Credits: 28
Originally posted by deejaytrixx
Gonna have to go with my boy Scorp on this....
KL is not the biggest selling artist of all times. That is a fact. And he definitely isnt the richest "soca" artist of all times, or current, cause Anslem Douglas is.
What does he do for Soca, when he allows the music to be place under dancehall reggae in record shops. (Check all over Europe)
and like I said before many artist have done what he has done,
Ex. Madstunt man with - Move it (probably the most played soca song around the world)
Machel- Come dig it, which was very big....Was on MTV......alot...
The main thing here is CONSISTENCY....face it...SOCA as an artform is a success...soca as a medium to crossover has failed as a business....everybody was all full of applause when Machel was signed how ever far back, but was there cinsistency?...hell no...and reports out that camp suggests that spoil boy Machel didnt like to "stoop to conquer" the way Sean Paul has..Sean understands the idiom of stooping......thing with him is that now ppl are beginning to get bored of him (read December 20 issue of TIME mag)....
Consistency....we have spurts and spats of ppl doing things in the name of SOCA..unlike the REGgAE scene when there is a unified front...even if there are bitter bickerings in the background.... i am not talking just of making money..i am talking of pure artfom being used....
Now we have Rupee being signed to Atlantic Reocrds to do a 4 album bit...can he survive?...will he "Stoop to conquer" the way Dutty Rock did?.... i think not....
We have Xtatik getting 50K per fete and Maximus Dan getting 3K per fete......we have Atlantic getting 340K per stint and ppl like Bungii collecting 4K per fete....and everybody smiling...pls...SOCA as worldwide sucess?
u can argue this point back and forth this kingdom come..fact still remains that our soca artistes are not consistent....