Credits: 29
I hate it when........
People come up to me and ask me if i am indian. no i am NOT from india .. im proud to be from TRINIDAD. sure i look indian i have roots in india and we adapt the indian culture into trinidad, but its indian culture mixed w/ trinidad roots that makes me who i am. so anyways, then they usually ask me what language i speak.... steups. TRINIDAD - it was a british colony so what else can i speak but english?? oh and also i does get vex when i tell people i am from triniDAD and they think its somewhere in the middle east. they get it mixed up with like baghDAD or something, i dont see how people can be so ignorant, trinidad is a COUNTRY... lastly, i hate it when im driving home from school, and maybe there was some dumb israeli/palestine protest or something at school that holds up all the traffic. and then white people look at me, and they roll my eyes.. like im some kind of friggin palestinian or some sh*t . im like what the hell? i am a west indian.. we dont care about religion, i doh hate u cuz u muslim and i feel u stupid cuz u doh like me cuz i's a hindu.. and i aint even in all dat protesting thats going on outside, and i feel iz stiupid nothing we do at little rutgers university is going to make something happening 10000 miles away any better. so why waste your time and mine?? we have a life in trinidad, and its about more than all that hate sh*t going on in the middle east and pakistan and india.. Like i said, i am from trinidad.. we have our own music and culture.. and we doh watch face only waist and we doh get down like dem muslim/hindu's from asia do.. we try to love and accept everyone for who they are. sorry if this dont make sense to some of you all but a trini living in central jersey deals with things like these on a daily basis.
[SUMMER BODY] - on hold
Credits: 100
whoa!!!!u tell dem...
Credits: 28
tell it to them girl doh fraid them
oh gosh yes...Trinidred i kno exactly wha yuh mean. i go to rutgers too and ah face de same tings u do...and ah kno how yuh feel...and yuh right...it have plenty ppl out there who very ignorant and don't even kno where Trinidad is...dey does ask me dem chupid questions too...
Re: I hate it when........
NY Chick
U all are talking about people not knowing about Trinidad what about where my family is from Tortola.. BVI.. half the people be asking where is that.. now i have to say it is located next to St. thomas USVI then they will know where St. Thomas is...Some people just don't know the Caribbean Islands..
HOOD RIDAH
Credits: 28
:grabit REPRESENT TOUGH cause i get the same treatment in the army as well...people dont have a clue where Trinidad is and the culture.. which maybe understandable because there are some countries that i haven't heard before in my life...BUT...to be judgementale and stereotypical towards others is what get me VEX
: i am mix as well as the west indian community...i get in heated arguement with guys in the army telling me what i am when they never heard of the country before...for one they say i'm hispanic, they say i'm indian, ( they never acknowlege they african in me).... thats what make me who i am a TRINI who is mix with spanish, indian,and african...:angel1 but i doh let them fools get to me and ahllya shouldnt either...pass them by and if they ask educate them that is what i do and most of them will listen and they will educate others and so on so keep that TRINI-FYAH blazzing![]() |
Know Thyself
For the Ignorant People: "Bless up, don't have bad mind and jealous..." - Sizzla Kalanji
Well, I completely agree that the world is saturated with stereotypes and it is more than often aggravating because for people like me: African with Indian roots, there is no acceptance available. I am a proud African Queen - I was born and raised in Africa, Rasta Empress in mind, body and soul. So, whoever claims that our appearances resemble Indians from India, they are right but that does not necessarily make us Middle Easter, or South Asian! Ignorance is a cruel but Stupid weapon to use. It doesn't bother me anymore, I am comfortable in my identity and I don't care if people misunderstand me or my roots. So big up to everyone who knows themselves enough to keep living and spreading positive vibes. One Blessed Love. |
yea, dats a good point...
I know exactly what you mean
i'm 100% trini but anything a brown or white person sees me the first thing they think is...she's indian...the worse is when dem guys come up to me and start talking in their language, they don't even have the common sense to ask where i'm from they just assume cause i'm brown i must be from india or somehwere in the east. the usual comments i get "ur indian right?" "what part of india are you from?" and when i tell them Im trini they say "wow ur trini i thought u were indian" like wtf every white person u see u don't automatically assume they're from europe so why think that every brown person speaks hindi and is from india or the mid-east. |

: i am mix as well as the west indian community...i get in heated arguement with guys in the army telling me what i am when they never heard of the country before...for one they say i'm hispanic, they say i'm indian, ( they never acknowlege they african in me).... thats what make me who i am a TRINI who is mix with spanish, indian,and african...:angel1 but i doh let them fools get to me and ahllya shouldnt either...pass them by and if they ask educate them that is what i do and most of them will listen and they will educate others and so on so keep that TRINI-FYAH blazzing