Old 02-23-2004, 04:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

Angry THESE RADIO SHOWs

OK....The pirate stations in NY are a good thing. We can here soca and sometimes even reggae on the FM dial with a pretty good signal. It has also given a lot of DJ's the chance to be heard, that wouldn't normally be heard...And they (unlike the AM stations) are actually playing the music we listen to in parties and at home on CD's.

But I'll be damned if I gotta listen to these DJ's screaming to the top of their lungs every 5 seconds over the music that I am trying to listen too.. I didn't tune in to hear their voice, I tuned in to here the music.

It;s all too much...the talk, the sound effects....THAT DAMN WHEEELLLLLL.....

Straigten up fellas
Old 02-25-2004, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Unruly Bastard

Credits: 2,402
Re: THESE RADIO SHOWs

Originally posted by deejaytrixx
OK....The pirate stations in NY are a good thing. We can here soca and sometimes even reggae on the FM dial with a pretty good signal. It has also given a lot of DJ's the chance to be heard, that wouldn't normally be heard...And they (unlike the AM stations) are actually playing the music we listen to in parties and at home on CD's.

But I'll be damned if I gotta listen to these DJ's screaming to the top of their lungs every 5 seconds over the music that I am trying to listen too.. I didn't tune in to hear their voice, I tuned in to here the music.

It;s all too much...the talk, the sound effects....THAT DAMN WHEEELLLLLL.....

Straigten up fellas
Ah hope when yuh get some air time yuh lead by example.
Old 02-25-2004, 01:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
OnE eYe MoNsTeR InC.

Credits: 310
Re: Re: THESE RADIO SHOWs

Originally posted by MAD SCORPION
Ah hope when yuh get some air time yuh lead by example.
DJ Trixx is right.....its cool for the radio dj's to talk and pull up sometimes....but all the time is ridiculous....alone time i see it necessary is fri after 6, sat afternoon and sun after 6 to get the ppl who listening hype for a fete that they might be goin to
Old 02-25-2004, 02:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Unruly Bastard

Re: Re: Re: THESE RADIO SHOWs

Originally posted by ringo357
DJ Trixx is right.....its cool for the radio dj's to talk and pull up sometimes....but all the time is ridiculous....alone time i see it necessary is fri after 6, sat afternoon and sun after 6 to get the ppl who listening hype for a fete that they might be goin to
So ideally you think there should be no talking on the air unless is weekend?

Do you realize that the artists and producers intellectual property needs to be protected? Without the use of talk and sound effects do you realize how much more simple it becomes for pirates to aquire the material for their gains while robbing the artists? How about the DJ in another state that records your mixes and remixes and passes them as his? How about the fact that some people rather hear the talking because without it the radio sounds no different than their mixed CDs?

Now its not that I sanction talking all through the music and killing with sound effects, but there is a purpose for it. Now I grant you that most of the DJs on the air probably couldn't tell you why it's important, but the fact is it's protection of artists and producers material.

When yuh hearin them talking too much call and suggest it to the current DJ. If everyone took that approach it would change since none of us wants to loose listeners.
Old 03-05-2004, 03:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

I dont know about anyone else, but I realized that the sound effects and talking where necessary to protect the contents..Don't know much about the music, cause the stream online aint that good for anyone to pirate, but the remixes itself I do understand...same thing goes on for mixed Cd's

but I do think radio has a format, and it is a good one...They can talk, but talk on a instrumental and drop the tune, or keep it to a minumum...

I really try to support the stations cause I think its good, but I can't really listen to that much noise at once....

I do like your show though, cause you dont really go on like a lot of the others do.....

And trust me, when I get my airplay, I aint doing dat.....Memba when I was on LIU station, people heard the music, then me and Brukout during the breaks......Not throughout an entire song
Old 03-08-2004, 04:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Unruly Bastard

I dont know about anyone else, but I realized that the sound effects and talking where necessary to protect the contents..Don't know much about the music, cause the stream online aint that good for anyone to pirate, but the remixes itself I do understand...same thing goes on for mixed Cd's

but I do think radio has a format, and it is a good one...They can talk, but talk on a instrumental and drop the tune, or keep it to a minumum...

I really try to support the stations cause I think its good, but I can't really listen to that much noise at once....

I do like your show though, cause you dont really go on like a lot of the others do.....

And trust me, when I get my airplay, I aint doing dat.....Memba when I was on LIU station, people heard the music, then me and Brukout during the breaks......Not throughout an entire song
C'mon buddy I take bad quality an touch it up to de point dat de average joe eh kn de difference. If you or someone dat is into music professionally hear it you might question it but Joe public? Hell No!! Believe me when ah say it ha man recordin it an tryin to use it. It have ah DJ dat does come on here occasionally dat does do it so trust mih when ah say it goin on.
Old 03-08-2004, 05:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

Yeah, but realistically...is the average music listener or pirater that skilled...I doubt it.. There are Dj's who been in the game fuh years who can't even produce I high quality remix or dub.....
That still is no excuse for the adolescent playing style of allot of those DJ's that play on the radio, and you know that...

So don't make excuses for them, just let your program be an example of what radio should sound like.
Old 03-09-2004, 12:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Unruly Bastard

Yeah, but realistically...is the average music listener or pirater that skilled...I doubt it.. There are Dj's who been in the game fuh years who can't even produce I high quality remix or dub.....
That still is no excuse for the adolescent playing style of allot of those DJ's that play on the radio, and you know that...

So don't make excuses for them, just let your program be an example of what radio should sound like.
I eh offerin no excuses for them but in reality most of them just simply "GLAD." Even the more known DJ's does act glad on the air. Why? Like they does say in Trini "Neva see come see." Some improve with time I can name a few but wont. Generally tho most of the DJs already feel they hot on the air so they can't improve. The good ones are always trying to improve or be innovative (those are the ones that truly belong on the air if you ask me). There is one that I enjoy listening to anytime I get a chance to hear him because he has improved tremendously. I does always tell him that too and he tells me he studied me. Naturally I'm flattered but I eh no expert at this I just have a real fascination and love for music and anything related to it so I will always put forth a good effort. Can't say the same for all of my peers in the business however tho. And yuh right most aren't skilled enough but for the ones that are the intellectual property of the artists and producers still need protection.
Old 03-09-2004, 02:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

Originally posted by MAD SCORPION
I eh offerin no excuses for them but in reality most of them just simply "GLAD."
LMFOA...I am soo vexed you said that....
Tell your peers that the listeners dont really want to hear that... I tell them all the time, but you know nobody like me.
Old 03-09-2004, 03:28 PM   #10 (permalink)

I agree some times they talk too much. Especially the dj who does play on 103 around 7. His voice is annoying and he doesn't shut up. I don't mind when they talk but sometimes i think they just like to hear themselves. Don't get me wrong though cause talking isn't bad, but take other popular FM stations for example they have segments when the dj's play the whole song w/o talking and segements when they do play songs and talk to a certain extent. Either how I still love dem
Old 03-09-2004, 03:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

Well, I know how it got started. A popular DJ group (that will remain unnamed) now started all that talking business on air. Due to the airplay they were gettting (cause they were one of the first DJ's on the FM radio) and then their vastly and premature rise as one of NY's "top soca dj's", all the other DJ's that followed after felt that they had to maintain the same format to gain popularity as quickly as they did.

But unknowing to the other DJ's, people often complained about that group..here nor there, complaints or not....they gained popularity because that was THEIR STYLE of playing music and responding to the challenge of radio.
Now these other DJ's come out and try to emulate that, end up sounding like cheap imitators.

Scorpion's point about intellectual property is a good one, but I am not really sure if all the DJ's have that in mind when they are talking through the entire song about nothing....

And another thing...What the fack makes every DJ think they could pull off "brrrrupppbabbuppbup." That is sooooo damn annoying