View Single Post
Old 05-19-2004, 10:49 AM   #15 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Listen, soca is de watered down , dumbed down version of calypso... think about it.. for years songs have been called soca, placed in barbados road march and you feel dem calling ting soca? soca is a subsidiary of calypso. the reason why calypso artists recognize soca is because they know that calypso takes more towards the craft... its a shame that when every calypso song gets popular that its considered a soca song? are u fuccking kidding me?

edwin win monarch and road march wid de same song.... Obadele <<<<< now lets break it down

soca heads feel its a song biggin up obadele thompson.... to articulate dance and prance

calypso heads KNOW dat its a song that has lyrical strength

"frustration in de nation , and dem focusin on de youth....
de young people in trouble dem barely getting through"

clearly its a with a message that calls for de youth to get on the bandwagon and lead de charge....

Soca train by maximus come out 15 years ago it would be considered a calypso song....

the difference between soca and calypso is monetary. period... trust me, a good lyrically strong , political commentary, cleaver crafty song ain getting my rass pon brass n glow ,,,,,,or to miami or to boston to sing it.... dat is why people abandoning de strength of we culture.. soca ain getting we nuh fackin where dat is why we gine bring out tunes and get call reggae, cause we dumbing our shit down and we'll eventually be so fuccked up that american artists and producers will sample our shit and use it as their own.... that is not culture, and surely not what west indians are known for... we are innovators not advocates of sameness