WOW! I’m still recuperating from this weekend; I had a ball every night ranging from the Carnival fetes to the NBA Playoffs. To all who missed it i hope you partied hard enough to make up for missing out on Atl carnival. Here is my weekend play by play.
Thurs, I arrived picked up the rental car and was off to purchase all my fete tickets for the Carnival events. I was lucky enough to travel to one spot(Thomas Bakery) which had all tickts except for the white affair which i purchased next door(Georgetown Market) so things were looking good. Checked into my Hotel (Hilton) then headed out to FOX sports bar and grill to grab a bite then hangout to watch the game. FOX is the spot for drinks and food if you want to layback and watch the game. The mahi burger is delicious. I was not too pleased with the shrimp pasta so don’t waste 15 bucks 3 shrimps and a plate of pasta. I ended up going to Ten Pins which is a bowling spot with a club vibe. It was a little warm up before going to the welcome to ATL party. As i headed to the Party after twelve pins, i found out it was about to close at around 3:30

so i headed back to the hotel to prepare for the next day.
Fri consisted of mall shopping, Dekalb, Lennox, Tanger outlet. I found my favorite pair of AF1s which made my trip to atl even more worthwhile. After devouring 4 Auntie Anne pretzels I made my way back to FOX to have the Mahi burger again(Couldn’t get enough) and watch the Cavs Game. It was spectacular because the game was close and the Pomegranate Mojito’s was talking major shit when Orlando was up, however my bubble burst when Lebron hit that lucky game winner. To rub it in even more the waitress wrote “Go Cavs” on my bill. After the heartbreaking loss it was time to go get ready for the Jouvert party. The Jouvert Party was very organized this year by separating the ticket line from the regular line. I got in very fast and me and my team got on very stink…My cousin tore up the stage by abusing one girl by the speaker from all positions known to woman and man. To the lady in red on the stage, I don’t know what the hell she was doing but you have courage. I think she was intoxicated or just brave enough to dance on stage instead of whining. Her friends made up for her clueless dance by displaying some piece of whine pon de stage. The party was corked to capacity and ofcourse VI was ruling the building. Everyone got a taste of some of the artist to perform at carnival(Saucy, Ziggy, and I can’t rember) as they teased the crowd. Very nice party which ended at around 5:30. I went to IHOP to have a quick bite so I can have enough energy for the road later on.
Carnival Morning…….I should say afternoon because I didn’t wake up until around 12. I put on my costume, then left the hotel to await my cousins arrival. We met up with our band just as they were turning onto the main street. On the road with “We Kinda Ting” for the second year in a row was fantastic. Lots of women to dance with; however my only gripe was the staff who was put in place must have thought there was an imaginary line you weren’t suppose to cross while waiting for the bands to move forward. While we were waiting in place, some idiot kept telling people to move inches forward so they weren’t his section, he came to me and I looked at this guy and said WHAT! I ignored his request and explained to him when we cross the stage I won’t be in the way. He must of thought he was talking to a carnival rookie. After crossing the stage and putting on a performance on every passing car, we started to whine on the cars, inside the cars and everybody loved it. Then the rain came down which made it even sweeter…We started to dance in the rain and then the DJ played the right song for the occasion…THE PEOPLE WANT WATER! As we jumped up in the water we chip for 3 miles, then we ran for cover. After the rain cool down we ate then went to the carnival village. We stayed out there till around10:30,
Benjai had the best performance and
Destra was a disappointment because she traveled with no tracks so she thought acapella could cut it; all in all I enjoyed standing in the off and on rain eating Jerk Chicken and drinking 2 dollar sorrel. I got back to my hotel and almost fell asleep in the shower then crashed for an hour and a half; then got dressed for the Carnival explosion. As for the performances; Ziggy…ok, Trini Jacobs….alright, Patch….ok, Saucy….Very Nice,
Benjai……Excellent, Fayanne……Flawless, Destra……good but it could have been better. I think they made a mistake making Destra headline the concert. I don’t know if it’s a sign of respect but that concert was all Fayanne. She killed it and had the crowd going. By the time Destra came out the crowd was probably tired or just didn’t feel like participating. Another reason they probably thought due to Destra being a disappointment last year, they can book Fayanne to lure people back into coming as well as the destra fans. Of course she was cut short and the concert had to end…what a scam. Well after that I went to De Panyard and danced a bit then went off to IHOP. After that I went back to the Hotel to sleep.
Sunday Last Lap…….Woke up at around 4pm got ready and went to hooters to have some wings, then I went to my favorite spot again (FOX) to have some mojitos and of course another Mahi Burger. Stayed there till the beginning of the game then went back to my Hotel to pack up and prepare my white affair attire. We arrived at the white affair at about 1. I danced the night away and participated in the staple event of the white affair which is the Soca train. After losing about 5 pounds from a serious carnival jump up, we had to get back and change to catch an 840 flight. I would tell you about returning back to NY to attend shine2k9 but ya’ll read enough to know that my weekend in ATL was just crazy.
BIG BIG BIG Shout out to majik for representing in the Jouvert party looking very hott and it was a pleasure meeting a fellow imixer. You still owe me a dance.
Next year we do de same ting again...2010