leh we -Let us

Lick dong -To accidentally hit someone or something

Licks -A beating, physical punishment

Like t'ing -To be somewhat mischievous
Lil'bit -In small meaningless portions

Lime -When a small group of people engage in a sometimes

pre-arranged activity

Long eye -A person who is envious of the possessions of others

Look nuh! -An expression of annoyance

"M"

Maco -A person who minds other people's business for the purpose of

gossip.

Macocious -A person having the trait of a maco

Maga -Very thin, skinny

Mamaguy -To make fun of, to ridicule

Mama Yo! -Expression denoting shock and surprise

Matter Fix -Everything is well organized

Mih han' slip -An expression used when too much of an ingredient is

Mooma -Mothered

Mout'er -A boaster

Much up -To pamper, to butter up

"N"

Nah -No

Nastiness -An expression of disgust applied to a good-for nothing

person

Never see come see -Someone who has recently been exposed to

something new and who overdoes it to ridiculous proportions

Ning ning -Tired eyes

Now fuh now -Instantly

Nowherian -A person who does not have any fixed place of abode

"O"

Obzokee -Awkward in appearance, anything bent or twisted out of

shape

Oh geed! -An expression used when an offensive smell arises

OH gosh!-

Oh gorm man!-

Oh shimps man!- These are all expressions denoting shock, surprise

indignation and admiration

Ol' talk -Idle chatter, social chit-chat

One set ah -A lot of anything

Own-way -Stubborn person

"P"

Pallet -Frozen lolly

Papa yo! -Exclamation of surprise

Pesh -Money

Pissin' tail -A person of no class or importance

Planasse -To hit someone continuously with the flat part of a

cutlass

Playin' social -Someone who pretends to be of a higher social strata

than they are

Pong -Pound

Po-po -Very small child, baby

Prim-prim -Disgustingly proper and formal
"Q"

Quenk -An irritating person

Qualey -Withered, dried up

"R"

Raff -To grab suddenly
Ragadang -Broken down

Ram-cram -Packed to capacity
Rumfle -Ruffled or wrinkled

"S"

Saga boy/girl -Flashy dresser, dandy

Shades -Sunglasses

Shif' yuh carcass -Move over, get going

Shub -Shove, move or cast aside

Skinnin' yuh teet' -Grinning

Skin up yuh nose -To turn up one's nose at anything

Sometimeish -Moody

Strims -Shrimps

Sweetie -Any confectionary

Swell up yuh face -To look angry, to pout

"T"

Tabanca -The forlorn feeling one gets when a love affair is over

Tanty -Aunt

Tight -Intoxicated, drunk, stoned

T'ing -Thing

To besides -Besides which

Too-tool-bay -A confused state,in a daze, also head over heels in

love

Tot tots -Female breasts

"U"

Umpteen -Plenty of anything

"V"

Vampin' -An offensive smell

Vaps -To suddenly behave excitedly or in a strange manner

"W"

Wajang -A roudy, uncouth person

Warap -A very weak mixture

Well yes! -An expression of disbelief

Whappen? -What's the matter with you?

Wha-happenin' dey? -What's happening

Whey -Where

Whey yuh say? -What did you say?

"Y"

Yampee -Mucus, found in the corner of the eye

You an' all? -You too?

You so -People like you
Yuh faddah head -An expression of annoyance

Yuh faddah is a glassmaker? -You are blocking my view.
Yuh look fuh dat -It's your own fault

Yuh makin' joke! -You can't be serious!

"Z"

Zug-up -A rough and uneven cutting of anything

If more than 3 of these words are unfamiliar to you, YOU ARE OBVIOUSLY NOT
A TRUE TRINI!!!!!!
Old 10-26-2003, 08:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
~Sweet Sugah City Gyul~

Credits: 39
all those words are familiar to me............But I'm not a trini. Ah was juss havin' convo wit my trini friends about that, dey say dat ah does jack dey stye of talkin', but I try to explain to them all di time that ppl from di leeward/ winward Islands duh talk like dat to (SKN, V.I., st. marteen, etc)..
Old 10-28-2003, 03:13 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 41
LOL all ah we is 1 familyyyy