Message to die-hard Machel fans:
Breathe for a second when people say they do not like something that Machel does. I am a big Machel fan, but not a die-hard person that has to like everything he does because 'he's the greatest'. I don't let his past greatness cloud my judgement of a song. It is literally impossible for any musician to please my ears every time with every song. Even people who I think are the greatest musicians of all time (e.g. Bob Marley) have songs I don't like.
I think most of Machels songs are great. That's an amazing statement for a man who has been in the game for 30 years. This year was one of his top 5 years imo, and every slow song was incredible. That being said, I don't like Pump Yuh Flag and I believe if KMC sang it, the die-hard Machel fans would say "It's tata and he only singing bout rag and he should give it up". Because it's Machel, the song is 'gold' and a Road March.
Any rational person knows Machel is a phenomenal artist, just be understanding that someone can actually not like a Machel song and call that song 'tata' and still respect Machel. Man...I think he's probably the greatest soca artist of all time...but that being said...my opinion is PYF is weak song at best and will not make any playlist I'm making this year.
I give it a 3.