View Single Post
Old 02-02-2009, 10:24 AM   #40 (permalink)
soca cowboy
THE RODEO SHOW

Credits: 24,081
Originally Posted by BRIAN View Post
You have this ting about Dancehall, you keep bringing it up. If you're a Soca dj and Dancehall is dying, wouldnt that be a good thing for you. Dancehall is not taking up the space that Soca should be. The cake is big enough for every genre of music out there. Wi nah watch unnoo suh unnoo nuh watch wi.
perhaps it does help my cause as a 100% soca selector, but I'm not sure I can make a fully casual argument that in the absence of dancehall, that people will choose soca- I could probably only make that claim if we are talking about in the caribbean diaspora and among caribbean scenes/people/descendants- unless people understand the history and significance of carnival in the caribbean- it's not something I would sit there and force- over time perhaps, and to the uninitiated- it would take some time and some teaching

but dancehall, as a whole, has always served a purpose in briding a lot of gaps to many people even outside of caribbean scenes- my comment was that dancehall, since the death of the 7"- the quality has slacked off CONSIDERABLY, and as a result, the music has turned way too crude, violent, and juvenille- that's not say that the violence wasn't there before a few years ago, but it's even more there and prevalent now as artists that were making somewhat more positive or uplifting music have backed out of the scene because of cost-prohibitive environments, leaving nothing but violence to represent dancehall music