Old 07-13-2003, 10:49 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 649
Question What's the DEAL on Caribbean non-swimmers?

For all my life I never understood why so many Caribbean people can't swim. Why?
First: Can you swim?
Second: When did you learn?
Third: Did you grow up in the Caribbean? Did you grow up near the sea or ocean? Do you have any fears of swimming and or water? (NOT LIKE BATHING.)
Four: Can your family members swim?
Finally: How important is swimming to you?

just conducting research.

i love to swim.

Last edited by cruzandread; 07-13-2003 at 10:52 AM..
Old 07-13-2003, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
sweeter than honey

Credits: 1,498
well............ I was born and raised in trindad, we went to the beach at least every other week or to de river and...............NO i do not know how to swim, I almost drowned three time's so therefore I will no longer tempt faith. All my family members do know how to swim.

I also do not know how to ride a bike either(fell down to many times)
Old 07-13-2003, 02:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Quiet one

Credits: 1,417
can't say for sure when i learned to swim but i can when i lived in Jamaica i lived real close to a river. My family members are worthless they basically grew up in water but dem no know how fi swim. I don'tt swim here in Canada though, fi dem watah too nasty fi me.
Old 07-13-2003, 08:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
HOOD RIDAH

Credits: 1,137
Originally posted by arimagal72
well............ I was born and raised in trindad, we went to the beach at least every other week or to de river and...............NO i do not know how to swim, I almost drowned three time's so therefore I will no longer tempt faith. All my family members do know how to swim.

gyul, me an you both...cyaa swin, cyaa ride a bicycle fi save me life
Old 07-13-2003, 08:49 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 10,766
i grew up near a river and went swimmin lesssons too, and i still cyah do a decent freestyle

but of late, i have been working hard at it, at least ah could float!! dat is a starT!
Old 07-14-2003, 10:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
twins in full gleee

Credits: 3,024
Originally posted by empressRuth
gyul, me an you both...cyaa swin, cyaa ride a bicycle fi save me life

ah thought ah was de only one... .

Best of the Best Concert 2013

bayfront park

RED EYE - Memorial Weekend

RedEye Village
Old 07-14-2003, 10:36 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 99,664
Originally posted by miss slaughter
i grew up near a river and went swimmin lesssons too, and i still cyah do a decent freestyle

but of late, i have been working hard at it, at least ah could float!! dat is a starT!
gyul u and me... i can stay afloat but i ent no fish...

And i can ride a bike well...

The saint and the sinner are just exchanging notes. Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.

The matador wins by avoiding the bull not colliding with him!

Old 07-14-2003, 10:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
....jus chillin....

Credits: 223
...cruzandread, I hope you are not one of those people who stereotypically think everyone from the Caribbean is supposed to be able to swim.....if you are, then you're seriously mistaken...contrary to popular belief, many people from the Caribbean are not born natural swimmers, and most highly populated areas are not even close to the beaches...no we do not use the beach as our bathroom, so we are not there everyday of our lives, for many of us who can swim we did not learn to swim at the beach but at a pool with organized instruction....
Old 07-14-2003, 03:09 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 500

I'm glad to know there are a rew others just like me.
Old 07-17-2003, 01:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Trini by Injection

Credits: 617
Me I was born and raised in Jamaica. While there I did competitive swimming. I've been swam all my childhood life and I loved it. I dont think its a must that every person from the islands know how to swim. It would be good but unlike me not every ones family has money to invest in swim lessons and stuff like that there. And "Trini 4 Life", I think you took the original post abit too serious. The guy was jus asking a question. You didnt have to get into using the beach as a bathroom. That was uncalled for.:flower
Old 07-17-2003, 11:06 AM   #11 (permalink)
Is Pure MADNESSS ent..

Credits: 1,605
Re: What's the DEAL on Caribbean non-swimmers?

Originally posted by cruzandread
For all my life I never understood why so many Caribbean people can't swim. Why?
First: Can you swim?
Second: When did you learn?
Third: Did you grow up in the Caribbean? Did you grow up near the sea or ocean? Do you have any fears of swimming and or water? (NOT LIKE BATHING.)
Four: Can your family members swim?
Finally: How important is swimming to you?

just conducting research.

i love to swim.
LMAO IS SO TRUE..U KNOW HOW MUCH PPL I KNOW THAT BORN AND RAISE AROUND DAT NICE OCEAN AND DEM CYAH SWIM FUH SHITE...

WELL I COULD SWIM..AH LEARN WHEN AH WAS LIKE 6...HORIFFIC STORY...AH USE TO USE DE LIFEJACKET AND MEH UNCLE USE TO GET MAD AND SAY AH HAVE TO LEARN HOW TO SWIM..MY BOY PICK ME UP..AND FLING ME IN DE DEEP END AH DE POOL AND SAY IF YUH WANT COME OUT..YUH BETTER LEARN TO SWIM..WELL AH SWIMMIN LIKE AH FISH SINCE DEN...

GROW UP IN TRINI..NOT REALLY I LEFT WHEN I WAS 9, MY WHOLE FAMILY KNOWS HOW TO SWIM EXCEPT MY MOMS...SWIMMIN IS WICKED I LOVE IT...I LOVE THE WATER...
Old 07-19-2003, 04:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
De Winahcologist

Credits: 489
hum well nobody could ride bike better dan me .. but when come to swimming lawd i like a cat lol cah swim if meh life depended on it .. i got lessons in college .. im what u call an under water swimmer ... (cah keep meh head above water) ...i love de water though i guess some people just doh have a natural nak fuh it ... i was born and raised in trinidad .. get nuff nuff scrapes from learning to ride bike and ting and i lived withing walking distance from the ocean but if yuh throw me in dat water yuh betta have a net to catch me after wards..

sweets gyal i feel sory fuh yuh .. yuh uncle is a wicked soul .. but i guess yuh come out good dey.. i hope he rasss coulda swim cause lawd yuh rasss woulda fart lol
Old 07-21-2003, 04:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
sweeter than honey

Credits: 1,498
LOL now ah feel better.....I eh de only one who cyah swimm and for the islands..........

We need to start an IMIX swimming class for all ah we who cyah swim..........but I scurredddddddddd almost drown 3 times
Old 07-22-2003, 06:41 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 649
Red face Trini4life

i by no means have any stereotypical view about my fellow Caribbean people or any other Africans or even Europeans. (although that's harder to fight against) i just wanted to know where people were at about the whole swimming thing. sorry. i touched a nerve. i love swimming and i guess i wondered what other people's experiences were . . . jah. why the shade? it's no good for swimming. love up
Old 07-25-2003, 05:12 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 6,836
Arimagal - Yuh definitely not alone...Can't swim nor ride a bike....
and I'm from Arima also

LOL now ah feel better.....I eh de only one who cyah swimm and for the islands..........

We need to start an IMIX swimming class for all ah we who cyah swim..........but I scurredddddddddd almost drown 3 times