Old 11-17-2003, 04:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,550
W.i.a.d.c.a. Just Dont Respect Pan

OK...SO I WENT TO THE AWARD CEREMONY DINNER ON FRIDAY TO COLLECT THE PRIZE MONEY AND TROPHY FOR MY BANDS CHAMPIONSHIP!! FIRST OF ALL I CANT UNDERSTAND WHY THEY ALWAYS SAVE THE STEELBAND PRESENTATION FOR LAST! THEY TOOK THERE TIME AND GAVE OUT THE TROPHIES FOR OLE MAS' , BIG BAND, MEDIUM BAND , SMALL BAND , ETC.ETC. . .. THEN CAME THE BREAK FOR FOOD. FINALLY WHEN IT CAME TO THE STEELBAND, WE WERE THE LAST OF COURSE AND MOST RUSHED!!
WHY IS IT THE STEELBAND PEOPLE GET NO RESPECT.! WE DRAW THE BIGGEST CROWD IN THE MUSEUM WITH THE MOST MONEY AND WIADCA STILL HAS NO REPECT FOR US! TO TOP IT OFF HE MAGAZINE THAT THEY GAVE OUT WAS LAST YEARS AND DID NOT HAVE ANY STEELBANDS OR THE PROPER RESULTS!!1

WHAT THE F****
Old 11-23-2003, 12:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Doing Something...

Credits: 111
Re: W.i.a.d.c.a. Just Dont Respect Pan

Originally posted by sexytrini9
OK...SO I WENT TO THE AWARD CEREMONY DINNER ON FRIDAY TO COLLECT THE PRIZE MONEY AND TROPHY FOR MY BANDS CHAMPIONSHIP!! FIRST OF ALL I CANT UNDERSTAND WHY THEY ALWAYS SAVE THE STEELBAND PRESENTATION FOR LAST! THEY TOOK THERE TIME AND GAVE OUT THE TROPHIES FOR OLE MAS' , BIG BAND, MEDIUM BAND , SMALL BAND , ETC.ETC. . .. THEN CAME THE BREAK FOR FOOD. FINALLY WHEN IT CAME TO THE STEELBAND, WE WERE THE LAST OF COURSE AND MOST RUSHED!!
WHY IS IT THE STEELBAND PEOPLE GET NO RESPECT.! WE DRAW THE BIGGEST CROWD IN THE MUSEUM WITH THE MOST MONEY AND WIADCA STILL HAS NO REPECT FOR US! TO TOP IT OFF HE MAGAZINE THAT THEY GAVE OUT WAS LAST YEARS AND DID NOT HAVE ANY STEELBANDS OR THE PROPER RESULTS!!1

WHAT THE F****
Its been like this for years babes.. and the only reason its keeps goin on is because we allow it...
I think U.S.S.A. had an idea about changing all that bu it didnt work bcuz the wrong people were in charge.. Their hearts were in the right place... at first anyway(greed wil change anyone)
But Myself and a couple people been thinking about talkin to all the bands about boycotting panorama. At least this wasy WIADCA would realize how important panorama is to the whole carnival season. You're absolutely right about panorama being the biggest draw. I know a good amount of people personally that come from other states just for panorama nite. Other than Trinidad itself, Brooklyn panorama is the next major competition, everyne knows that. WIADCA gets grants of $200,000 and up just for panorama nite alone.. Its sickening to think of the little amount of money they "put up" for prize money. Putting out your band for competition cost alot of damn money..
Add it up.. you gotta pay..
1. arranger - depending on who you have.. could be cheap or very costly
2. costumes - again.. depending on how many players you have could be cheap or..
3. Tuner(s) - pracicing for a month or 2... yuh pan will get un-tuned, Its gotta get touched up that hurts yuh pockets badly..
4. Rent - we all know that situation already
I could go on and on...
Old 11-26-2003, 01:56 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,550
its ridiculous....i just had to vent because you would think after the big split there would be some kinf of change but i was wrong. ussa really need to get there ass together and stop the shit...

anyway y u didnt tell me we had practice last nigt?

i guess i will see u tonight
Old 11-27-2003, 01:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Soca DJ

Credits: 137
Originally posted by sexytrini9
its ridiculous....i just had to vent because you would think after the big split there would be some kinf of change but i was wrong. ussa really need to get there ass together and stop the shit...

anyway y u didnt tell me we had practice last nigt?

i guess i will see u tonight

pan organizers is ah bunch ah robbing mudda f^#$%#ers. sexytrini9 u know that after 19 years of playing i really done wid de new york scene until the new pan rebels come out. then is mass in dey a$$.
Old 12-01-2003, 01:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Doing Something...

Credits: 111
Originally posted by socaflex
pan organizers is ah bunch ah robbing mudda f^#$%#ers. sexytrini9 u know that after 19 years of playing i really done wid de new york scene until the new pan rebels come out. then is mass in dey a$$.
woyeeeee dey comin back out?!?!?!? i was supposed to come play fuh allyuh since 99' my uncle glenn been beggin meh.. if ya'll comin back please let me know...
Old 12-01-2003, 06:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Soca DJ

Credits: 137
Originally posted by DWizard of AAHS
woyeeeee dey comin back out?!?!?!? i was supposed to come play fuh allyuh since 99' my uncle glenn been beggin meh.. if ya'll comin back please let me know...

it's a done deal i will let u know when and were soon.