View Single Post
Old 04-15-2004, 04:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Sweet Trini Gyal

Credits: 279
Re: Medicating our Children

Originally posted by G.T.F.L
every time de youth act up, some admin c-un-t wanna say "he/she needs medication" one of my knuckle head students got on meds yesterday and he like a fucckin zombie.. i can't believe these kids are given such an avenue to become drug addicts , and teachers are like "u gonna get honor roll now" "you gonna pass" its so much better. my rass... how do u guys feel about medicating our kids?
I know how it is.. my son wasn't doing the greatest in school and sat down with his teacher and a learning needs analysist.. well the teacher and I were coming up with alternative ways to help my son learn, i.e.) tutoring, extra time with the work etc.. Well the Learning needs analysitst automatically says "Ritalin"!!! Me and the TEACHER were like.. W.T.F.!!!! I said, "I am not I repeat am not putting my son on that mess!" She thought my son had ADHD... I spoke to one of the doctors at work and he said, "can your son sit and complete tasks? I said yes.. he said your son does not have ADHD.......... we spoke of other things to.. I just couldn't believe how fast the learning needs chick wanted to "make my son into a zombie" that's crap!!! All you have to do is redirect the child.. My son goes to tutoring. I don't know if you have Kumon or Sylvan learning centres in the States, but they are excellent. The focus on the child's NEEDS.. in the case of my son, he wasn't a strong reader.. once he accomplished the understanding of what he reads he is doing so much better..
I'm so pleased with his progress.. WITHOUT DRUGS!!!!